We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of our favorite places to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huckleberry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roslyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huckleberry House
301 Pensylvania Avenue, PO Box 327, Roslyn, WA 98941   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Roslyn B&B and Inns
SeaTac, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Still one of our favorite places to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been staying with Don & Sibyl at the Huckleberry House for about 8 years now, at least once a year, and it is still one of our very favorite placed. The house is lovely and well kept and the breakfasts are always wonderful. Meeting the other guests add a special touch to every stay. They have now opened a "family guest room" that can accommodate 4 adults (or 2 adults and 2 well-behaved children. It is larger than the other rooms and has its own private entrance to the wrap-around deck.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great; the Gypsy and Quinault on the upper floor have views of the town, the tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The woman of the house was away. The man was kind of busy and distracted. The price was Ok. The room was nice enough. Our main beef was that the breakfast didn't get going until 9 AM. If we knew that, we would asked for a bed only rate and been on the road by 8 AM.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Don and Sibyl make you stay AMAZING! Our first stay was 12 years ago and we had fond memories! Coming back this stay was great! I even got an amazing scone recipe to boot! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Huckleberry House. We meet friends in Roslyn to go mushrooming and while they stay in several "boarding houses" across the street, we stay at our favorite B&B! Don & Sibyl are great hosts. We feel like friends when we stay here and love that they have a room for us folks that can't leave their dog at home. The food is yummy and they even had vegetarian sausage for those of us who don't eat meat. Sibyl's scones are to die for! While the bed in the "dog room" is small, its comfortable and cozy. We love that we are right in town, but its very quiet up on the hill. A nice view over the town. We used our coupon from our Chinook Book and received 50% off the 2nd night. We love Roslyn and the Huckleberry House!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I took a few says off during the week to get away, and wanted to go somewhere quite. The Huckleberry house turned out to be an excellent choice. The Cicely Suite was large, comfortable and quiet. The downtown area is about a block away, and the historic cemeteries were just a few minutes walk from the house. There are trails, beautiful hikes, outstanding pizza (just down the street), the historic Brick, (historic both for being the longest operating saloon in Washington, and "Holling's Bar in Northern Exposure), and the Roslyn Brewery, just a few steps from the B&B. There's lots to do, but a few of us spent one of the mornings just hanging out the kitchen, talking about our travels with Don, the owner.

All in all one of the best short getaways I've taken. They say the town is less subdued on weekends in the summer, which could be a lot of fun.

I'll be heading back there as soon as I have the chance.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the second floor, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Came to see the buildings were Northern Exposure was filmed. My wife and I learned a lot about the history of Roslyn back in it's coal mining days. Our room was very nice and we both slept well after walking the town. We took many pictures and can't wait to return. Both Don and Sybil were great hosts. The food was very good and the other people who were there when we were had interesting stories to tell.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed here two nights for a snowshoeing getaway. Don and Sybil were so friendly and down to earth. They built a house next door so the B&B is dedicated to the guests. This means you have the kitchen and common rooms availalbe to you, which makes it a home away form home. The rooms are fantastic...clean and cozy. It was a "full house" while we were there but never felt crowded or noisy. Would definatelyt stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huckleberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huckleberry House

Address: 301 Pensylvania Avenue, PO Box 327, Roslyn, WA 98941
Location: United States > Washington > Roslyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roslyn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home B and B located in historic Roslyn WA. Walking distance to down town. Filming site of Northern Exposure. All rooms have private baths. Use all natural, organic and recycled products when ever possible. Outdoor hot tub. Great views of the area. Full house available for small groups. Lots of outdoor recreation available right outside your door. Innkeepers Don and Sibyl ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huckleberry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Huckleberry House to your Saves list