We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18220 International Blvd., SeaTac, WA 98188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Early Flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Booked two rooms for party having early flight departure. Both rooms spacious, clean & comfortable. A little dated, particularly the bathrooms. Excellent shuttle service 24hrs a day every 10 minutes or you can walk across the street and up the entrance road to the airport building! On site Grill reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Sales Admin Associate at Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for writing wonderful comments about our property. We value you as our guest and feedback is an essential tool to measure guest satisfaction and maintain our commitment to providing excellent customer service of "I care, I can." Our proximity to the airport is an exceptional convenience for travelers and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to hosting your stay soon.

Warm Regards,

Melissa R
Sales Admin Associate
Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    212
    108
    54
    32
See reviews for
172
176
70
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Rate seems a little high for the quality of the facility. Rooms are much better than the outside of the hotel would lead you to expect. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. There is a bit of road noise on the rooms facing the street, but airport noise doesn't seem to be a problem. Ok place to stay on the way either to or from the airport, but not for an extended stay. Has coffee shop and dining right next door. About 30 minutes to downtown Seattle if you are looking for fine dining etc.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Sales Admin Associate at Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our property. We are so happy your stay was comfortable and convenient for your travel needs. Guest comments help us become better in maintaining our high customer service standards and allows our property to focus on areas that need improvement to enhance our guest experience. During peak summer months, our nightly rates are a bit higher and are comparable to other hotels in the SEATAC airport area. Our property is an older building and has some personality. Our updated lobby and signature pillow-top beds create a comfortable atmosphere that keeps our guests coming back. We value your patronage and feedback. Please keep us in mind the next time your trip destination is Seattle.

Warm Regards,

Melissa R
Sales Admin Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We arrived late evening and waited at the designated shuttle collection point for nearly an hour.
No bus came along saying Red Lion Hotel. We eventually gave up and took a taxi, only to find the hotel was 3 minutes away (we had no idea how close it was!). The receptionist said oh the bus has Multi Parking on the front. We saw dozens of those come and go. Perhaps if you have used the hotel to park your car, you would know. But any international visitor has to be psychic. There apparently on the side of the bus in small writing (invisible in the dark) was the name of the hotel. Who knew ? To compound our annoyance, there were no trolleys in reception (we had 4 bags for a 4 week trip) and the porter was "unavailable", so we had to lug our bags to our room ourselves - not ideal if you are over 60 !!

Room Tip: Be prepared to cart your own bags to your room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Sales Admin Associate at Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We take all feedback very seriously, both to become better and be made aware of areas to improve upon. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the trouble you encountered while utilizing our complimentary shuttle after a long day of travel. I certainly understand your standpoint and the frustration of being stranded when your priority is getting a comfortable night's rest. Please know that our General Manager and Front Desk staff has been advised of this situation and we value you as our guest. Guests who require shuttle service need to walk out to Island 1 or 3 at the Courtesy shuttle station once crossing the skybridge outside of the terminal. Our yellow Masterpark shuttles have the letter 'A' in the lower right-hand side of the front windows for future reference when staying with us. Our property partners with MasterPark to provide continuous shuttle service to and from the airport. As a smaller property outside of the Downtown area, I will address this concern to our General Manager in potentially offering this as an amenity in the future. We do hope you will give our property another chance the next time your travel needs require lodging and would like to ensure your transportation needs are attended to in a timely fashion for all future stays.If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable and convenient, please reach out to the Sales department at our property.

Kind Regards,

Melissa R
Sales Admin Associate
Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice and close to airport . Standard Hotel . It seems that all Seattle Hotels are overpriced compared to most destinations . This is no exception , hotel is showing its age .
Friendly Staff which was nice .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Sales Admin Associate at Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We value all feedback, positive or negative and use guest insight into becoming better and providing the "I Care, I Can" approach in every guest interaction. We are delighted that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. During our peak summer months, nightly rates are higher based on near maximum capacity and are reasonably priced in comparison to nearby hotels. We do look forward to your next stay with us. We truly strive to create a home away from home for our guests.

Kind Regards,

Melissa R
Sales Admin Associate
Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great location close to the airport for early morning flight. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean.

Only negatives were the room had a faint smell of smoke (though it was non-smoking), and TV channels could have been better.

It was a quick stay, so we didn't use lounge, pool or anything else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Sales Admin Associate at Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable. Our signature pillow-top beds are one of our most commented and appraised amenities at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the smell of smoke in your room, as our hotel has a selected few smoking rooms. Please know that your concern has been addressed with our Housekeeping department and General Manager.We value your patronage and look forward to hosting your next stay should your travel needs require lodging.

Kind Regards,

Melissa R
Sales Admin Associate
Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel is going downhill. This hotel gets you all checked in and takes our money and not until they have you on the hook, do they tell you the problems you will experience. Two of the last several times I have stayed here, this happened.

I was all checked in - and the clerk hands me the room key folder, but there was no key in it. "The manager will let you in and out of your room" I was told. Apparently the key machine had been broken all day - and they were waiting for one from the east coast (surely Seattle has this equipment closer). First of all, not having a key is an extreme inconvenience. It was 4pm, not midnight, and I don't need the hassle of getting the "manager" every time I want to go in or out of my room. My room was at the back - and the doors to the outside are also always locked, so you have to walk all the way around. Because nobody had a key - there were always long waits to get let into your room.

I understand that hotels have issues sometimes, but they should be up front about it, not trying to hide the deficiencies until after they have your money. If I was going to buy something at Macy's and it was flawed, the price would be reduced up front without question. Another business would not "hide" the faults until after you paid, they would be up front about it and reduce the price. I felt the Red Lion was dishonest with this business practice that they seem to follow.

In the colder weather when I stayed- the heat wasn't sufficient to heat the room - but wasn't told that until after check in (so all the previous complaints about the heating/cooling system are valid). Even in the good weather - the heating/cooling system wasn't working properly.

I've been a long-term customer at this hotel and have become disappointed with the way this business is run.

Normally I am emailed a "survey" from this hotel after my stays. Not this time - so don't really have to wonder why.....

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales and Catering Assistant at Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all guest feedback, even if it points out when we failed to meet our guests expectations.

We have definitely had some unexpected issues pop up, and having the room key machine not working is one of the worst things that could go wrong because it is an inconvenience to our guests. We have since gotten that issue fixed, and we also have a new air conditioning system in the hotel so our guests are much more comfortable now.

We never want to hear that we caused a guest to have an unpleasant stay and we are always looking to make things right, so if at all possible, please reach out to us here at the hotel and in the sales office.

Best,

Jennifer K
Sales and Catering Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great friendly service. Rooms were clean and quiet. We had been fishing and had 50lbs of frozen fish with us. The staff was kind enough to
Store it overnight for us and had it waiting in the lobby for us at 4:30am . Great job!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these SeaTac hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Seattle-Airport/28th Ave
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn SeaTac Airport
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Executel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coast Gateway Hotel
Coast Gateway Hotel
#8 of 34 in SeaTac
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Sea-Tac Airport
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Seattle Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport

Address: 18220 International Blvd., SeaTac, WA 98188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > SeaTac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport is conveniently located on International Boulevard, just steps from the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport's runway with complimentary 24-hour airport transportation to and from the hotel provided by Master Park. Complimentary shuttle service can be arranged from the Ground Transportation area at either Island 1 or 3 just by calling #29 for the Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport or #75 for Master Park Lot A.The hotel is just minutes away from Westfield Southcenter Mall, Safeco Field, Seahawks Stadium and downtown attractions including Pike Place Market, the Space Needle and shopping and entertainment are all within a convenient driving distance.The 144 renovated spacious guest rooms feature full-service amenities and guest services designed to exceed the expectations of business and leisure travelers. In-room amenities include Red Lion's signature Sealy plush pillowtop mattresses, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), terry cloth bathrobes and complimentary wi-fi. Additional on-site services include a 24-hour business center and fitness center. Extended parking is available with Master Park or Airport Parking Package.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily, lunch selections in our Tully's Cafe, dinner, happy hour and entertainment in Gregory's Lounge. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Seattle
Red Lion Seatac
Seattle Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.