We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique atmosphere, dangerously good margaritas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Matador

The Matador
7824 Leary Way NE, Redmond, WA 98052
425-883-2855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 213 Restaurants in Redmond
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: The Matador serves fresh Tex-Mex cuisine and premium tequilas in an inviting, social atmosphere with amber lighting and unique, hacienda-inspired decor.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere, dangerously good margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This place is beautiful, dark and atmospheric with lots of brick, amber lighting, and trendy peeling paint. It was packed with a wait on a Wednesday night, so we sat a the bar. A dangerous place when the margaritas are as good as these are. Nice and tart, not syrupy, very fresh tasting. I expected better food, it was passable, but not up to what the drinks and design of the place seemed to promise. Our hipster bartender wasn't the most attentive, you shouldn't have to flag him down when you're sitting right in front him, but then again, it was worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    39
    14
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is an adults-only restaurant and bar. We tried going with our infant son sleeping in a carrier (completely quiet and sleeping) and were turned away at the door even for the restaurant. We returned another time for happy hour with friends. Good deals on tacos, nachos, appetizers, and drinks at happy hour. Pork tacos al pastor are braised and tender, and look for daily specials inserted in the menu. Service just average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Low quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I came here with some friends for happy hour after the usual Woodinville winery tour. We knew we wanted a bit of grease to soak up the alcohol, but not as much as the Matador dealt! The chips were covered with grease and the chicken quesadilla barely had any chicken.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Mexican Food Alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I have wanted to try this restaurant based on recommendations. Verdict: clever, trendy non-traditional menu, fair pricing, average service (at bar), average serving size. No flavor rice, great black beans, house made chorizo tacos terrific. I wanted to see what they would do with green peppers but no luck. Off-street parking. Better Mexican food in Seattle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duvall
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I really like the bar, and the wait people are awesome. Food isn't as awesome as I was hoping, but will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Matador also viewed

 

Been to The Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Matador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.