We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I watched a homeless man outside in the rain, and wanted to trade places...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Motel

Bay Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sekiu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Motel
15562 Rte 112, Sekiu, WA 98381   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Sekiu
devilcowboy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I watched a homeless man outside in the rain, and wanted to trade places...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We were on a trip to Cape Flattery. In the motels defense... It was the only hotel in Sekiu open during that season. We didnt know that or we would have stayed in Port Angeles.
I dont know where these other people saw the flat screen tvs and nice showers, but we must have missed that hotel.
We walked in to the room and looked around. Came to the conclusion that thier vacuum must not work very well. Along the entire border of the room, there was an inch thick strip of dust, dirt and other items (to include a 800mg Ibuprofen, a plethora of well dusted over insects, and a couple marbles). Walked into the bathroom to see that yellow staining that comes from smoke and high humidity, dripping down the walls into small puddles on the floor. The shower was a single person stand up shower that looked homemade.
Then we wanted to make our trip special (despite the surrounding moat of death and decay from the bugs) and lifted the sheets back... What did we find. Puke. Yes, Puke. In between the top comforter and yellow warm blanket was a dried pile of brown puke folded nicely in the bed. When i took this to the manager, his friendly demeanor went away. He complained that i was complaining. He gave us a new set of nicely folded sheets. I gave these to my girlfriend and she went back to the room. I stayed behind to ask where dinner is in this small town. My girlfriend comes back not two minutes later and drops the new sheets back off. We (the manager and I) unfolded the sheets to see what surprises lay beneath. After unfolding the sheet one time (most people fold sheets 4-6 times) we noticed 4 nice sized pubic hairs ( not from one donor either, as three were pretty long and two of those were different colors and the fourth was smaller and very red). The manager had the balls to then say to me that i was coming in to his office too much and needed to give him a break.
The free wi-fi that is offered apparently gets locked and a pass code when you bother the manager too much.
If you have read this far, i have only one thing more to pass on. Our first night, after all this manager stuff, we were enjoying a view from our window when we saw a homeless man take shelter in the doorway of the restaurant next door. It was 35 maybe 40 degrees and pouring rain on this man and i actually gave a second thought to switching the homeless man places, only to hear my girlfriend say that he would turn up his nose at this place. She was right.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Lets be upfront. We were looking for an inexpensive place to stay on our trip around the Olympic Peninsula and The Bay Motel was just that. We were able to get a single queen room with a kitchenette for less than $80 before tax.

The place was extraordinarily clean. The room was very dated. I think some of the stuff in there was original furniture and such but it was spotless.

The view out the front was incredible. We sat out in chairs on the front lawn until it got dark just soaking in the excellent views across the Straight of Juan de Fuca.

Now the downside. The room we were in had settled over the last 40+ years or so. To make up for that they had built up the foot of the bed to try to level it our. That made the foot of the bed higher than the head and made it hard to get restful sleep. And the mattress was on it's last legs. If the bed wasn't an issue this place would have been the perfect solution to what we were looking for.

BTW the shower was awesome. Tons of volume and the shower head even had a massage feature.

Overall I would say great value. I'm pretty sure if the bed was level I could have lived with the age of the mattress. I doubt the other rooms had the same issue as they all looked pretty level.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The Bay Motel is a 1960's style drive up to your room place to stay. My room came with a nice sized bedroom, closet space, shower/tub as well as another room with a kitchenette and place to cook/eat. If you're not interested in cooking your own food (and you can bring it or shop at the grocery store 24 miles west in Neah Bay) the Breakwater Cafe is literally a one minute walk. Sekiu and west is all about outdoors whether it's hiking, kayaking, fishing or boating. I found the rates incredibly reasonable and it even came with cable and wifi. Everything was clean and while the furniture is not state of the art, it reflects the general culture of the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Clean and quaint room, with magnificent view of the Straits of Juan de Fuca. Management friendly and helpful, employees were charming.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The location is great, but the room smelled of pinsole and something that took us two days to figure out and an entire bottle of Febreeze extra strength to figure out. Someone had left fish in the frig and it spoiled, whoever cleaned it didn't get the smell out. We opened the frig on the second day there and almost passed out from the smell. We put the frig outside that day, room smelled 100% better in an hour. We couldn't change rooms because it was Memorial weekend and nothing else was available in the area. We were unable to have a face to face with the managers so we called when we got home. They said they thought it was us who had left the fish in the frig. There wasn't any fish in the frig just the smell...when we checked out. They didn't offer to reduce the bill or even apologize for the inconvenience. The beds are like plywood on springs.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford - England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Extremely clean and comfortable, The Bay Motel does exactly what it says on the tin and does it very well.

It is not a luxury hotel with frills but provide a comfortable and very clean base for those seeking accommodation in the area.

We were apparently in one of the "smaller" rooms ( as I wanted a bath tub rather than just a shower) but I can't say we noticed as it turned out to be a suite with kitchenette , all equipped with fridge, microvave etc...and sitting area.

Also perfectly located next to the Breakwater restaurant for breakfast or dinner.

The area is really lovely and we were lucky enough to see some Grey Whales just off one of the beaches and Sekiu is an excellent base.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Address: 15562 Rte 112, Sekiu, WA 98381
Location: United States > Washington > Sekiu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Sekiu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bay Motel to your Saves list