We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, inconsistent care and sometimes inept service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Oakesdale Ave SW, Renton, WA 98057 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe Seattle-Renton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Certificate of Excellence
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place, inconsistent care and sometimes inept service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Although this is one of the nicer Extended Stays that I've stayed in, it really needs help. And I don't think the sort of help it needs will come via its current practice of placing placards in the room giving instructions and asking that everyone give them 5 star reviews on TripAdvisor.

The rooms are quite spacious and modern with added amenities like full kitchens, large flat screen TVs and DVD players. But they are not maintained with any consistency. They also offer a shuttle service to the airport (on time and friendly), to the light rail and other places nearby. I stayed here two different times in one week, with very different experiences. Inconsistencies were things like:
No mattress pad on the bed, where I could feel the mattress labels right through the sheets.
No dishrag in one kitchen, no drinking glasses in another, no kitchen clock in one.
One room had a nice quiet heater away from the bed, another had a loud broken one right next to the bed.
One room had a continually leaking/dripping faucet, another had a shower curtain that you actually stood on in the tub because it had been positioned so low.
In both rooms I had the unpleasant experience of the alarm clocks suddenly going off. I don't think its too difficult to train housekeepers to check that these are turned off when cleaning.
There were burned out light bulbs as well, which I went to the front desk to exchange.

The front desk help while friendly, displayed a surprising lack of follow through. There were two phones in my room, neither of which worked. I had to make a rather long trek to the front desk in order to report it, and they told me that they had made some changes. I was told to go back to my room and they would check with me (by phone) to see whether it it was working in two minutes, and if not they would send someone to my room to repair it. The phone never worked, of course I received no phone call and there was absolutely no follow through, so I just gave up on it.

So if you like taking chances and can deal with disappointment, this is a great place to stay. You just might luck out.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, check another, it will likely be different - for better or worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGDYI, Manager at Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Extended Stay America Seattle - Renton. It is with great pride that we provide clean, comfortable rooms at affordable rates. However, given the issues you had during your stay, it was with great concern that I read the rest of your account. You have the apologies of my entire staff that we were not able to totally satisfy you.

Our hotel prides itself on exceptional customer service. We know that you have many lodging choices in our area, so we see it as our duty to go the extra mile however we can. Not only is this my personal belief, but it is a guiding principle at our hotel. I have, therefore, reviewed with each staff member the importance of being professional and courteous to every one of our guests, no matter the circumstances.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
16
14
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here one night in January, 2013.

Like the last Extended Stay America I stayed in a few months ago, the bedding needs an upgrade. You could feel and hear the springs in the mattress, and the pillows were far too hard.

Also, the tub wouldn't drain properly (clogged up), and the outlet where the hairdryer is plugged into in the bathroom does not work. But I was able to get a spare hairdryer from the front desk (the one in the bathroom is mounted to the wall) and plug it in elsewhere to use it.

There was also an opened bag of Doritos and jar of opened peanut butter waiting for us in one of the cabinets. It's not cleaning the cabinets if you don't check them ALL! The hotel also has the same insulting internet connection offer to pay more to have them stop throttling back your internet connection that the other ESA hotels seem to have now.

There were also cleanliness issues just about everywhere, but the thing that pissed me off the most was a card on the desk that asked you to come to TripAdvisor and give the hotel a 5 star rating! Attention to anybody who reads this review who runs a hotel:

BEGGING A CUSTOMER FOR A PERFECT RATING ON A RATINGS WEBSITE IS INSULTING AND BORDERLINE UNETHICAL!

It cost this hotel a full star in my rating for the insinuation that I'm going to do their bidding.

I will give the hotel a few plusses where they are due. I like having the stove, microwave, and refrigerator in the room and they seemed to be clean. I also appreciated the bag-and-go breakfast and the water filter on the sink.

But the insulting card asking for a perfect review, the cleanliness issues, and ESA policy of throttling your internet connection speed means I have to rate it as poor.

I used Extended Stay America for years but my last two visits to ESA have shown me how far their standards have fallen, so this is likely my last ESA stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGDYI, Manager at Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent an unacceptable situation like yours from occurring. All rooms are regularly cleaned and disinfected upon a guest's checkout as well as during applicable periods of the stay, then inspected by a manager who determines if it meets our quality standards. Obviously, your experience indicates that our system broke down. In response, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out why and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent two nights there. Rooms are large and clean. Nice place to stay especially if you are staying for multiple nights. The shuttle service provided by the hotel is great! It dropped us off at the mall and picked us up and took us back to the hotel. Good location. Staff is friendly, breakfast is free, "grab & go".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGDYI, Manager at Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The rooms are comfy and you have your own kitchen & bath. The staff are very accomadating and they have a shuttle to take you to the stores or drug store, etc. Plus the continental breakfast is great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGDYI, Manager at Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Seattle - Renton. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Many thanks for your service, concern when I lost my bracelette, and the sheer comodity of you instalation. It has been a pleasure to stay over there for almost a month, with easy access to freeway, shopping areas and the wonderful parking and room charges. Very pleased.

Room Tip: I also stayed at the same company in Kansas City, and now I am in Northern Virginia. Seems great jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGDYI, Manager at Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The pictures and descriptions of this hotel make it seem less than desirable; however, the rooms are large, the price is great, the staff very accommodating, and the location great. By taking their shuttle you're so close to the light rail for transport to downtown Seattle. You can also get transportation to stores, restaurants, etc. The place was great

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGDYI, Manager at Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Seattle - Renton. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for the recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was able to land this hotel for one night on Priceline for only $45. It was an average hotel stay. The room was clean and the TV remote worked. All is good. Make sure you bring some shampoo. Only bar soap was available in the room. Also, there was a hole in the bedspread. The parking lot was ample size and well lit.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the window open get a room on the back side of the hotel (east or north).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGDYI, Manager at Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review of Extended Stay America Seattle - Renton. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with great value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renton
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 11 in Renton
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton
0.7 mi away
Larkspur Landing Renton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#7 of 11 in Renton
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Seattle South/Renton
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton

Address: 1150 Oakesdale Ave SW, Renton, WA 98057 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe Seattle-Renton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Renton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Seattle-Renton Hotel Renton
Renton Extended Stay
Extended Stay Renton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Seattle - Renton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.