We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the BBQ here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue

Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue
304 Wells Ave. S., Renton, WA 98055
4252554820
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 256 Restaurants in Renton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Cedar River Smokehouse is located in the heart of downtown Renton. Since the opening of our restaurant in 2000, we have gained considerable notoriety as a terrific lunch & dinner spot for individuals working in Renton and the surrounding areas. We pride ourselves on providing traditional as well as non-traditional Texas Style Barbecue. We offer a warm and friendly atmosphere to our number one concern... our customers!
Black Diamond, Washington
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“We love the BBQ here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Whenever we go to downtown Renton we stop for BBQ Pork sandwiches at Cedar River, YUM. When you walk in the smell is of smokey bbq. We usually go for lunch. I have not tried a sandwich I haven't liked. You have a choice of bbq sauces, I get mild, my husband likes the medium. You can't go wrong here if your looking for good bbq!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dean s, Owner at Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for take time to say positive things about Cedar River Smokehouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go out of your way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The folks at Cedar River Smoke House are really nice, so I'd like to write a good review, but the BBQ is so-so and the sides are pretty scant. Cool decor though, with die cast car models lining the walls.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“barbecue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

There are a few barbecue restaurants in the area but, i always have to stop here at cedar river. It can be a little pricey but barbecue normally is. The food is great and the service is good. I normally order the mixed plate, its a sample of everything. Chicken,brisket,pull pork and ribs and i get two sides with that i believe as well. barbecue baked beans and potatoe salad.That is an all day meal.. Parking can be trickey if you do not know the area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific northwest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best BBQ and great catering as well.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have been going to Cedar River Smoke House for years. The food is so excellent that we also had them cater our wedding reception in June, 2012 at the Renton Senior Center. We could not have been more pleased. They are so efficient and the food is so delicious. I am most fond of the chicken but I know a lot of people who swear by their brisket. My latest obsession is with their mashed potatoes and gravy! Everything is good and all of the people who work there are wonderful. Renton is so lucky to have Cedar River Smoke House!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Average BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

For Washington State, the BBQ is pretty good, but for anyone who has traveled (Texas, Kansas City, Memphis, North Carolina) to BBQ hot spots and considers themselves BBQ connoisseurs, this place may disappoint.

As others have said, the sauce (you are offered either mild, medium or hot) is pretty good. We sampled both the mild and medium which does have a little kick to it. Between my wife and myself, we sampled the chicken, ribs, brisket and turkey. We found the meat to be overcooked and dry with the exception of the turkey which proved to be the best.

The service is self serve but a waitress will take care of your drinks and the girl serving us was quite pleasant. The portion sizes are generous and we each had plenty to take home. I found the leftovers (which I soaked in the sauce) were better than the first time around. I might return to sample the pulled pork someday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar River Smoke House Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.