We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 E Valley Road, Renton, WA 98055 (Formerly Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and took advantage of their parking and shuttle to the airport. The staff was extremely kind and the place was sparkling clean! The bed was very comfortable and there were five pillows to choose from to make it a comfortable night. Since we were leaving before breakfast was served, they had breakfast made up for us to take with to the airport. The shuttle time was approx 15-20 mins and was ver prompt in picking us up after our trip. We felt safe leaving our car there as they have 360 degree cameras of their lots.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionrentongm, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words in regards to our hotel and staff. I'm happy to hear you had a good experience and felt safe parking your car. We do have camera's that view the entire parking area and we also have a security company that monitors our parking lot through out the night. We understand the need for breakfast before 6am and are happy to take a breakfast order in the evening and have it ready "to go" for the morning. Especially before a flight. We are starting the process of renovations and are making a lot of updates to our hotel. I invited you back next time you are in need of lodging in the Renton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    42
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
47
41
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel needs an overhaul! Rooms are tired, small when compared to other hotels. Fitness center is closed, no estimate when it will reopen. Room and bath were clean. Halls need more light. The lobby is a good indicator of the overall condition of the hotel. Property will not refund if you are unhappy andwant to checkout early.

Room Tip: Skip this hotel ,pay a little more and stay at a better hotel! Rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionrentongm, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about us on Trip Advisor. Our fitness room in out of order due to renovations. We are re-doing the flooring, painting and installing new equipment. The Hotel has began the process of renovating. The lobby of the Hotel is getting a compete remodel. We are replacing the carpet with all tile, the front desk area is getting a complete redo and will have new furniture. The entire Hotel is getting new carpeting. All guest rooms are getting new bedding, chairs, and curtains. We are re-tiling all of our guest room bathrooms. We are making a lot of improvements to our Hotel and we are excited. I apologize we were not able to meet your expectations and I invite you back once our renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We always fly out of Seattle and stay at the Holiday Inn Renton where we leave our car for the duration of our stay. This time when we were going away the price had gone up a bit. Being that there was 3 of us couples we thought this time maybe we should try a different hotel with a little cheaper of a price. Well you definitely get what you pay for, we so appreciate the Holiday Inn Renton now and will never think of staying anywhere else. This Clarion is old, not clean feeling and the front desk staff didn't have a clue. All our rooms were far apart and they couldn't readjust the rate when we only needed parking for 2 vehicles opposed to 3. You had to reserve the shuttle in the morning and we couldn't get the time we wanted because they only have one van and it was full. We ended up taking alternative transportation in order to make our flight in the morning. When we returned to Seattle and called for the shuttle it couldn't come to get us because the shuttle driver called in sick. We had to get a cab for which the hotel had to reimburse us for. General rule, you get what you pay for, don't cheap out like we did and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionrentongm, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently stayed here for four nights while visiting our son and daughter-in-law in Seattle. It was close to another hotel where we'd stayed in June, but that one did not have the type of room we needed available, so we chose this one instead.

While the room was serviceable for our needs with a microwave and refrigerator, the facility had a guest laundry, a good breakfast, etc., there were some issues which make me question whether we'd stay here again. For a king room, the room was quite small and had a claustrophobic feeling. Since we did not spend a lot of time there, this was not a major factor. What I really had to question was the cleanliness of the room. Though the room "looked" clean for the most part, the club/easy chair in the room was of a light upholstery and was filthy. The arms were literally black at the ends on top from a lot of use apparently, and there were other stains as well. I am one who likes a good easy chair in which to read, but I was loathe to even sit in this one, though I did, for lack of anything else. I'm sure that housekeeping must move this chair every day to vacuum,( or maybe not ?), so how could they not notice how dirty this chair is? There were also a few stains on the carpeting as mentioned by another reviewer. If these things are allowed to exist, what is not cleaned in the room that we can't readily see? Things like this make the cleanliness of the whole room suspect to me. I think assurance of cleanliness is probably the first requirement of most guests in a hotel. While I know it's difficult to keep things in impeccable shape with so many people in and out, it seems to me it's a requirement if the establishment wants repeat business.

There were good things about this place, its location for us, proximity of the breakfast room to our room, a laundry we could use, good free parking, a decent rate as Seattle area hotels go, etc. I believe it also has shuttle service to the airport, though that is not something we used, so I can't speak to the efficiency of that. But I'd have to think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionrentongm, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding room on your recent visit. We are starting renovations next month. We will be redoing our lobby. Our fitness room is getting a complete makeover and we are putting in new equipment. The carpeting is getting replaced throughout the entire hotel. All of our rooms are getting new bedding and new chairs. We are also putting in tiling in the surrounds of our showers. We have a few rooms with the chairs you have described. Housekeeping does clean the chairs, but these particular chairs that we are replacing are difficult to clean and end up leaving water stains. We are excited about the improvements we are making here at the Clarion Hotel.
Our Hotel has different room types. We do have larger King rooms available and I have made it a point to have our front desk better offer our options. We also have kitchen suites available and Jacuzzi Suites.
Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Renton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way in, and one night on our way out of the Seattle area. While the room is not large (two people, two suitcases about max), it is clean, well-equipped and quiet. Great breakfast is included. However, the best feature of all was their shuttle service. The hotel is a few miles away from the Seattle Airport but they pick you up promptly. They also took us to, and picked us up from, the local mall. Later they delivered us to the light rail station, which goes directly to downtown Seattle for a few bucks. This was a HUGE money saver over taxis, etc. Great people, highly recommended. Only suggestion would be a full-size toilet and a room safe. Internet was fast and free.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionrentongm, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. I also want to invite you back. We do have a variety of rooms. It sounds like you stayed in a standard king room, we also have larger king rooms available, kitchen suites, and Jacuzzi suites. We do have a safe available upon request to hold onto your valuable items. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, your comments are greatly appreciated by our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently stayed at this motel while visiting Seattle. We were very happy with our choice. the motel was clean and kept up, and the staff was friendly and quite helpful. My wife has mobility problems, and they found us a room closer to the lobby. the breakfast was a typical choice hotels meals, but there was a full time attendant there to make sure everything was kept supplied. We would definitely stay at this motel again, it ever in the Seattle area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionrentongm, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor. I am glad we were able to accommodate your needs and happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come visit us again next time you are in the Renton area and are in need of lodging. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was the 3rd night on our road trip from Colorado to BC and back. We stayed hear because 1) it was the closest we could get to Seattle without spending an arm & leg. 2) it was one of the only places available on Saturday, Labor day weekend. 3) and we usually try to stay in Choice Hotels when possible for the points. The desk clerk must have been having a bad day, and didn't seem happy to see us, but that was about the only negative I can think of. The room was roomy and clean, with fridge, coffee, and microwave. The breakfast was decent ... typical Choice Hotel round egg things, sausage, waffles, and the rest. Overall a nice quick stay. We've found Clarion to be about 1 step above Comfort Inns, 2 steps above Sleep Inn, and 3 steps above Quality Inns in our recent travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionrentongm, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I'm sorry you had a negative experience with our front desk agent when you checked in. We strive on our high level guest service and I am disappointed you did not experience that. Thank you for the comment it helps me get certain issues addressed. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and thank you for being a loyal guest of Choice Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 3700 E Valley Road, Renton, WA 98055 (Formerly Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Renton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® is ideally located just minutes from many Seattle attractions and local points of interest. This Renton, WA hotel is close to the Valley Medical Center, The Museum of Flight, Pacific Raceways racetrack, downtown Seattle, the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (also known as the Sea-Tac Airport) and the Space Needle building, which offers spectacular views from its observation deck 520 feet above the city.Spend a relaxing afternoon watching a baseball game at nearby Safeco Field ballpark, home of the Seattle Mariners. The entire family will enjoy miniature golf, go-karts, bumper boats, laser tag and much more at the Family Fun Center, located just one mile from the hotel. Spend the day shopping at Westfield Southcenter mall, which features more than 200 stores and 20 restaurants, located just three miles from the hotel.The surrounding area offers something for everyone, with a variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and outdoor recreation, including golfing, fishing, boating and skiing. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges can be found in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Renton
Renton Clarion
Clarion Renton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.