We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT and you can NOT adjust the air.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Richland
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“HOT and you can NOT adjust the air.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent close to $200.00 for the "family suite" because we had 5 people. It was a hot day outside and even hotter in the room. We tried to get a fan.....nope, they don't have any and no on can do a thing about it because the building is so old....that is what front desk told me on the phone and my husband also went down. It was very uncomfortable. When we checked in, no one made mention of the breakfast that was included the next morning and I had to ask. I don't think it's worth the amount of money we spent on it and if my husband didn't want a view of the Columbia, would have kept looking.
PS....they want you to contact them prior to leaving a Tripadvisor review and we did.

Room Tip: Be sure you make sure your breakfast is included. Wait staff had to ask us three times and then had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    44
    32
    19
    11
See reviews for
39
34
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a choice of 3 different hotels for a baseball tournament. Picked this one because of location and not bad reviews. The air conditioner in our room was not cooling, so we told the front desk. She said they don't have maintenance on staff on the weekend, would we like to take a look at another room to see if it was better? It was not. My husband peeked at the filter on the cold air return and it was totally plugged and dated a year ago. Gross. We stayed in our original room and bought a table fan so that we could sleep. We were traveling with a group and had 8 rooms - only 2 had decent cooling systems. Sounds like they know it's a problem, but can't afford an HVAC update. The breakfast buffet was included in our room price, it wasn't spectacular - they served the exact same thing both days. I wouldn't pay $8 for it, although the woman hosting the room was very cordial. The pool area was nice and there were plenty of towels and even bar service if you wanted it!

Room Tip: The ones on the street side seemed to have the oldest AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were only here for one night, but had a wonderful stay. The pool and hot tub were great. Tammy at the front desk checked me in quickly, easily and she was very friendly. The amenities inside the room were very nice. Quiet location, easy to find, and quick to get back on the road again the next morning. I'd definately stay here again. I booked this through Priceline, so had no idea what I would be getting, but I must say I was very pleasantly surprised. Great room for a great price. No problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Everything about our 4 day visit was great. We were looking for place to stay since lost house in Richland After mother- in-law passed away. We will be coming back here again and again! The view and location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is older but very well maintained. Great view of the river and very close to all local activities. Rooms were clean and had no problems with any services. We were on a special rate so breakfast was not included but was available at a very reasonable price. Large parking lot and easy access to Main Street. Price was a little high for equal hotels in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the front side and could hear road noise so recommend a roo on the back side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elke S, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves and were able to take advantage of our wonderful riverside location! Our hotel is situated downtown and that makes it especially easy for our out of town guests to enjoy our beautiful city. I can't wait to see you here again!

Take Care ~ Elke Silvey, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Though it is certainly a dated looking hotel, with a feel that makes you think of the 60's, it is pretty well maintained and updated where needed. The location is right on the river, virtually adjacent to a beautiful golf course, with easy access to/from the major highways and a good collection of local restaurants within walking distance. We visited with our baseball club, and the central courtyard with the outdoor pool proved to be a perfect spot to let them run around while still being able to be monitored by the parents, yet not harassed by the hotel staff. Will be back, but next time know to ask for a 'river view' room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elke S, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Seafishman,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It is always nice to hear that our guests are enjoying themselves. Our central location is definitely a plus for many travelers. And our park like courtyard is indeed a perfect location for the kids to play while remaining supervised! We look forward to seeing you again!

Take Care~ Elke Silvey, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights as our Granddaughter had her wedding there. We were pleasantly surprised with how great everything went. When we arrived they had a La Crosse tournament in the area and the hotel was full of young people. At first we thought, oh no are we going to not get any sleep, but lo and behold at 10 PM the hotel became silent. The hotel staff was great, loved the breakfast, we ordered off of the menu and had a very large Denver omelet and hash browns, so good I ordered it two mornings in a row. The hotel has a beautiful restaurant and lounge, as writers have mentioned before it has a great view of the Columbia river. We had a view room overlooking the river, which made for a nice view. The hotel and our room was nice and clean, true it could use a bit of update here and there, but show me a hotel that doesn't. The public restrooms were immaculate, always neat and clean. Over all I would rate this a
9 1/2 on a scale of 10. Nice hotel, great time was had by all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House

Address: 802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Richland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Richland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House in Richland Washington is located right on the scenic Columbia River, 10 minutes from the Tri-cities Airport via our complimentary airport transportation. On downtown Richland's main arterial, the hotel offers convenient access to the Hanford Nuclear Reservation and all of the businesses located there including Battelle, Energy Northwest, Bechtel, Framatone, and HAMMER.Our 149 spacious guest rooms, including seven suites, feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel, including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and room service. We also have laundry and valet services and a fully equipped business center.For fun and relaxation, enjoy our outdoor pool and whirlpool or work out in our fitness center. Nearby you'll find Howard Amon Park with a 7-mile path along the river for walking or jogging. Golf, tennis, boat rentals and shopping are close by as are some of the area's 20 wineries and the Columbia River Exhibition of History, Science & Technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Richland
Richland Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;