We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosmetically nice, funtionally difficult” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 E Valley Road, Renton, WA 98055 (Formerly Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Mpls, MN
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Cosmetically nice, funtionally difficult”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Nice look, convienent location, has a very nice restaurant next to it.

But very small room, making everything difficult. Poor internet speed, 25 TV Channels. I have alot more complaints then complements.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionRenton, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2008
Dear Valued Guest:

The Clarion Hotel is extremely sorry for your unpleasant stay. We appreciate the feedback and take it into serious consideration for making the hotel a better place to stay. We can understand the frustrations with the Internet speeds and the TV.

We have listened to your suggestions and I wanted to inform you that the hotel will be changing their TV service provider on 8/25/08 and will have 52 channels instead of the 25. The hotel has also increased the number of access points in the hotel so that each room will have a stronger signal and increased speeds.

The Clarion Hotel hopes that you will consider staying with us the next time you come into the area.

Cheers!

Regards,
MGMT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    42
    30
    16
    9
See reviews for
50
44
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We arrived at the Clarion in Renton at approximately 12:30am after a long, sleepless and delayed flight from the East Coast. We had arrived so late that the car rental company had closed. Thank goodness the hotel had a shuttle. The shuttle driver was very nice and patient while I installed our son's car seat for the 20 minute ride from the airport. We had originally reserved this room with Choice Hotels points earned from previous stays with this chain. However, upon check-in the desk clerk told me that the Day Manager told him we didnt have enough points. It was frustrating, but finally a call to Choice Hotels customer service set it right. The next morning, the day manager was apologetic and provided confirmation of our free stay.

The room itself was nice, extremely clean and spacious, even with a portable crib set-up in the corner. We were pleased to see a large sink outside of the bathroom with plenty of counter space to wash bottles ! A fridge in the room was also a plus ! The room was also suprisingly quite, despite being right near a major highway.

Breakfast the next morning was nice, though I didnt get to enjoy it, as I had to take the shuttle back to the airport to pick up our rental car !!

Overall a nice, clean place to crash when you need to be near Sea-Tac !! Just be careful at check-in !!

  • Liked — Hotel/Airport Shuttle
  • Disliked — Check-in hassles.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Beautifully renovated stayed here when it was the Best Value.

Rates were reasonable and the beds were very comfortable to sleep in.

Hotel employees knowledgable of area and were able to help with all my questions.

Breakfast in the morning was good as well.

  • Liked — Comfort, recently renovated
  • Disliked — every thing was great
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

We ended up here after the airline caused us to miss our connecting flight and comped us a room. Staff seemed fairly friendly on check-in. The rooms/hotel have recently been remodeled and everything was quite clean. Only problem was that they didn't ask if we wanted a nonsmoking room. We arrived in the room and could smell the faint (but definite) odor of cigarette smoke and we called the front desk to see if we could change to a nonsmoking room. We were told that there were none available, which we found pretty hard to believe since the hotel parking lot was deserted and the only people checking in were a few others who had been on the same delayed flight. Overall - a decent cheap motel, but I was a little turned off about the smoking room issue since I had the impression our request was just being brushed aside so they didn't have to deal with changing our room.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionRenton, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2008
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the concerns you had regarding your check in process and the condition of you room. Entering a smoking room as a non-smoker can be very difficult to adjust to and have a pleasant nights rest.

The hotel has gone through new management and has converted the hotel to a 100% non-smoking hotel. The management strictly enforces this and any room that has been smoked in is taken out of inventory, aired out, and goes through a process of deep cleaning to make sure the next guest doesn't experience what you have.

I hope in the near future, you will consider us again the next time you come into the area. We have taken steps to improve the hotel's service, amenities and most of all guest satisfcation.

Regards,
MGMT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 3700 E Valley Road, Renton, WA 98055 (Formerly Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Renton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® is ideally located just minutes from many Seattle attractions and local points of interest. This Renton, WA hotel is close to the Valley Medical Center, The Museum of Flight, Pacific Raceways racetrack, downtown Seattle, the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (also known as the Sea-Tac Airport) and the Space Needle building, which offers spectacular views from its observation deck 520 feet above the city.Spend a relaxing afternoon watching a baseball game at nearby Safeco Field ballpark, home of the Seattle Mariners. The entire family will enjoy miniature golf, go-karts, bumper boats, laser tag and much more at the Family Fun Center, located just one mile from the hotel. Spend the day shopping at Westfield Southcenter mall, which features more than 200 stores and 20 restaurants, located just three miles from the hotel.The surrounding area offers something for everyone, with a variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and outdoor recreation, including golfing, fishing, boating and skiing. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges can be found in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Renton
Renton Clarion
Clarion Renton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.