We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chuck's all the way,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck's Donut Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chuck's Donut Shop
5335 NE 4TH St, Renton, WA 98059-4831
(425) 228-6336
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 276 Restaurants in Renton
Cuisines: Donuts
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chuck's all the way,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Maple bars just melt away.... Yummy! Get to get there early as they close when they sell out... I have hooked so many at work it's crazy. My second choice are the glazed old fashioned donuts. Now if you eat these later on the day... Microwave to warm them - only 6 seconds! Literally melts in your mouth!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Donut runs with my 7 year old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Every once in a while someone in the house wakes up and says ... "Donut run". That means Chuck's! :) The icing on the maple bars is a DREAM. It is a treat worth every 'point' ... once in a while!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“My favorite donut.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This place is dangerously good - and dangerously close to me! We go there at least once a month, and I have to say it is my favorite donut. It's not flashy and sponsoring the Seahawks or at Starbucks like Top Pot, it's just darn good. I HIGHLY recommend you try the maple bar (or chocolate bar). They do more of a whipped frosting than the sugary glaze, and it's amazing how good it is. And how quickly the donut disappears. My other favorite is the apple fritter. They aren't as doughy as some places, they are friend well, crispy, and they put a lot of apple chunks in them. Always good. In general, they do not have a bad donut.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHotelQueen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely the best doughnuts ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I can't even explain how good their doughnuts are... just that I compare everyone else's to them! If you haven't tried their doughnuts, well, you don't know what you are missing. And maybe that is a good thing. Because doughnuts are not the same anymore unless they are Chuck's.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible in Renton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

I have been frequenting Chuck's since Chuck (Charlie) was still alive-over 30 years. Even with the new owners they are still fabulous-the original recipes are used. If you want the fluffiest, best tasting donuts ever-go there. The Maple Bars are done with a maple frosting (not sugary glaze) that is absolutely melt in your mouth. The Apple fritters are the best too! They can be busy on work days, but well worth the wait in line. Keep them busy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Donut Shop also viewed

 

Been to Chuck's Donut Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck's Donut Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.