We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Richland
Watford City, North Dakota
1 review
“We were very comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

THe hotel staff were friendly and efficient. The rate was very good compared to another hotel in the area with not as good a location. The location just on the river was beautiful and close to good restaurants. The bed and pillows were extremely pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elke S, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your stay. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding our guest’s expectations is what we strive for and we are happy to hear that we accomplished that. We hope to see you again in the very near future!

Take care~ Elke Silvey, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    49
    39
    21
    13
See reviews for
45
37
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a lovely room that looked out over the Columbia river. We found the bed to be comfortable, and the hotel's morning buffet simple but good. The dining room's vista overlooking the river is beautiful.

My one critique is that the pool seemed small for the number of people using it. I had wanted to go in but decided not too, just too many kids and adults, with no loungers or chairs free. The pool was too small for any lap swimming anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elke S, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad that you had a good time. We have one of only a few outdoor pools in the Tri-Cities and it does draw guests in the summer. I hope during your next visit you will get to take advantage of it and have some fun in the sun!

Take care~ Elke Silvey, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was my 50th reunion weekend and the hotel is newer than that.room is clean,good king bed and quiet. Some rooms have river view. There was only one check in clerk but chatting with friends in line made the time go fast. You wouldn't encounter that normally. Red lions are generally reliable. This one is no exception.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I really like this hotel. I stay here for about a week once a month. The hotel is a little older, carpets are worn or stained in places, doors show some sign of wear, but it is a clean hotel and the hotel staff are very friendly and the rooms are large and rather nice. There is a walking path just out the back of the hotel along the Columbia River that goes for miles in each direction and a nice park along the river. They have a nice breakfast buffet every morning; scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, bacon and sausage as well as other things like fruit, breads, drinks, etc. The wait staff are very friendly. The wifi has been recently upgraded and if very good now. If you like a low key and relaxing experience, I think you would probably find this hotel a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped like a "C" and for me the inner-rooms don't have as good cellular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pros:
The bed was incredibly comfortable - woke up with no aches or pains!
On the river
Restaurant on site
Swimming pool gets shade later in day
First floor rooms have sliding glass door to outside parking spots
If you're missing an item, they probably have it
Built in blow dryer
Good wifi
Hard-working staff

Cons:
AC spotty depending on room (ours was bad, next door was fine)
Sink is inside bathroom so you can't brush your teeth while someone uses the loo
Carpet is starting to have serious issues, a patched and stitched square in our room, no carpet at all between adjoining rooms door strip

I called about our warm room that was not cooling down due to a weak fan. They said they'd bring us a fan. A very polite employee showed up 40 minutes later. They had run out of fans to loan and he had DRIVEN TO LOWE'S to buy me one. He would not take a tip and apologized several times for the inconvenience.

My guess is the powers that be don't want to pay for the repair and upgrades to the AC system and worn carpet, but the staff is doing their best to cope and meet their customers' requests and needs.

Thanks for the A-plus effort, staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I enjoy my stay in this hotel. Location is short walk to the riverfront park through very nice inside park area with pool. Room was very nice and included balcony. You can not go wrong with the red lion at least not with this one. Very clean and very nice employee to check you in.

I enjoy my stay and I sleep very nice in this hotel. I will be back rest assured.

Room Tip: Request interior room with garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wasington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Book a river view room, and you will feel like you are in PARADISE! Beautiful lawn, with steps to Howard Amon Park (a great walking/biking trail), right on the Columbia River. Outside your room, you'll have a private patio or deck to relax on, with a breath-taking view. A short walk from the room, is a pristine pool with plenty of seating - it was virtually empty every time we went.

We love that Red Lion is DOG-FRIENDLY, and the staff really treats canines like one of the guests. There are plenty of grassy areas for your pooch, and a great park right out your door.

Our room was lovely, beds comfy, AC worked great and the updated decor rivals any "new" hotel.
We enjoyed room service in room AND at the pool - food was delivered fast, and was quite good.

This property really does warrant 5 stars, but for the SMOKING!! While the rooms are non-smoking, people smoke on the decks and patios which drift into your room/patio. Clueless people also smoke on the outdoor bar patio - very unappetizing if you are eating.

Room Tip: RIVER FRONT - best rooms in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House

Address: 802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Richland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Richland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House in Richland Washington is located right on the scenic Columbia River, 10 minutes from the Tri-cities Airport via our complimentary airport transportation. On downtown Richland's main arterial, the hotel offers convenient access to the Hanford Nuclear Reservation and all of the businesses located there including Battelle, Energy Northwest, Bechtel, Framatone, and HAMMER.Our 149 spacious guest rooms, including seven suites, feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel, including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and room service. We also have laundry and valet services and a fully equipped business center.For fun and relaxation, enjoy our outdoor pool and whirlpool or work out in our fitness center. Nearby you'll find Howard Amon Park with a 7-mile path along the river for walking or jogging. Golf, tennis, boat rentals and shopping are close by as are some of the area's 20 wineries and the Columbia River Exhibition of History, Science & Technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Richland
Richland Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.