We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable bed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huckleberry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roslyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huckleberry House
301 Pensylvania Avenue, PO Box 327, Roslyn, WA 98941   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Roslyn B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable bed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Super charming. Breakfast was delicious. A wonderful area to get away and very close to Seattle. We hiked up the hills on the outskirts of town and the views were wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We live in the Seattle area and wanted to find a quiet place to get away for a couple of days to celebrate our 41st anniversary. We chose Huckleberry House based on reviews we read online and are happy we did. Don and Sybil are wonderfully hospitable, and the house is very comfortable.

We had one of the 3 guest rooms on the second floor. Each has its own old-fashioned bath with clawfoot tub. Our room was very comfortable, and the food was excellent. Sybil knows the area well and told us about local shops and restaurants.

Even though another family staying while we were there had a 2-year-old, the house is large enough that noise is not a problem.

The library space in the center of the upstairs bedrooms is especially pleasant and cozy. The rooms have TVs with cable and also VCRs, and there is a good selection of free tapes.

This is not a luxury inn, but it is a nice comfortable place with great hospitality. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: It appeared that any of the rooms would be fine - all different configurations but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this wonderful B&B many times over the past 10 years. Don & Sibyl are wonderful hosts. The House overlooks the little town of Roslyn and has 3 rooms on the upper floor of the house and one that is handicap accessible on the main floor. Full breakfast served to guests, usually a fresh bakery item. Hot tub and deck area outside with BBQ; a deck surrounds the front & side of the house. Upstairs is a library with lots of books, games and videos - including all the seasons of Northern Exposure, which was filmed in Roslyn. There is a brewery, wine tasting, and lots of little shops.

Room Tip: We love the Gypsy with its great view of the town and its on the end away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Being fans of Northern Exposure we had stopped in Roslyn, WA a couple times but wanted to stay overnight. The town still has all the buildings used in the TV series, The Huckleberry House overlooks downtown, and is just a block away. We stayed in the Quinault room, which actually is their biggest room. It was very comfortable and we slept like we were visiting a familiar place. This B&B has a lot of information on Northern Exposure, books, vhs tapes, magazines, and sightseeing maps of the town related to the tv show in a large upstairs library. Our room was big and comfortable with some very nice antiques, tv/vcr, a sitting area, and a large bathroom. The other couples staying there were also NX fans; 2 from England, so at breakfast we all shared our stories. A little expensive but probably the best place in town to stay.

Room Tip: Most people want the Cicely room but we felt the Quinault room was bigger and better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 night here for our 5 year anniversary and we are so glad we did! The room was fantastic, comfortable and pretty as well. (We stayed in the Gypsy room.) We were greeted with an Anniversary card and chocolate bar, an unexpected and very sweet and thoughtful gesture. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well, in fact, I almost never sleep well in new places, and I slept like a rock. We enjoyed the antiques and the sunny library upstairs.

Sibyl was very helpful and helped point us towards our destinations. She also provided us with an atlas, and other books and pamphlets on the area to borrow. Breakfast was delicious-scones, eggs, fruit, and extraordinary plum cake. Perfect!

The area was full of history, great trails, old mining towns. There was so much to see and do, we were almost disappointed to have to move on to our next destination. We are looking forward to returning (hopefully soon!) to continue our explorations. We loved being able to walk to town, and especially loved walking to the old theater for a movie one night.

We highly recommend Huckleberry House.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Don, Sibyl and the children were great hosts. We felt warmly welcomed into their home. The breakfasts were superb and felt no rush to get up to eat. One morning we had to get up early to leave and Sibyl got us breakfast (freshly made scones from scratch) earlier than usual. We had a wedding in a campsite to go to or else we would have spent more time in the house and the town because it was such a pleasant place to stay. All five days we were there were relaxing and fun. The whole family was the best.

Room Tip: The Gypsy room was great. We took a peek at the other upstairs rooms. All seemed very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here three nights with two kids. All in all: an exellent choice. Nice yard with the yacuzzi, Delicious brekfast, Beautiful room and Cibyl and Don really make you feel wellcomed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huckleberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huckleberry House

Address: 301 Pensylvania Avenue, PO Box 327, Roslyn, WA 98941
Location: United States > Washington > Roslyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roslyn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home B and B located in historic Roslyn WA. Walking distance to down town. Filming site of Northern Exposure. All rooms have private baths. Use all natural, organic and recycled products when ever possible. Outdoor hot tub. Great views of the area. Full house available for small groups. Lots of outdoor recreation available right outside your door. Innkeepers Don and Sibyl ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huckleberry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Huckleberry House to your Saves list