We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Olive's Restaurant

Fat Olive's Restaurant
255 Williams Blvd, Richland, WA 99352
+1 509-946-6404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 133 Restaurants in Richland
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fat Olives is your quintessential neighborhood bistro. Located in downtown Richland, we are open Monday - Saturday for lunch and dinner. We are also a Full Service Catering Company. A small BBQ for 20 or a Formal Dinner for 2,000. We will work with you to custom tailor a catering experience that fits your vision, tastes and budget. We are committed to exceeding the expectations of our customers!
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stunningly good find And so poorly patronized a real puzzle. I've had Osso Bucco many places and many ways (veal and pork), this was pork and probably one of the best ever. Very little fat, great glaze and fall off the bone tender. W/ risotto which by itself was among the best, close to a
signature dish by a James Beard award winner in Chapel Hill. Others had seafood pasta which was not overcooked and nicely seasoned w/ pesto, garlic and pine nuts, also very good. The pizza was also a pleasant surprise, light fluffy and not overly chewy. We may stay late just to enjoy a
luch here prior to going on on our little walk-about on the NW.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lame Sat hours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We really wanted to try this place, but they were only open for 4.5 hrs on a Sat?!?!?!!?

Maybe this part of town is mostly weekday traffic, but we showed up at 3pm and found that they did not open until 4pm and the sign said until closing and when we went back at 8:30 they were closing?

We might give it a try next time we are in Richland, but I don't see that happening soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Every meal I've had at Fat Olive's has been wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been going to Fat Olive's for lunch or dinner several times a month since it opened a few years ago. The food is wonderful. The salads are fresh, the sandwiches are so delicious. The pizzas are terrific...you can order a whole pizza or just have a slice with a salad for a lighter meal. This week we ordered a Killer Tomato pizza to take home--what a fabulous pizza. The dinners are works of art. The desserts are all home made. They have a nice wine list. The staff is very well trained. We always look forward to a meal at Fat Olive's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Fat Olives does it right. They have a fantastic young chef who really knows his food. His flavors are exceptional, preparation divine and plating is exquisite. Being gluten free it's always a challenge to find place to eat let alone place that are actually good. Fat Olives has one of the largest gluten free menus I've seen anywhere and everything is outstanding!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding food (quality/quantity) = A, but BRING YOUR PARKA (cold = F)!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our first time dining at Fat Olive's (the location itself has been various places over the last several years). The menu is quite extensive and the food quality and the serving portions are outstanding (we had two more meals at home from our "doggie boxes").

However, BEWARE IF YOU GO IN THE WINTER: we went in December, and the outside temp was 30, and I'm really sure the inside temp was also 30. I complained about the cold not once, but THREE times, but to no avail. Of the 6 or 8 occupied tables, 3 had people wearing winter coats while dining and one lady put on a knit ski-type cap half way through her meal. I had to put my heavy coat on within 5 minutes of being there just to almost stay warm. (My wife was already wearing thermal underthings, so she was marginally warm.) Then... the "heater" came on and the freezing cold air it was blowing sucked all the remaining warmth out of my meal. (Server just said that the heating "had a mind of its own". --- Gimme a break!!)

Would recommend this place highly for the food, but you might want to bring your own space heater in the winter. (Don't know if the summer time will have it too warm or overkill on the A/C?? -- We'll try it ... once.) But for the disingenuous comments, and no action, on the heating, the service was actually extremely good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Olive's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fat Olive's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Olive's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.