We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and hotel with a few down points” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Gateway Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coast Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18415 International Boulevard, SeaTac, WA 98188   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Federal Way, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice location and hotel with a few down points”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Staued here for 8 hrs for some sleep between a flight to Amsterdam. Clean rooms and fast shuttle service to the airport. Good wake up calls. My main complaint is the pillows. They were horrible and prevented me from sleeping. Pretty easy fix though so otherwise a good hotel. I payed $90 by getting their airport shuttle rate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    143
    61
    18
    15
See reviews for
71
83
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chandler62
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is average. It's clean, great location, free parking, free wii fii and free breakfast. I would stay here again or any hotels close to this hotel. It's older but taken care off. It's located close to the light rail and goes to the stadium or Westlake. We stayed in Seattle for two Mariners games and Huskies game. We normally stay at the Silver Cloud accross from the stadium. It was booked and we could not find another close hotel on the three day weekend. The shuttle driver is very friendly and will drop you off at the light rail. Shuttle is 24 hours. My 8 year old son enjoyed seeing the airplanes from the room window. They do not have a pool. I do not think this should be rated a three star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a great hotel - clean, nice, quiet (and LITERALLY right next to SeaTac you could almost walk) but the reason I gave it four instead of five stars was for two reasons. Firstly, they offer rooms with two doubles (instead of queens) and the breakfast definitely was lacking (for the price you pay per night). For the breakfast, there were no hot options other than the obligatory "make your own waffle" and there weren't even any pastries. Other than the waffle maker there was just fruit and cereal. I was disappointed - considering I'd paid $150 a night!

Other than that, the hotel was very nice - warm, welcoming staff, clean, so quiet (even though we were overlooking the runways we didn't hear a thing) etc. Just for the money I expect to have a queen and a good breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastgateway, Manager at Coast Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your time in Seattle! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated you taking the time to provide your comments. We’re looking forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I would never stay here without getting a great price on Hotwire. It is in no way a three star property. It looks like someone has purchased property from various hotels that are closing and has combined them into one hotel. It is really quite funny to see.
My bedspread reminded me of Florida during the early 1980's. That said, my room was clean- just old and outdated. Everything in the hotel is fine if you are getting a discounted rate. It appeared very safe and well used.
The bottom line is stay here if you want to save money. But definitely know it is a two star- if that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastgateway, Manager at Coast Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for visiting us during your time in Seattle and for providing a review. We’re glad you found our guestrooms clean and look forward to showing you one of our updated rooms with the new bedspread upon your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We arrived ready to begin our vacation and trusting the Coast Hotel name after our plane landed about 9:30. Headed up to our room to discover the a/c didn't work. Asked to be moved but had to wait for the maintenance/airport shuttle worker to verify that it wasn't working. At which point the manger said there weren't any other rooms that we could be moved to. Not so much as an apology or offer to find us a place to stay. So disappointing!

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastgateway, Manager at Coast Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are very disappointed to read about your experience and assure you that the type of service you described is not what we typically provide, nor what we train our staff to provide. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will consider us again during a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were traveling to Alaska and needed and overnight stay near the Airport in Seattle to catch and early-early flight to Ketchikan.
This hotel fit the bill perfectly--good value--($115 with all taxes etc)--very close to the Airport-- Clean rooms--- good shuttle service--courteous and freindly service by all that we came in contact with. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotels in Seattle are expensive and out at the airport is no exception. This hotel is about the most reasonably priced and it is very convenient being right next door to the airport. 24 hour shuttle service also makes this very nice for travellers. This sits right next door to Roasters, which is a very good restaurant with a great selection of micro brews. Rooms at the hotel are on the small side, but fine if you're just passing through. They also have a small continental breakfast in the morning which is great when you're on the go. My only complaint was my room was right over the front door and the lights came in around the curtains so it was difficult to get the room dark. All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely try Roasters, the restaurant next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Gateway Hotel

Address: 18415 International Boulevard, SeaTac, WA 98188
Location: United States > Washington > SeaTac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Coast Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Gateway Seattle
Hotel Coast Gateway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.