We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard working staff in an older hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Richland
Town, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Hard working staff in an older hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pros:
The bed was incredibly comfortable - woke up with no aches or pains!
On the river
Restaurant on site
Swimming pool gets shade later in day
First floor rooms have sliding glass door to outside parking spots
If you're missing an item, they probably have it
Built in blow dryer
Good wifi
Hard-working staff

Cons:
AC spotty depending on room (ours was bad, next door was fine)
Sink is inside bathroom so you can't brush your teeth while someone uses the loo
Carpet is starting to have serious issues, a patched and stitched square in our room, no carpet at all between adjoining rooms door strip

I called about our warm room that was not cooling down due to a weak fan. They said they'd bring us a fan. A very polite employee showed up 40 minutes later. They had run out of fans to loan and he had DRIVEN TO LOWE'S to buy me one. He would not take a tip and apologized several times for the inconvenience.

My guess is the powers that be don't want to pay for the repair and upgrades to the AC system and worn carpet, but the staff is doing their best to cope and meet their customers' requests and needs.

Thanks for the A-plus effort, staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    45
    36
    19
    11
See reviews for
42
34
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I enjoy my stay in this hotel. Location is short walk to the riverfront park through very nice inside park area with pool. Room was very nice and included balcony. You can not go wrong with the red lion at least not with this one. Very clean and very nice employee to check you in.

I enjoy my stay and I sleep very nice in this hotel. I will be back rest assured.

Room Tip: Request interior room with garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wasington
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Book a river view room, and you will feel like you are in PARADISE! Beautiful lawn, with steps to Howard Amon Park (a great walking/biking trail), right on the Columbia River. Outside your room, you'll have a private patio or deck to relax on, with a breath-taking view. A short walk from the room, is a pristine pool with plenty of seating - it was virtually empty every time we went.

We love that Red Lion is DOG-FRIENDLY, and the staff really treats canines like one of the guests. There are plenty of grassy areas for your pooch, and a great park right out your door.

Our room was lovely, beds comfy, AC worked great and the updated decor rivals any "new" hotel.
We enjoyed room service in room AND at the pool - food was delivered fast, and was quite good.

This property really does warrant 5 stars, but for the SMOKING!! While the rooms are non-smoking, people smoke on the decks and patios which drift into your room/patio. Clueless people also smoke on the outdoor bar patio - very unappetizing if you are eating.

Room Tip: RIVER FRONT - best rooms in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent close to $200.00 for the "family suite" because we had 5 people. It was a hot day outside and even hotter in the room. We tried to get a fan.....nope, they don't have any and no on can do a thing about it because the building is so old....that is what front desk told me on the phone and my husband also went down. It was very uncomfortable. When we checked in, no one made mention of the breakfast that was included the next morning and I had to ask. I don't think it's worth the amount of money we spent on it and if my husband didn't want a view of the Columbia, would have kept looking.
PS....they want you to contact them prior to leaving a Tripadvisor review and we did.

Room Tip: Be sure you make sure your breakfast is included. Wait staff had to ask us three times and then had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a choice of 3 different hotels for a baseball tournament. Picked this one because of location and not bad reviews. The air conditioner in our room was not cooling, so we told the front desk. She said they don't have maintenance on staff on the weekend, would we like to take a look at another room to see if it was better? It was not. My husband peeked at the filter on the cold air return and it was totally plugged and dated a year ago. Gross. We stayed in our original room and bought a table fan so that we could sleep. We were traveling with a group and had 8 rooms - only 2 had decent cooling systems. Sounds like they know it's a problem, but can't afford an HVAC update. The breakfast buffet was included in our room price, it wasn't spectacular - they served the exact same thing both days. I wouldn't pay $8 for it, although the woman hosting the room was very cordial. The pool area was nice and there were plenty of towels and even bar service if you wanted it!

Room Tip: The ones on the street side seemed to have the oldest AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were only here for one night, but had a wonderful stay. The pool and hot tub were great. Tammy at the front desk checked me in quickly, easily and she was very friendly. The amenities inside the room were very nice. Quiet location, easy to find, and quick to get back on the road again the next morning. I'd definately stay here again. I booked this through Priceline, so had no idea what I would be getting, but I must say I was very pleasantly surprised. Great room for a great price. No problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Everything about our 4 day visit was great. We were looking for place to stay since lost house in Richland After mother- in-law passed away. We will be coming back here again and again! The view and location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House

Address: 802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Richland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Richland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House in Richland Washington is located right on the scenic Columbia River, 10 minutes from the Tri-cities Airport via our complimentary airport transportation. On downtown Richland's main arterial, the hotel offers convenient access to the Hanford Nuclear Reservation and all of the businesses located there including Battelle, Energy Northwest, Bechtel, Framatone, and HAMMER.Our 149 spacious guest rooms, including seven suites, feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel, including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and room service. We also have laundry and valet services and a fully equipped business center.For fun and relaxation, enjoy our outdoor pool and whirlpool or work out in our fitness center. Nearby you'll find Howard Amon Park with a 7-mile path along the river for walking or jogging. Golf, tennis, boat rentals and shopping are close by as are some of the area's 20 wineries and the Columbia River Exhibition of History, Science & Technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Richland
Richland Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.