We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel by the River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Richland
Davao
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel by the River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I have stayed at red lion twice, and on both occasions I was extremely satisfied. On both my stays, my room was on the farthest end of the first floor, but the walk is well worth the view from my room! Staff are courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!
We certainly do appreciate the business we receive, but more importantly we enjoy the relationships that are created when we have a guest stay in our home!

We look forward to your next visit ,until then, safe travels.

Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    49
    39
    21
    13
See reviews for
45
37
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

I enjoy the Red Lion hotel in Richland. Its my favorite place to stay, I'm actually going back Monday october 31st for a couple days. I love the convinence of the hotels location, and the staff is absolutly wonderful. I do feel they need to know just how fabulous each and everyone of them are. My room is always clean, and the breakfast is always the best. So thank you for taking the time to read my lil review. I really would like some kinda coupons to get a better price or something if u all have any kind of promotions going on.

Sincerly,
PeggySue Conner

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Our hotel credo is Arrive as Guests, Leave as Family. We strive to create that homey feeling for everyone, and it sounds like we hit the mark with you!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
(Please check our web site for promotions, there is always something going on!)

Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Restaurants overlook the walk path along the Columbia River -- very beautiful grounds, well-maintained landscaping and attractive courtyard. The restaurant is wonderful -- lots of choices plus a buffet breakfast. The staff was wonderful -- provided shuttle service to the airport which saved at least $55 for us. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The colors are in the tan/brown family so it appears a little dated and drab but the amenities make up for it. We were there to spend time with convalescing parent. Only a short walk to the Kadlec Medical Center as well as restaurants, library and some shops. The staff was helpful when called upon to change and extend reservations. My husband and I were very pleased!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!
We certainly do appreciate the business we receive, but more importantly we enjoy the relationships that are created when we have a guest stay in our home!

I have passed your comments on to all the staff here.

Looking forward to your next visit..

Thanks again

Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

Just driving through after a visit in Seattle headed on to the Midwest . We loved the park for a walk before we retired for the evening! What a beautiful river-- felt like our stop here helped us connect with the area . A true destination not just a pit stop !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! As the owner of a 150lb dog I can also verify what a great place it is. Plenty of trails, the river and the hotel make it, as you said, "a true destination and not just a pit stop". Don't forget the 300 plus days of sunshine each year.

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our little sports car broke down and we were hauled on a flatbed into Richland, Wa. Spent night at the Red Lion while waiting for the car to be repaired. We had a very spacious room with a balcony overlooking the river which had a lot of activity on and around it at the time. Families having picnics, swimmers, boaters, water skiers etc. It was delightful to sit on our balcony and watch. Our room was clean and comfortable. Computer in the Business Center was the slowest that I have ever experienced. Be sure to have your own laptop with you if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here three nights in September. We were selling our house and stayed here when the movers packed up our stuff. The hotel is next to the river and Sterling diner. It looks old inside and out but was clean. We checked into our room in the late evening. The lady at check-in was nice. The room was a nice size and the bed was very comfortble but the bathrooms had black mold. It was in the bath tub, on the shower curtain, on the tile on the floor, and even in the closet. We did not notice how bad till the next day when we took our shower. I put towels down inside the bathtub and on the bathroom floor. The bathroom door had water damage. It looked like there may have been standing water from a leak and the bathroom was not cleaned and air out properly. I called Housekeeping in the morning but just got a busy signal. I left two messages with the front desk about the mold. I left a note for the maid to try to see if she could get rid of it. She did try to scrub it but it was going to take some kind of electrical scrubber or some type of special cleaner to get rid of it. I have never seen such mold in a hotel room before and wonder if regular guest just put up with it? I did use the laundry room. When I went to the front desk to get some quarters for the laundry room, they told me they did not have enough for me and to go to a gas station or store nearby. I could not belive a full service hotel could not exchange some dollars for some quarters. Luckily another hotel staff member had some extra quarters in his pocket to exchange with me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thanks for writing a review on your stay!
I was however extremely disappointed to read of your experience so I ask you contact me at 509-946-7611 so that I may discuss further with you and put corrective measures in place.
This is absolutely not the standard we strive for and I do apologize for your issues.

Thanks

Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at the Red Lion Hanford House for one night, and that was enough.

The hotel itself is OK, but rather dated. 20 years ago I'm sure it was nice, which was about the last time it was updated. The front desk staff were nice.

The room was marginally clean and smelled musty and the air conditioning was barely up to the task of cooling the room and adding some ventilation.

The bed was saggy and had obvious wear/depressions. The pillows were small and little more than loose bags of foam rubber.

This hotel is better than sleeping in your car, that is about it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I really do appreciate the feedback you provided.
I am sorry your stay was not as you would have expected but am very happy to report we will be upgrading our rooms next month. This will include a new bedding package and flat panel TVs in all of our rooms. Our engineers have checked the A/C system and made some adjustments...the system is cooling much better again.
Let me know when you will be back in town and I'll handle your reservation personally.

Thanks again

Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House

Address: 802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Richland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Richland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House in Richland Washington is located right on the scenic Columbia River, 10 minutes from the Tri-cities Airport via our complimentary airport transportation. On downtown Richland's main arterial, the hotel offers convenient access to the Hanford Nuclear Reservation and all of the businesses located there including Battelle, Energy Northwest, Bechtel, Framatone, and HAMMER.Our 149 spacious guest rooms, including seven suites, feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel, including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and room service. We also have laundry and valet services and a fully equipped business center.For fun and relaxation, enjoy our outdoor pool and whirlpool or work out in our fitness center. Nearby you'll find Howard Amon Park with a 7-mile path along the river for walking or jogging. Golf, tennis, boat rentals and shopping are close by as are some of the area's 20 wineries and the Columbia River Exhibition of History, Science & Technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Richland
Richland Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.