We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 E Valley Road, Renton, WA 98055 (Formerly Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Orem, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I rented a king room on the second floor for 2 nights during the week. I was extremely happy with this hotel. Check-in (I had reservations through choicehotels.com) was a breeze and the staff was very friendly. I had a problem with the internet in my room the first night, and it was resolved within minutes. I had questions about getting around in Seattle and the front desk staff was VERY helpful. The room was clean and all rooms are no-smoking. The fridge was bigger than is usual in hotel rooms, the microwave and TV a little smaller. The room was not quite big enough to play handball in, but with higher ceilings, a badminton game might not have been out of the question. I mean to say it was a nice-sized room. The breakfast is what made this such a deal. On the menu (numbers in parentheses are the different varieties of the items): Muffins (2), bread (2), bagels (1), cereal (3), oatmeal (4), yogurt (3), fresh fruit (lots), juice (2), milk (2!), coffee (2), hot chocolate, tea (2), waffles (including syrup or strawberries & whipped cream), scrambled eggs and sausage links. You can save $6-10 per person EASY just on breakfast. It's hard to beat!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    42
    30
    16
    9
See reviews for
50
44
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Stayed here 2 nights the end of May. Staff was very friendly. Check in was fine but when got to room it wasn't clean. Front desk quickly change me to a different room. Internet in lobby was good. Room on small side but wasn't in town to spend time in room. Mall close by. Easy access to highways. One big complaint was noise. People upstairs running around room at 2AM. Then people in room next to me slamming doors from 3AM to 4AM for 2 days in a row. Had to run air at full blast to drown out noise. Wish people would be more considerate of others. Breakfast ok. Want to say I would stay here again but have stayed in other Renton hotels that I found to be better. Price is why I decided to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro ATL, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Clarion while we toured Seattle for vacation. We found the staff to be very helpful with one staff member actually hand picking brochures that were helpful in planning our excursions for the day. One nice surprise at check in was that our room rate actually went down and they gave us the lower rate. The free breakfast was great each morning! We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Within walking distance to Ikea, which is why we were in Renton. Rooms had frig, micro, cable, good hot shower.
My complaint is with the airport shuttle service. We had a verbal agreement to use the airport shuttle before we booked our stay. After staying at the hotel for 4 nights we attempted to make a reservation for 0400 and were told the shuttle didn't run at that time. We requested a taxi voucher, and we were flatly told no. We requested a taxi to be arranged for the next morning and we were told the fair would be about $17-$18. The "taxi" arrived 5 minutes late and was just someone's car. No visible taxi license, no meter, just a car. After arriving at the airport the driver told us the fair was $27 using the "extra person" rationale. We were very displeased with the service from the hotel staff person because of lack of service and incorrect information. We were left with no other option since we had to get to the airport on time.
Lessons learned - ask what times the shuttles run and either verify the taxi is from a reputable service, or call your own.
I would recommend this hotel to someone ONLY if they are shopping at Ikea.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Stayed here the night before leaving to Mexico for a week. Did the park and fly package...I believe around $120 with all taxes and that stuff.

The hotel was very easy to find...with directions off Google of course. Check in was quick, and done with a smile on everyones face...no problems at all.

Room was not nearly as small as I expected from what some others have written on here. No....the rooms are not as big as the Hilton...but then again, it wasn't $250 a night either, okay? Bed was very comfortable, was actually the best night of sleep I have had since or before the trip in a long time. Very quiet rooms.

Bathroom had everything you needed, coffee and maker also supplied. Breakfast was okay...wasn't as impressed as many are on here. The sausage I ate....I tasted all day long!! French toast was very rubbery. Bagels were very good, eggs were so-so. I didn't book this place for the free breakfast, so I am not complaining at all. Just wasn't the greatest food I have ever had in a hotel is all.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. It more than met our needs. Shuttle service is only every hour, but we were just fine with that as well. Shuttle drivers were awesome....especially the sweetheart from Mexico!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

The Clarion Renton was better than all of our expectations. We stayed in a basic King bed room that included a mini-fridge and microwave. Space in the room was a little tight, but you can opt for a larger room that adds a seating area. The bathroom looked brand new with a very clean tub/shower enclosure and a curved shower rod. The flat screen tv/dvd player is nice with a ton of channels.

The continental breakfast is very good - eggs, sausage, waffles plus all of the standard cold items. Wi-Fi was a little weak - but we were on the 4th floor and it may be better closer to the lobby/1st floor.

The staff was very helpful and welcoming. Something in my wallet or cell phone demagnetized our room key and they were always more than happy to reprogram the key with a smile.

We did a lot of sightseeing during our week in town and found the hotel to be within 30 to 45 minutes of everything we did. While it is a ways south of downtown Seattle, its immediate proximity to the highway makes for a quick commute. There is plenty of fast food options within a mile and a nice steakhouse next door.

Considering we paid a 1 Star price (half off plus another 10% off) - we were more than happy with the Clarion Renton, its amenities and staff. We will definitely check rates at this hotel first on our next trip to the emerald city.

  • Liked — Very clean and the staff was always willing to help
  • Disliked — touchy Wi-Fi, but they also offer two PCs int he lobby with free internet access and printers
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I did quite a lot of research on this and other travel sites before deciding to try the Clarion in Renton, Washington. The nightly rate was hard to beat in the Seattle market this Saturday night.

My family thought that the beds were comfortable, the shower was hot with good water pressure, the air conditioner worked well, the LCD flat screen was better than most hotels we've stayed in, the front desk was able to supply a forgotten toothbrush and paste without any issue.

The check-in and out was smooth, and best of all, ALL of the staff we dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful.

You really couldn't ask for a better hotel stay.....unless next time the Clarion staff can make the Mariners winners in their game.

We were very happy with our time at the Renton Clarion.

  • Liked — VERY CLEAN
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 3700 E Valley Road, Renton, WA 98055 (Formerly Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Renton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® is ideally located just minutes from many Seattle attractions and local points of interest. This Renton, WA hotel is close to the Valley Medical Center, The Museum of Flight, Pacific Raceways racetrack, downtown Seattle, the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (also known as the Sea-Tac Airport) and the Space Needle building, which offers spectacular views from its observation deck 520 feet above the city.Spend a relaxing afternoon watching a baseball game at nearby Safeco Field ballpark, home of the Seattle Mariners. The entire family will enjoy miniature golf, go-karts, bumper boats, laser tag and much more at the Family Fun Center, located just one mile from the hotel. Spend the day shopping at Westfield Southcenter mall, which features more than 200 stores and 20 restaurants, located just three miles from the hotel.The surrounding area offers something for everyone, with a variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and outdoor recreation, including golfing, fishing, boating and skiing. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges can be found in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Renton
Renton Clarion
Clarion Renton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.