We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Dog loves the beef ribs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue

Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue
304 Wells Ave. S., Renton, WA 98055
4252554820
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 277 Restaurants in Renton
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: Cedar River Smokehouse is located in the heart of downtown Renton. Since the opening of our restaurant in 2000, we have gained considerable notoriety as a terrific lunch & dinner spot for individuals working in Renton and the surrounding areas. We pride ourselves on providing traditional as well as non-traditional Texas Style Barbecue. We offer a warm and friendly atmosphere to our number one concern... our customers!
Issaquah WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My Dog loves the beef ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

But not as much as I do, I have not found any other BBQ place in Seattle that does beef ribs this well. The meat falls away from the bone. It's smoked just right. Sauces are fine.. There are many side dishes. I recommend the beans or chill. Staffers are pleasant even during rush hours.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Place. Friendly Staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is close to our house so I stop alot. The food is awsome, BBQ beans are the best. I get the Medium Hot sause and it's the Best! This might not be everybody's favorite, but it's our's. The people who work there are all great and very friendly. i've never been Dissapointed here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ok BBQ, not Texas BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Food was average. No smoke flavor at all in the ribs, brisket, sausage, or pulled pork. Meat was all tender, but it could have been cooked in a crockpot. No smoke flavor at all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dean s, Owner at Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for visiting Cedar River Smokehouse. We use Hickory and Mesquite wood to smoke our meats. If you eat in the restaurant you may not smell the smoke in the meats because the smoke smell is in the air. We have many customer from Texas come in and told us we are as good as places in Texas. Hope you give us another try. Thanks Dean S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Diamond, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“We love the BBQ here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Whenever we go to downtown Renton we stop for BBQ Pork sandwiches at Cedar River, YUM. When you walk in the smell is of smokey bbq. We usually go for lunch. I have not tried a sandwich I haven't liked. You have a choice of bbq sauces, I get mild, my husband likes the medium. You can't go wrong here if your looking for good bbq!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dean s, Owner at Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for take time to say positive things about Cedar River Smokehouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go out of your way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The folks at Cedar River Smoke House are really nice, so I'd like to write a good review, but the BBQ is so-so and the sides are pretty scant. Cool decor though, with die cast car models lining the walls.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.