We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torero's Mexican Restaurants

Torero's Mexican Restaurants
920 N 10th St, Renton, WA 98057
(425) 228-6180
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 277 Restaurants in Renton
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
seattle WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Had lunch here - taco salad - and it and the service were really good. Serving size wasn't the biggest I've ever had, but there was plenty. Service was exceptional although the restaurant wasn't as busy as it has been on other occasions. Even on other visits, once with a very large party - probably 25 people - the service was quite good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Great service and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We visited for an early dinner on a Saturday. There were 8 of us - a combo of family and friends. It was our first time to Torero's at The Landing in Renton. We were immediately impressed with the warm greeting we received. Our waiter was so personable and took great care of us. His English was a little to be desired, however, which led to confusion about the margarita I ordered. (It was supposed to be a virgin blackberry margarita but, instead, came as a regular flavor with alcohol.) As I hadn't had a drink in nearly 30 years (and it was very, very, strong), I could hardly breath after inhaling a huge gulp! All I could think was "what if I would have been a recovering alcoholic and had, possibly, just ruined my sobriety...yikes!?!? The food was delicious, though! The chips and salsa, the carne asada, the jumbo prawns, the beans, the rice, the burritos - even the coleslaw - were muy bueno!! I surely wish I could duplicate the seasonings on the prawns. I would be putting it on just about everything! We were thrilled to find that they have a tortilla maker (of the human sort - not a machine.) so the tortillas were, unsurprisingly, delicious! I will mention, also, that although we are Caucasian, we were dining with Hispanic friends who also loved the food! We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant in the U.S.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We've eating at a lot of Mexican restaurants throughout the U.S. but none of them can compare to the local favorite here in Renton, WA.
The food and service are second to none. The Carne Asada is a family favorite but all of the menu items are terrific. The margaritas are great also.
If you come in during the weekday lunch time be prepared to wait, but it's well worth it. It's located near the Boeing Renton plant (they build 737's) and a lot of Boeing workers like the food too.
When you stop in, be sure to say hello to Veronica (she's the owner). Veronica is the daughter of the founder, Ted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehra Dun, Uttarakhand, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Will go a Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good food, not expensive, courteous staff. What more can you ask for? The decor was very Mexican making the meal more of an experience

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, WA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Friendly and fresh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

On a Saturday night, it was busy but the staff was friendly, pleasant and humming along. The owner was in full service action, and the tortilla maker was busy but with her very sweet smile. We enjoyed the enchiladas, mole chicken and tacos. The rice was freshly made and the salsa had great flavor. The fresh tortillas were fantastic (and a wonderful surprise). Norma, our server, was delightfully pleasant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torero's Mexican Restaurants also viewed

 

Been to Torero's Mexican Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torero's Mexican Restaurants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.