We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than rated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18220 International Blvd., SeaTac, WA 98188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 hotels in SeaTac
A TripAdvisor Member
“Better than rated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel is far better than the "official" rating suggests. It is not new but it is clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly. Gregory's Grill is good value and convenient. I use this hotel for "Park and Fly", and feel secure leaving my car with the Masterpark staff at the hotel entrance and knowing that it will be waiting for me at the hotel when I get back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales Admin Associate at Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your positive feedback and are happy to hear that your Park N' fly experience is memorable at our hotel. Our MasterPark staff is wonderful and guests can rest assured that their cars are cared for 24 hours a day. Gregory's Restaurant does have delicious menu items as well as Karaoke Wednesday - Saturday nights. We look forward to your next Park N' Fly stay with us.

Best Regards,

Melissa R, Sales Admin Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    167
    85
    46
    19
See reviews for
137
140
60
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We booked the hotel as part of a park and stay package. When we checked in and left our car we were told the shuttle to the airport runs continually so no need to call when you return. On our return we waited but no shuttle. When we called, we were told you had to call for the shuttle. Upon arrival we should have been suspicious when the front doors were blocked open by a fan. Seattle had experienced record heat so we didn't take note. When we arrived in our room it was stifling hot. No AC. The front desk indicated it was out in the entire hotel. It seems as though they might have mentioned it when we checked in. We were told the manager was "out buying fans". We had traveled for over 20 hours so we finally gave up on the fan and put out the "do not disturb" sign. About an hour later (1:00 am) we were awakened by someone who delivered a fan. The fan helped but it was still almost impossible to sleep.

At checkout, we expected an acknowledgement of the problem or maybe even an apology. Nothing was forthcoming. I later looked back at TripAdvisor reviews and noticed an HVAC problem for two weeks earlier. I would avoid this property. It is in desperate need of renovation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales and Catering Assistant at Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and review and please please please accept our apology for having been here during the complete failure of our air conditioning system! Our offices were just as hot as the guest rooms, so we know exactly what kind of heat you dealt with. We did our best to get fans to our guests and to make them aware of what was going on, but of course any situation like this won't always run smoothly. We are currently working on fixing our air conditioning so that no one has this kind of experience with us again.

Best,

Jennifer K
Sales and Catering Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is your average airport hotel. I think I got it at $60 a night, and I wouldn't pay much more than that honestly.

The decor was old and overall the hotel was just super depressing. It appears that they have tried to "freshen" it up a bit by adding a bunch granite in the bathroom, etc but the 70s thermostat gives it away.

I'm not sure if it's some trend in the past, or just something I've noticed with hotels of this caliber, but the room was giant. Honestly, I'd rather have a super small room that's really nice than a giant room that's just meh.

It is a little interesting to me because earlier in this trip we stayed at a Red Lion in downtown Seattle that was _much_ nicer than this one. I have to wonder how these hotels handle branding when it comes to the vastly different experiences you get at the same chain. Since this one was much cheaper than the downtown Seattle hotel I don't feel "cheated" or anything like that, it's just a warning to make sure you read the reviews before booking :)

I must say though, the free shuttle to and from the hotel was nice because we came into Seattle from Clipper on the light rail and the shuttle saved us from somehow crossing a freeway. I just called up the hotel and they sent the shuttle right over.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed over night to catch an early morning flight. I was staying at a Red Lion in Olympia. The bed and sleeping accommodations were great. The beds are a comfortable as any very good hotel. The rooms are small compared to Olympia, but for one night, I recommend highly. Only drawback is no complimentary breakfast, but there is a reasonably priced restaurant next door 50 feet from the front door with a lounge and bar within. I got a burger and beer on my evening arrival before sleeping. The shuttle to the airport was short with minimal wait. I was on the plane in less than 30 minutes. Priced right, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmoton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Price, it seems, is always indicative of quality these days. The Red Lions Inn is a very old hotel and is slowly falling apart. The rooms are barly holding together, some black mold in the showers, and matresses that might be as old as the hotel. Staff is overall friendly and helpful, and they try to do what they can. During my stay the outside temperature rose to 15C in the spring and the hotel decided to turn off the heat, so the nights where freezing! If you want a decent price and walking distance from the airport, then a night or two isnt bad, but then again, you might just catch a hold during the cold night when the heat stops working, and you could just ruin your trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales Admin Associate at Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take both positive and negative feedback very seriously. We are delighted to hear that your experience with our front desk staff was positive. Our property is an older building and has a bit of personality. Future renovations are on the horizon and we appreciate your comments and concerns. Red Lion Hotels sets a high standard for customer service and we are happy to hear the Front Desk staff met your expectations. Your concerns about room cleanliness have been addressed with our Housekeeping staff and I do apologize your stay was less than ideal. I do hope you will give our hotel another chance next time you are in the Seattle area.

Best Regards,

Melissa R, Sales Admin Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Having just gotten off of a cruise ship the huge rooms were the perfect antidote.

It's clearly an older place that has been remodeled. The walls and floor were thick and solid, you couldn't hear anything from anywhere including the Airport. The price was fair, the staff was very pleasant and helpful.

It was all the good parts of having an older hotel room without the negatives. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

room heating/air unit not working properly. Room was stuffy upon our arrival and got very cold during the night. temp controls did not work. Staff did not answer the phone when I called to set up my wake-up.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport

Address: 18220 International Blvd., SeaTac, WA 98188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > SeaTac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in SeaTac
#11 Business Hotel in SeaTac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport is conveniently located on International Boulevard, just steps from the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport's runway with complimentary 24-hour airport transportation to and from the hotel provided by Master Park. Complimentary shuttle service can be arranged from the Ground Transportation area at either Island 1 or 3 just by calling #29 for the Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport or #75 for Master Park Lot A.The hotel is just minutes away from Westfield Southcenter Mall, Safeco Field, Seahawks Stadium and downtown attractions including Pike Place Market, the Space Needle and shopping and entertainment are all within a convenient driving distance.The 144 renovated spacious guest rooms feature full-service amenities and guest services designed to exceed the expectations of business and leisure travelers. In-room amenities include Red Lion's signature Sealy plush pillowtop mattresses, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), terry cloth bathrobes and complimentary wi-fi. Additional on-site services include a 24-hour business center and fitness center. Extended parking is available with Master Park or Airport Parking Package.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily, lunch selections in our Tully's Cafe, dinner, happy hour and entertainment in Gregory's Lounge. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Seattle
Red Lion Seatac
Seattle Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.