We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bai Tong

Bai Tong
14804 NE 24th St, Redmond, WA 98052
425-747-8424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 213 Restaurants in Redmond
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really pleasantly surprised with this restaurant - it's great inside, the staff are friendly, and the food is very good; far closer to "european" thai food than i was expecting, and a very good rpice too. the Red curry is just as good as my local thai back home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

They give you a scale from 1-5 for spicy. THREE IS ALREADY PRETTY SPICY, lemme tell ya!

*pad thai = pretty good, what you might expect from pad thai. we had the tofu but that was kinda just like fried, bland turd. there was a lot of it, but i think it was just that it broke up a lot into little pieces.
*pa nang curry = had it with prawns, thick with coconut sauce but overall kinda spicy (ordered it as a 3). we forgot to order rice with it, but the bread we had at home with it wasn't a bad addition
*crab fried rice = pretty flavorful, not bad. eggy texture, kinda chewy, pretty typical fried rice
*spicy eggplant = really saucy and oily. Would've been better with some more plain rice instead of the crab fried rice though
*thai salad = DISAPPOINTING. maybe it's because we ordered out but all it was was some lettuce, dry tomato slices, boiled egg with some SUPER oily, disgustingly thick peanut sauce-like dressing. *shivers*

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Acceptable Thai, quick lunch, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was better than expected for a business lunch. We had a party of 12 and they were orderly, accurate and tasty. Phad Tai noodles were average but may of the other diners at our table were quite satisfied. Might make a nice date night or evening dinner because the atmosphere inside is a notch above many Thai restaurants in Puget Sound.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great menu and execution sets Bai Tong apart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Bai Tong is our favorite Thai restaurant in the Seattle area. The atmosphere is sleek and sophisticated; always very busy.The menu is extensive, with many unusual dishes not seen in many Thai restaurants. There are great descriptions of the dishes to help with diners' selections, as well as explanations of the 5 star scale of spiciness (based on 1/5 tablespoon increments of Thai chili) and the proper use of the fork and spoon in traditional Thai dining.

Our party of 4 shared two appetizers, an ample bowl of flavorful tam ka gai soup and two entrees and had lots left over to take home. Everything was great and we'll be sure to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The best crispy garlic chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love this restaurant. Tom Ka Gai is fabulous! Beautiful restaurant with a nice bar. They even have a private room to book for small parties. It can get busy, but it is worth the wait.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bai Tong also viewed

 

Been to Bai Tong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bai Tong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.