We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent motel 6 - keep in mind we're talking budget, not high end here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Seattle South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Seattle South to your Saves list
Motel 6 Seattle South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20651 Military Rd, SeaTac, WA 98198   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A decent motel 6 - keep in mind we're talking budget, not high end here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A motel 6 property is by nature a tough review because Motel 6 occupies the budget sector. So obviously you're not going to see Ferrari's and Lotus, etc in the parking lot, nor are you going to have exotic spa sessions or dining options. If you are thinking about a Motel 6, it's because either you can't or don't want to afford the fancy places, have no need for them, and want to know if this place is reasonably clean and reasonably safe. And I'm happy to report, I think it is. Sure - it's not operating room spotless, and I wouldn't leave a stash of gold bullion in my room for a month (if I had such a stash), but I've stayed here several years and while it's not the best motel I stay at on my trips, you know, I've had worse. So for a M6 property, given it has a nice location reasonably close to the airport and easy access to the interstate, it's worth a look if this is what you need. If you keep your expectations in check with what this is, you'll be fine.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room that does NOT face the pool. It will be quieter. Ideally, the rooms on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
7
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First sign of trouble were the broken down cars in the parking lot that obviously hadn't moved for months. Next were the kids bicycles lying around the motel property. There were clearly a lot of "guests" that were living out of their rooms. I don't think I have ever seen so many different breads of Rottweilers in one location either.

The room itself reeked of mildew and the carpet was so gross I didn't dare take my shoes off. I went to the main office and requested someone come look at the condition of my room but no one ever came. I was there for a week.

The best part of the trip was the form letter I received from Motel 6 management after leaving a less than stellar review of the property. There was no way to respond to the author and when I contacted the corporate office I was told they would have to defer me to the general manager of the property I stayed at.

Wake up Motel 6 Management! If the general manager cared about the property they wouldn't have allowed it to deteriorate to its current condition. And stop sending out your letters of concern if your not going to provide a means of 2-way communication. Go stay in room 116 and see for yourself what the problem is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingon, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Other than the fact a non-smoking room had a horrible cigarette smell, I was fairly pleased for a Motel 6 where room rates were rediculous on Summer weekend in the Seattle area. Freeway was close and a bit noisey, but close to the airport for a short stay to catch an early morning flight.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The room was sort of an emergency booking since we'd been booked at the Kings Inn, downtown Seattle, but it was a dive and we got our money back, booked this on line, and drove 18 miles to finally relax. The motel is relatively new, very clean room. If you don't mind almost no amenities and a TV that's 20 years old for $123 + 16% tax, you're good to go.
The thing that turned me off was its supposed to be a non smoking site, yet people were hanging out, outside their rooms smoking as we walked by with luggage. It's my guess that's what you get when management doesn't enforce the rules.
It's cheap, in and out, so you move on.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Considered the price paid this is not bad. Room was clean but we asked for a non-smoking room, this was not the case; the room had a clear cigarette smell. Shower was quite clean. We had the idea that some people use the hotel for long term stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We frequently come to Seattle for business and this unfortunately has been one of our lodgings. Do NOT recommend. It seems to be more for short-term housing for out-of-sorts people than for travelers and tourists. Feel the need to make sure the doors are really well locked at night, and bolt for our vehicle when we go to leave. You just don't feel safe in this place and it will definitely be our last stay tonight. Long dark hair in the sink and tub which certainly wasn't ours! Unrelenting drone of the highway will give you a migraine. Spend another $20 and go to Quality Inn - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here get a second floor room on the Military Road side - not the highway. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State usa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This motel has a pool & Hot tub!! Ive stayed here many times over many years . Great & save with online reservations too!! Near everything too!! Just love this place and on holidays you can take a bus anywhere in seattle for a quarter all day!! Fun too . near seatac airport alos -best value ever!!

Room Tip: go online & save!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Seattle South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Seattle South

Address: 20651 Military Rd, SeaTac, WA 98198
Location: United States > Washington > SeaTac
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Seattle South 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Seattle South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Seattle
Motel Six Seattle
Seattle Motel Six
Seattle Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Seattle South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.