We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay by far in Sekiu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Straitside Resort

Straitside Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sekiu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Straitside Resort
Save
You added Straitside Resort to your Saves list
241 Front Street, Sekiu, WA 98381   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sekiu
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best place to stay by far in Sekiu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Stayed in #3 and #7 and both were great. You were even kind enough to mail us our forgotten medicine. Will be back many times (if can get a reservation). Up off the main street in a serene location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We've stayed in one of the cottages and in the penthouse. Both times we were treated warmly and enjoyed our stay and accomodations. You won't find any Hyatt Recency's in this small fishing village, but this clean and charming place was fun and we would definately stay here again! Thank you Linda for a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We recently stayed here with two young children. The cottage we had was old, but was charming. Be careful of the rate. I am used to not being charged for young children. When I checked in the rate was $120. WHEW. A little more than I planned, especially for a very old building. When I rebutted the owner simply said it the price for extra person was on the website. Not what I wanted to hear. Also, the water view is true, but you also get to overlook a whole lot of RVs that are in the parking lot below. Don't expect this to be a normal romantic get a way. There is not much to do in Seiku if you are not fishing. Also, don't plan on getting any seafood. There are two greasy spoons in town. Better to stay in Port Angeles and venture from there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

I stayed 2 nights in the "Whale Watcher" cottage, a 2 bedroom unit at Straitside Resort in Sekiu, WA. The motel is old--perhaps the oldest in town--which makes it a rustic but charming enough place to stay. The cottage consists of 2 bedrooms (1 has a Queen bed, the other 2 twins), a small kitchen, and a small bathroom with a shower. There are no doors separating the bedrooms from the kitchen, something which I suspect would be an issue for many travelers (I traveled alone, so it didn't matter). The website gives the impression that the cottage is right at water's edge; this is a little misleading. The motel is on the other side of the road from the harbor, and the view is partly obscured by the lobby/manager's unit and a motel on the ocean side of the road. The decor is the opposite of corporate motel-chain, with many cozy unique touches. The staff is very friendly.

Sekiu is totally dominated by fishermen who come to town to launch their boats from the marina or hire local boats. Most of the ocean front is dominated by the marina, which is nice enough, and huge gravel lots that serve as RV parking (not so charming). The only other reason to stay in Sekiu would be to have a convenient launching point for hikes to Lake Ozette/Cape Alava, or Cape Flattery. The rustic charm of the motel (and town) is probably not a good reason to pick Sekiu for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast USA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Rented a 2 bedroom cabin for 3 days in May 2007

Pros:

Clean accomodations, very comfortable bed, strong heating system.

Excellent service provided by local, on site manager.

Possibly the best place in town. The other choices looked a little scary.


Cons:

Cabin has only a claustrophobic little shower (no bathtub). Significant omission to not disclose this on website. Not thrilled about this, especially given that the room was not exactly cheap.

Ocean is located across the main road of town, and overlooking an RV park. Photo on website misleading.

In room TV does not include Weather Channel. Since you go to Sekiu to be outdoors, this was a pain, especially since there is no local radio. No source for weather information.


Comments:

Sekiu is a fishing village that attracts lots of beer chugging old guys who like to fish. This is who your fellow hotel guests will be. Know that going in. It will be quiet by 9:30pm, since fisherman get up early.

Bring your own music, a CD stereo or IPod with speakers, since there is no local radio. Also bring stuff to read, no nightspots of any kind in town.

You can find the Straitside Resort via the Forks Washington Chamber of Commerce website.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Straitside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straitside Resort

Address: 241 Front Street, Sekiu, WA 98381
Location: United States > Washington > Sekiu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sekiu
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Straitside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.