We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some help” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Comstock Street, Richland, WA 99352   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Richland
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Needs some help”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I really wanted to like this place but this is by far one of the worst hotels stays we have ever had. it was a convenient location. So we stayed. They let us check in early (it was a huge task) because the lady made sure we knew that. we had two rooms one for us and one for my 85 yr old dad. When we were talking to the counter clerk about checking in, my dad came up, just to stand at the check in desk(hes old) and she snapped at him and says. You know I can only wait on one person at a time. WHAT? he wasnt going to bug her as we were checking in for him. She also talked to us in this, tone like she has thought we were going to problems. she explained the no smoking policy over and over, because she wanted us to be "sure" "we understood". We got it lady! I couldnt get over the tone she had with us. Its like she had a problem with people of color, because I think she fully expected us to be problems. It was very clear she didnt want to help us and it was a HUGE ordeal for her to help us. We had also booked adjoining rooms with our dad and was told we couldn't have them, so why book them if it isnt at all possible? we were next door to him anyways, and then we somehow ended up with adjoining rooms with some family we met there. did they give our reserved room out? When we finally got to the room it smelled so we had to go to dollar tree to get some air freshener. It smelled like the doors or the windows to this room hadnt been opened for days. The picture on the tv was horrible, and then they expect you to pay for movies! the radio kept turning on by itself and the clock on the radio wouldnt keep time. The phone didnt work so we couldnt call room to room or call the front desk.. because well they had put dirty sheets on the bed. I am not sure what bodily fluids they were or if the people before us had spilled. But still, they dont change their sheets before every guest! It also boasts that there is a restaurant, but the kitchen closes way early (8 or 9) so I am not sure what the point of saying theres a restaurant is. The lounge is also very dated but the bartender was really nice. We went to the breakfast they provided and it was ok, very good for free. but twice I pulled out a chair to sit down and they were both missing wheels. Sometime during the night, we heard someone banging on hotel doors, and I feared the worst but I think it was on the floor above us. This hotel is in desperate need of a remodel and some gracious front desk clerks. (also, we didnt see any other guests but the family we had there) That was a lil strange.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear SONNYSMOM,
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that your experience failed to meet your expectations and for any inconvenience you experienced. Your comments are appreciated and will be taken seriously. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn your confidence in the future.

Sincerely,
R. Flannery, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    24
    33
    10
See reviews for
25
24
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This Shilo is definitely in need of some serious TLC. Aging everything! The front desk Staff was pleasant but that's were it ended. Clean enough, but for the price I'd find another place to stay next time. And forget about eating here. We had the halibut and fries. All you could taste was the grease. Lounge staff was terrible. Couldn't get an order right to save her life.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Devon S,

Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize for your experience in the restaurant. Your concerns have been brought to management attention so that they may take immediate corrective action. I sincerely hope that you will allow us a future opportunity to earn you confidence.

Sincerely,
R. Flannery - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

first time in this motel , and my opinion is that this place is not bad ,and the price is ok too, the room was clean and not all beat up like some places , there was a pool available and a restaurant built into the motel and it also included a pretty good breakfast ,
next time im sent to richland i will be staying here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Vardis3,

Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Richland.

Sincerely,
R. Flannery - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We made a reservation online based on price and pictures. When we checked in, the bed - advertised as a "queen" - was barely a full. The room was smaller than most walk-in closets, and the room smelled like urine. We were told that it would cost us "an extra $10" to upgrade! The only redeeming thing about the hotel was that the manager didn't put up too much of a fight and -- after first having the desk staff 'inform' us that we'd have to pay the full fare if we left! - cancelled our reservation. The place needs to be completely razed and rebuilt. IF YOU'RE READING OTHER REVIEWS ON THIS PLACE THAT SAY THINGS LIKE "IT WAS GREAT!" THEY WERE PROBABLY DONE BY SHILO INN STAFF, MANAGEMENT, OR CORPORATE!! Many, many other VERY nice hotels nearby. DON'T STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!! The place is a DUMP!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Tom P,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that your experience failed to meet your expectations. I also apologize that your accommodations were not as you anticipated. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence in the future.

Sincerely,
R. Flannery - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here a year ago and gave it an "ok" and that is what I am giving it again. Again I had an economy queen room. Upon opening the door you get a blast of "that smell". Once you get the AC going and vent the room a bit it isn't too noticeable. The room is decent and clean and functional but nothing special. The outside door jams on most of the rooms are in desperate need of paint - wood showing through and there is need up touch up pain on moldings in the room itself. The room did have a mini fridge and microwave. I got to Richland much earlier than expected and the staff was very helpful in letting me check in early - I really appreciated that. The breakfast that comes with your stay (free) is a buffet - the best out there on the road.... potatoes, eggs, biscuits and gravy, cereal, pastries, yogurt and juices. Back to the room - I was greeted in the bathroom upon arrival by a huge brown spider in the bathtub. I don't know which type but I demised it. Later one showed up in the sink..... ????? The location of this hotel is good - close to the HI ways and close to the Aman Park where I visit the Tumbleweed Folk Music Festival. So, I will again return as the prices are reasonable, breakfast is good, the staff is good, location good but I hope they do a little touch up maintenance one of these years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear therealscherlock,

Thank you for choosing Shilo Inn Richland a second time. Your business is appreciated and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
R. Flannery - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I made a last minute stop in Richland and was pleasantly greeted. The room was about what I expected; clean with a faint hint of smoke but as a older hotel that is not unexpected. The two things that I would comment on is the quality of the complementary breakfast, very good by any standards. the staff was very friendly and helpful. All for under 100$ a night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear JonathonE,

Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. We are glad you would like to stay with us again and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
R. Flannery - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean and friendly. Yes this Shilo could definitely use some external cosmetic updating but the amenities are plentiful and the staff was great. Right off freeway and golf course, nice pool and spa...well kept and clean. The beds are comfortable, mini fridge and freezer, coffee pots and little soaps etc. AC worked awesomely, which is key in the summer there. Breakfast was actually really good and HOT which is important to me...usually a major complaint of mine is a continental breakfast being below a safe temp...not here- instead a FULL and HOT meal. If you're the type that cares more about the engine in your car than a scratch in the paint this Shilo is a good value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Delyria,

Thank you for your comments and for recognizing our special brand of “Affordable Excellence.” We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
R. Flannery - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland

Address: 50 Comstock Street, Richland, WA 99352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Richland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Richland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Richland Hotel Richland
Richland Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.