We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Grace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugo's Restaurant

Hugo's Restaurant
8110 164th Ave. N.E, Redmond, WA 98052
(425) 222-7221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 218 Restaurants in Redmond
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Organic, Vegetarian, Fusion, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are located on the Hiway 202 from Redmond to Woodinville in charming house built around 1910. Our parking lot is cozy, but there is street parking available. We have a large beautiful deck that offers a wonderful ambiance for outdoor dining.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much Grace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Graces 5 is quite a find - a restaurant with a full spectrum menu - carnivore, vegetarian & vegan - the only place I'm aware of that can feed a complete range of tastes in one place - and have everyone leave happy !! :-)

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Healthy Eating in Redmond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have eaten at this place several times and after each visit I have come away with a more positive impression. The first two times were soon after the restaurant opened. It seemed that they were searching for an identity because the menu changed within a matter of a few days. In fact, the second evening I was there the chef had quit that afternoon and they were scrambling to figure out how to make things work. Since then there is more consistency and the quality of the food and service has risen dramatically. Healthy eating and sustainable food is its theme. The juice bar alone makes it unique as a fine dining restaurant. Though the menu was somewhat limited in its selections at first, I have noticed that the offerings are now broader and more diverse. The food is quite delicious. I especially appreciate how serious the ownership and wait staff are about nutritious eating: gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, and low sugar in their recipes. It is situated in a charming, classic craftsman style house along 164th Avenue in downtown Redmond, which if you are not careful you will pass by. Parking in the rear is limited, but manageable nearby; definitely worth the effort to check this place out. I am recommending Graces 5 to my friends, especially those who have certain food allergies.


Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another wonderful experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Since our initial visit in 2011 they have received their wine and beer license and expanded their offerings to include several gluten free beers. We made reservations through OpenTable, and arrived promptly on time. Service was a little slow as the seating filled to capacity within about 10 minutes of our arrival, including one extremely large group. That said, the food was excellent, portion sizes were on par with most better dining places (i.e. the portions were appropriate not giant).

The atmosphere was very pleasant and comfortable and we will be returning again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“I should have stuck with a coffee shop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Terrible waste of money, I received an over priced plate and little portions.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A real gem that caters to a wide range...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I am delighted to find this new restaurant in my home town. Lovely atmosphere, impeccable service, and a refreshing focus on serving healthy, real food.

I eat paleo (meat and veg) and one of my colleagues is a raw vegan. How amazing to find a restaurant that specifically caters to both of us! I had the tenderloin in a port & ginger reduction--one of the best entrees I've ever eaten. My colleague had raw zucchini noodles. The two other colleagues who eat conventionally also loved their meals.

The service was fabulous...attentive without being intrusive. The waitress said twice "We'll do whatever you need..." and clearly meant it.

This might be just about the most positive review I've written on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled it's a review for somewhere I can visit frequently.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hugo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.