We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Service Could Have Been Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McMillan's Dining Room

McMillan's Dining Room
248 Reuben Memorial Drive, Roche Harbor, San Juan Island, WA
360-378-5757
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McMillan's Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roche Harbor Road
Transit: No public transit in San Juan County
Kennewick
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service Could Have Been Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our food was good was really good. All four members of my family enjoyed their meal. Service was not the best, my 11 year old even said "they aren't very friendly here", and a mistake was made on our bill (thank goodness I caught it).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    32
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food with Sparkle!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

What a great place, food was great ...lobster bisque maybe the best ever and their MacMillan Salad with Maytag Blue fresh, green and delightful....and the Halibut, perfect! Service was perfectly timed and prompt without hovering, we will ask for (Leslie) again.

The evening was great already but when we were seated at a seaside window... The evening lights had the whole harbor aglow and just when you think it can't get any better Fireworks!!!

What a great memories from this evening, Roche Harbor and MacMillan's Dinning Room...an Independence Day we will not forget. Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Excellent food, service was a little slow, but food was well worth the wait. The entire community of Roche Harbor is beautiful

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food & service, amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We recently enjoyed dinner at McMillan's for a good friend's birthday. The staff made sure we had a table with a good view, were attentive to our group's needs and I really appreciated the large options of small and large plates on the menu. The food was average, but it was overshadowed by the amazing view and sunset, along with the good service.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Early Season at Roche Harbor Resort, San Juan Island, WA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have been to this wonderful old resort on the northwest coast of San Juan Island, and eaten at McMillan's many times, including our recent visit in April. The food is excellent and the chocolate cake desert is to die for! The only negative (on this visit) was that 1) it was in the middle of the week and 2) too early for the full wait staff that one would see in mid-summer, while the service was good, it was just a bit slow since the dining room was fully occupied with only 2 servers on duty. This will improve once schools are out and summer temps can be added.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McMillan's Dining Room also viewed

Roche Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Roche Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to McMillan's Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMillan's Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.