We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun spot, great beer, OK to bring the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whistle Stop Ale House

Whistle Stop Ale House
809 S. 4th Street, Renton, WA 98057
+1 425-277-3039
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 277 Restaurants in Renton
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Hamburgers, Seafood, Pub, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Old World charm may be found in downtown Renton, Washington at the Whistle Stop Ale House. For over one hundred years people have come to this neighborhood next to the railroad tracks to enjoy a pint among friends. Adding to the rustic charm is the cherry wood back bar which traveled to the Alaskan Gold Rush before finding a home in Renton. Today's brand new Whistle Stop has seventeen rotating taps that feature the finest ales and lagers of the Pacific Northwest and the World. Freshly grilled deli sandwiches are the menu specialty along with soups, salads and appetizers. Swing by for a quick lunch or spend an afternoon, either way the service is always friendly and the beer is always fresh.
kent, wa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun spot, great beer, OK to bring the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a great find. Good food, great beer and a stack of board games will all make for a fun evening. Check it out

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagler Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“good food, fun people, tons of beers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

we were sort of lost near seattle and were hungry; we saw the whistlestop and stopped for lunch --- what a happy accident! the bartender was our waiter and he was great -- funny and nice and welcoming.
there must have been over a dozen beers on draught and a great choice of burgers, sandwiches, salads and soups. you can sit at the bar and eat or at any of the tables. everyone we saw was happy: staff and customers alike -- it's a fun place.

i had the Victoria Station sandwich: roasted turkey, honey smoked bacon, melted cheese on grilled sourdough that was amazing! steve's pastrami was excellent and the fries were really, really good!
all in all, if we can find it again we may go back tomorrow....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Renton's Ale House for the people's choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The moved into the current building a few years back from across the street and the railroad tracks. It has been up hill from there! Hugh selection of beers on tap and bottle. Good bar offering. The atmosphere is bright, clean and full of fun people.
Staff are great. Soups are amazing. I subsitute fries with soup on an order. Ruben is as good as there burgers. Best beef available for burgers. Good non burgers choices, too. It is a neighborhood place. I drive 16 miles to this neighborhood!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great beer and sandwich stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Had lunch and reviewed menu for possible dinner opportunities. Sandwich and beer stop, good food and good beer. That is all one needs sometimes. Friendly service, good prices, bar and grill atmosphere. You can belly up and only have a beer, but that would be a waste, eat something. Would definitely eat here again. Outdoor seating is in the parking lot basically, go inside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband wanted to come here. I was expecting to only find burgers and sandwiches, which didn't sound good to me, so I was surprised to find other dinner options on the menu. I ordered the chicken Marsala. It was delish! And they had homemade tomato soup that was creamy and amazing. A nice spring side salad. What a great meal for an ale house that was not expected. The waitress said their breakfast (only on weekends) is really good, so I will be coming back to try that too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistle Stop Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Whistle Stop Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistle Stop Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.