We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Republic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Inn
Save
You added Northern Inn to your Saves list
852 S. Clark, Republic, WA 99166   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Republic B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cute place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice clean motel in the small town of Republic.We enjoyed walking to the museum and local micro-brewery, both close by. We also enjoyed watching the sunset from the lawn chairs they have scattered around the upper level breezeway.

Downside is no swimming pool and the beds more firm than we like, but otherwise a nice stay.

Room Tip: The upper rooms closer to the office have the best views for sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
17
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Northern Inn is a comfortable, family-run motel in the small town of Republic. It had a lot of charm and the staff was very friendly. Our room was large and comfortable. We were told in advance that the refrigerator was out of order, but we didn't need it so that wasn't a problem for us. I must have forgotten to ask fror a non-smoking room and our room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke (or perhaps something else) so that was quite annoying. There was no chain or deadbolt for the door and the furniture in the room was in need of refurbishing. No breakfast was included, but Kathy recommended a nice place just a block down the street. Overall we were satisfied with our stay and would stay here again ... IF we could have a non-smoking or cleaner smelling room.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, be sure to ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We came thru Republic, Washington on our trip and we saw the Northern Inn. The owner was pleasant. We enjoyed our room that had two queen beds. Morning coffee in the Lobby which is decordated with pictures from the older days. Lots of History in Republic! No coffeemakers in the room, but understand why the owner did this. The owners think of the customers. Rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great place to stay in Republic. Rooms were clean & comfortable and front desk was very friendly. Republic is a nice town to spend the night. Sportsmen Roost down the street is a super friendly diner that offers great food options throughout the day. Great breakfast and good pies.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

On a one-week driving tour to see places in Washington state we'd never been to before, we arrived in late afternoon in the little, remote town of Republic in the far northeastern part of the state, just 30 miles from the Canadian border. Our AAA Oregon/Washington guidebook listed just one place in Republic so we called them to inquire about prices, etc. It sounded OK, but not great, so when we arrived on the one main street, we noticed the Northern Inn Hotel on S. Clark street. Hard to miss it, actually, with its barn red exterior, and turreted three-story building. The very appealing lobby was decorated like a Victorian time piece, including historical photos of the town and the inn. Turned out the owner had a king-bedded room on the second floor, which we took.

The hotel consists of three buildings -- the lobby building on one side, the turreted three-story building on the other side, and a two-story row of motel rooms with porches between the other two buildings, with very ample parking in front of it. We asked about continental breakfasts, and the lady said they don't offer them because they don't want to take business away from the town's cafes and restaurants. Oh. Or -- could it have been she just didn't want to bother with the time and expense? Whichever it was, we asked if there was a coffee maker in the room. She said no, they were too dangerous! Dangerous? Yes, she said, it's too easy for the meth heads to cook their dope on the hot burner plate!! In 25 years of traveling the world as a co-owner of a travel public relations agency and member of the Society of American Travel Writers, I had never heard that before! So -- for all you meth-heads out there, take this warning: forget about going to Republic and staying at the Northern Inn hotel!No cooking up your meth on the coffee pot burner plates there!

She did say that we could come to the office for coffee, which I did the next morning, only to find both pots were filled with leaded coffee -- no decaf. Darn. But in commenting on this, the owner came out in her white terry cloth bathrobe and rummaged around to see if she could find some -- she didn't.

Our room at the top of the stairs was fairly large, rather plainly furnished, but with a good king size bed and a sofa and a TV in a console, plus microwave and small refrigerator -- the room was presentable and seemed clean. We had our cocktails sitting out on a bench on the wide porch running in front of all the rooms, observing the light traffic coming and going. The bathroom had a nice feature, with the toilet and shower in a separate room with a door, leaving the sink and counter available if someone was using the other facilities. The cotton flannel sheets on the bed and pillow cases were rough, almost grooved, and when I asked my wife about this, she said she thought it was because they had been washed so often, they had gotten rough. Nonetheless, we had a good night's sleep.

We walked up one side of the main street (Clark) and down the other, noting all of the historical markers on the buildings, noting that most had burned down in 1917, and then had been rebuilt. The look and feel of the Northern Inn, and the small town, is very much that of a western small town -- we felt we could have been in western Montana or somewhere in Colorado.

Although she was a little quirky, the owner was very pleasant, the room clean, the setting quiet. The Northern Inn is not a great hotel with a lot of amenities, but it seems to be a well run, fairly priced ($82 including tax, no AAA discount) much loved, family business in this small, quaint, remote mountain town. If you find yourself passing through Republic on a road trip and are looking for a place to stay, give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We were traveling through Republic and realized we would not make it to Spokane by nightfall. We decided that we should try to stay the night in town and see if we could get a room. We saw the Northern Inn and stopped in. They were very nice and said there was a room available. We thought it would be expensive since we did not have a reservation. It turned out that we got an upstairs room that was very clean for under $80.

We had a room that had two queen size beds. It was a clean room and just as good as other places I have stayed at that cost $100 and more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Republic was not on our itinerary but we wound up here on a recent motorcycle trip. The hotel was terrific and we would all strongly recommend it. Everything you look for on a road trip including a very helpful front desk. Value was excellent , building is new and comfortable, quiet and well looked after. It is on our list for next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Inn

Address: 852 S. Clark, Republic, WA 99166
Location: United States > Washington > Republic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Republic
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.