We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bookwalter Winery

Bookwalter Winery
894 Tulip Lane, Richland, WA
509-627-5000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 135 Restaurants in Richland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Portland oregon
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Food but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Sat outside on the patio which was very nice (except you are looking right at the gravel parking lot). Food was good, wine by the glass was very expensive - $15 for a glass of wine was about the lowest price. Service was fine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice But....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We dinned at Bookwalter last Sat in order to take advantage of the great weather and music. We sat outside at an empty table to enjoy our experience but soon were greated by a putrid odiferous smell akin to sewer. We ask to be moved indoors which was fine but unfortunately could not hear the music. We did encounter a longer than usual wait time for our drinks,about 15 minutes for 2 glasses of wine. The couples surrounding us received theirs pronto. The 2010 Couplet Chardonnay was great and the cured meat flat bread with feta, pears, drizzled with honey was very appetizing. The hummus was ok, not great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun place to hang out with your friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Boy, this place does get loud! We loved going to Bookwalter during summer, they stay open pretty much late and don't mind obnoxious girls at all. We came for drinks and stayed for dinner, that's the good sign. Their outdoor seating is quite good, loved oversized chairs. By the time we were done with appetizers, more appetizers and finally dinner, we were stuffed like sausages. I can't say their wine is superb, but it went well with the food and we were happy with the time we spend there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“"Undiscovered" new Fine Dining in Richland, WA: J Bookwalter Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently (March 2013) got a discount coupon in the mail for dining at Bookwalter Winery, and were quite surprised, as we didn't even know they now have a restaurant. So... not being one to pass up a bargain, we had had dinner (on a Friday) and the place was PACKED. Though not huge seating areas (reservations probably a good idea on week-ends), we did get seated right away and were amazed at the fairly extensive menu. Top quality beef and pork ("wagyu", I believe -- the new Kobe?).

The dinner was supurb, service great, and prices actually reasonable for such gourmet food. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal/experience so much we went back the following Sunday for a leisurely lunch, which also didn't disappoint.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, wa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere for most occassions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have gone for after work social time, girls nights, and dinner with family / friends / fiance multiple times. Each time is a fantastic experience. Great service, food, and wine. I personnally recommend the rib eye steak with the truffle sides for dinner.

My favorite time to go is after work for social time. Great outdoor sitting area, bocci ball courts available, great sounds and set up for people to talk.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bookwalter Winery also viewed

Richland, Tri-Cities
Richland, Tri-Cities
 

Been to Bookwalter Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bookwalter Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.