We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpful staffs that make it very convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One South Grady Way, Renton, WA 98055 (Formerly Rainier Hotel and Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Renton
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very helpful staffs that make it very convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Staffs are excellent, willing to help genuinely with every aspect of your needs.Eventhough hotel was near airport free shuttle service makes it accessible to anywhere through railway line.The hotel was clean and rooms are large. Walmnart is close by with many restaurants at walking distant. In house restaurant serves good meals. Free Hi speed Wi Fi was great after spending for WiFi in other hotels.
No doubt I will stay there again if I travel to Seattle from Australia.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gruberjc, Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Dear Valued Guest-
We certainly appreciate your valuable feedback and thank you for taking the time to wire this detailed review of our hotel. We strive to recongnize our top performing assoicates and I will make sure to pass along this wonderful review to our staff. We hope to service you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    69
    32
    40
See reviews for
44
46
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010 via mobile

Took the hotel van over an hour to pick us up from Clay Lacy Aviation at Boeing field -- and then he wanted to pick up passengers at SeaTac before dropping us at the hotel. Rooms are old and In need of refurbishment. Old tube tv, small rooms, old worn furniture. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Was ok, we were firstly given an old room that was really terrible and requested a different room that wasn't overlooking air-con ducts. The 2nd room was...ok, old style room with old tv and decor ect but was clean.
The reception staff were really lovely and the bonus was the restaurant attached to the hotel "the yankee grill" and that the hotel bus takes you were you need to go in regards to the airport or train/bus station. Is a 30min drive to the city of Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on three different months for a culmination of 10 days.

Pros:
-Nice lobby area and recently renovated common area with soft plush carpet
-Complimentary WiFi
-Shuttle service to airport or to light rail transportation taking you to downtown Seattle
-Nice Excercise area with LCD TV's

Cons:
-Very slow WiFi (cannot adquately stream Netflix movies)
-Very dirty ceiling around the air ducts in the room
-Wallpaper peeling at the seams in multiple places
-Old tube TV's, and no inputs to connect a portable DVD player
-Pool and hot tub are outside (serioiusly... in Seattle...?)
-Some noise carry between rooms and fairly loud road noise

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Although, the pillows left something to be desired… the people at this hotel make all of the difference. A special shout out to Daniele, who not only shared sage advise regarding using the Light Rail but personally drove me to the station as the “regular” shuttle was running behind schedule. Her extra effort and advice took the hassle out of going downtown (Seattle) for a night on the town. The rest of the staff was also very upbeat and professional. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel also a big plus.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gruberjc, Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Dear Guest- Thank so much for taking the time to write a positive comment about our customer service. Our staff is always striving to deliver exceptional customer service. I shared this with Danielle, and she was extremely excited and can't wait to see you again. We sincerely value your time with us! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Here's the problem with being well located -- ten minutes from SeaTac Airport -- twenty minutes from the SuperMall -- 30 minutes from both downtown Tacoma and downtown Seattle. To make this possible, you have to have highways. We were at the crossing point of the 405 and the West Valley Freeway. It *did* get noisy -- but that's what you trade for the convenience.

Good highway access brought in many one-night travelers. And then there were the extra small rooms for guests who don't plan to stay long. I had one of the smaller rooms for three days, and to be honest, it was beginning to close in on me near the end of my visit. My room also looked like it had recently been refreshed with new carpets, wall coverings and fixtures. That made a *big* difference for me.

In any case, I took a few photos of my room. Thet should be attached.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gruberjc, Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us! It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are experiencing satisfaction at our hotel as intended by management and staff. I am happy to report that we have renovated our lobby, some guest rooms and some amenities. Convenience is definetly important to all guests, and proud to say we are very conveniently located here in Renton. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Seattle/Renton for two nights, April 30th-May2 with my husband and 6 year old son. The hotel was easy to find and is right off I-405 and Highway 167. Check-in was easy and fast. The lady at the front desk who checked us in was really nice and asked if we wanted a room with two beds or one and also non-smoking/smoking. I told her I wanted two beds and non-smoking. She said no problem. The only room available was on the first floor. The other rooms with two beds were on the second floor, but she warned me that although those rooms were non-smoking, those rooms were previously smoking rooms that had been refreshed. So, I opted for the 1st floor room that she offered. There was ample free parking.

Our room was located near the elevator, so we could hear the elevator operating throughout the night. The room itself was spacious and clean. Our room had a shower only (no tub). There was a nice sized closet, small desk, and a couch with several lamps around the room. The door didn't seal well, so we could hear a lot of noise from the hallway and light also came him through the cracks in the door. The walls are thin and we could hear neighbors next door. Also, we could hear the person upstairs walking around. Probably kids, since it seemed like they were running around and we could hear thuds whenever one of them got up and walked around.

As for the shower, it was hard to find a warm temperature and pressure. It was either too hot or too cold. At least the bathroom was spacious. Shampoo and body lotion and soap were provided.

My husband said the wireless used in the room was old and super slow!! Our wireless at home is 40x faster!! The heater was loud and we decided not to use it at night. Our room faced the 405 freeway, so we could hear cars go by all night. But, it was pretty constant so it wasn't too bad.

Nearby the hotel, there are a number of car dealerships, Walmart, Popeye's, Chevron Gas, Wells Fargo, Applebee's, McDonalds, and a few Asian restaurants (Thai and Vietnamese). There is also an Uwajimaya (Asian Grocery Store) which we loved!

Overall, we had an average stay at this hotel. We were lucky to get the room through Priceline for a really great price ($42/night) because I would have been disappointed to pay full price. But, at that rate, I really can't complain.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gruberjc, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Dear Guest- Thank you for helpful review. It looks like you had a lot of positive things to say about our hotel and provided us with some things we need to work on. We grately appreicate that. We just recently upgraded our internet speed. It's much faster. I apologize the noise from other guests, we will definitely arrange more frequent "walk arounds" in the entire building to ensure our guests are not distrubed. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: One South Grady Way, Renton, WA 98055 (Formerly Rainier Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Renton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Renton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located convenient to Sea-Tac Airport, Bellvue, and downtown Seattle. Experienced and friendly staff eager to assist in making your stay at the Rainier Hotel and Conference Center one to remember. The Yankee Grill is located off the lobby, and is one of the areas best dining venues; serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner with a variety of handmade, delicious, creations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seattle-Renton Hotel Renton
Holiday Inn Renton
Renton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.