We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THis could be so much better!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cave B Estate Winery & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cave B Estate Winery & Resort to your Saves list
Cave B Estate Winery & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   344 Silica Road NW, Quincy, WA 98848   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Cochrane, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“THis could be so much better!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My son & I made the trip for a concert July20. We were so excited at the idea of sleeping in a yurt, and figured that for almost $400 US we were in for a treat. WRONG! While the concept is cool, the execution of this concept is poor. I nearly took out the bottom of my car trying to park by Yurt 13. The path to the yurt was uneven. The yurt itself was ok, dull, brown curtains with holes in them, bed skirt that was dragging on some spots, uneven all 'round(ok big deal? Poor presentation) shower curtain that did nothing to keep the water in, one little bar of soap, one shampoo & some lotionl...thats it...no bathmat to catch all the water running everywhere, single ply toilet paper (again big deal? For the price , yes!) fan that sounded like a jet engine...weird plywood counter in "kitchen area" ,blind on door had to be rolled up manually as the spring mechanism was long gone. AS mentioned in another review, paths all over are poorly marked.
Reception was fine, map of grounds needs some work, why not mark the path to the concert venue so we don't have to keep asking? Dining room...I had a reservation, we were seated and then we sat...and sat...and sat while wait staff went around almost avoiding making eye contact. were we not dressed well enough?? It was 37 degrees outside, at least a glass of water would have helped. I FINALLY flagged someone down after 1o, yes 10 minutes, got some water & then we got some attention. Meal was ok...dessert was lavender cheesecake that cost $12,as much as one of the lunch entrees...really????? So was i impressed? not really, room is very noisy, service was good once we actually got some.
Path to the concert needs to be better marked and some low level lighting would be nice, was a bit scary trying to get home, luckily my son had a flashlight on his phone.
Back to the uneven ground...as I was very carefully backing my car out to leave, someone not far from us was not so lucky and hit a main water valve causing a huge "geyser" shooting 20 ft in the air, which I am sure resulted in no water for the place for the day. If pipes are that exposed, perhaps this needs to be re-thought.
All in all, this place has HUGE potential, but for the money I was really disappointed. The only upside is I was able to park my car & walk to the concert & not have to deal with the rodeo I saw of everyone trying to leave after the show. Was that convenience worth $400? I just wish the yurt was a little nicer, at least no holes in the curtains etc. I would consider coming back but would certainly mention when I re-booked that I was expecting a bit more the next time. If it were not for the air conditioner, we would have fried in the yurt & would have heard all the noise from our neighbours.
I hope the owners take all of the comments on this site into consideration...we all seem to be saying the same thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    88
    45
    30
    17
See reviews for
40
224
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The idea for this place is fantastic, but it will take some work to get it up to speed. the setting is fabulous and the architecture is stunning. We arrived early and upon first glance it looked great. We were told our room would be ready in an hour and they would call us. 3-1/2 hours later it was ready but we had to check in every half hour for an update and there is nothing to do to pass the time. We went straight to the pool where the staff was busy on their cell phones while plastic cups were piling up along with the used towels. The room had beige carpet which was terribly stained, which made the place feel dirty. There is also a need to have someone do basic grounds maintenance. There are weeds along the trails, cracked cement along stairs and poor lighting and signage. The restaurant was decent, we had the dinner with wine pairing which was lovely. We were hoping it might be a great place for our daughter's wedding, but that isn't doing to happen unless there are some major changes in management. I hope they fixit up, it could be spectacular.

Room Tip: Be cliff houses are nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Cave B. The views and the architecture are spectacular, and we above all are acutely aware that its full potential has not been realized. We are working on it! Check out is 12 noon and check in is at 4 pm. Many of our guests want to stay to the very last minute, which has kept housekeeping furiously working to cover the 50 acres upon which the lodging uits sit and get the rooms ready for incoming guests. As you know Cave B Inn is situated midst acres of working vineyards and orchards, with landscaping purposefuly allowed to be as indigenous as possible with sagebrush taking center stage. Most of the land upon which Cave B sits was virgin land until very recently, and with the introduction of irrigation water to the scene, every viable weed seed has taken the opportunity to come to life. It is a challenge to keep them in check, but we are gaining on them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at Cave B Inn...Our bill was over $2,500. It was such a disappointment. They could not be blessed with a more magnificent location, and the architecture and vibe is all promising upon entering. Sadly, there is no "care", "class" or sophistication to the operation of this resort, and it is evident at every turn. The desk staff is "matter-of-fact" and helpful almost as a favor...but ill-equipped to help. Several Valet Parking signs; no valet parking. A pail of cigarette butts at the front door stayed overflowing and un-emptied all weekend, as did several used wineglasses strewn about. A non-working phone in our room was not fixed because "the maintenance staff is not on property." The restaurant is fine, but nothing about it is on par with the prices.

The rooms are a complete disaster. We rented three and saw a fourth. The floorplans are excellent; the condition is poor at best. Old and stained/chipped furniture, dirty (disgusting) floors and rugs, minimal amenities including only liquid soap attached to the wall (even above the tub,) missing lightbulbs, missing or broken window shades...and these are the most expensive rooms (Cliffehouse and Cavern.) Housekeeping service is only upon request, and it shows. Lighting is poor, signage is poor...This is a huge missed opportunity because of the magnificent location.

Hours prior to a concert next door at The Gorge (a natural AND man-made wonder) the Lobby of Cave B is jammed with concert-goers drinking, eating and littering wall-to-wall. The ambience is a little like a bus station and the lack of any attention to the hotel guests over the transients as aggravating. The hotel seems to encourage the campsite users so that a small, seemingly elegant vacation site becomes a free, crowded public gathering place.

We will not return to the Cave B Inn unless dramatic changes are made. Based on its breathtaking location and wonderful layout, this has the potential to be a San Ysidro Ranch or at a more reasonable price point, Bernardus Lodge in Carmel Valley. Now it is simply a very expensive trailer park in feel and intention. We were so disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms are all well-designed and well-located. The lack of basic cleanliness and upkeep is univer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would very much like to talk with you to find out which rooms you stayed in so that we can thoroughly inspect those rooms. It is not clear from your review where you stayed.. Most of the rooms have been recently renovated so it is quite distressing to hear the kinds of things you mentioned in your review. I would also like to learn more in detail any customer service issues you may have had so those examples can be used to train our young staff. Please call the Inn and ask for me.

If Valet parking is requested, valet parking is given. We have found that most guests would prefer to park their own auto as close as possible to their room, should they need their auto for any reason during their stay. Our guest parking lot, where valet autos are parked, is quite some distance from the rooms.

Concert weekends are different than normal weekends. it was a particularly hot weekend this past weekend and there were extra folks seeking some reprieve from the sun and heat. Inasmuch as the concert started at 7 pm, and most Cave B Inn guests are checking in at or after the stated4 pm check in time, there was rather a crush of persons in the lobby for a period of time. This is certainly not what one can normally expect when visiting Cave B.

I look forward to discussing these matters with you more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Cave B Winery and Estate is a working vineyard/spa/inn on over 100 acres, near the Columbia River. The views are gorgeous, as is the property. But, improvement is needed. We arrived around 4pm to check in to our Yurt. The desk staff was rather indifferent - just gave us our key and a map. No info about the restaurant or breakfast, or the tasting room. Our yurt had some trash in it - papers on the floor and strings from a mop. There was also trash right outside - plastic forks and paper towels. There are windows in the yurt, which have coverings, except for the one that faced our neighbor. The curtain was a good 3 inches short of covering the window - and it looks right into the main room where the bed is. Not good. Bed was comfy, could use more pillows. Grounds and paths to tasting room and pool are not marked....had to wander around until we figured out how to get to the tasting room. I've been to a few wineries, and this one could use some help in merchandising. I wanted something to nibble on while we had wine - choices were - candy bars? Would have been nice to have nuts or crackers for sale. Staff in the tasting room were pleasant. Was a quiet night until I was awaken at 5am by someone driving up to the yurt and coming to the door. Who is it??? Oh right - our check out info/bill. Did you really have to drive over and wake us up? Anyway - check out was more pleasant and professional. Would probably not stay again considering the cost. Just not worth it for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Cave B. We are sorry that you had difficulty finding your way around. We will review the map you were given at check in to see if it can be made clearer for anyone who is a first time visitor and may not know the lay of the land. Things are spread out

The winery does have snack foods other than candy bars. There are assorted crackers, cheeses, and salamis, and in season, there is fruit, most recently cherries. They would have been located a little distance from the tasting bar, so may have been missed.

Our sincere apology for your early wake up call with the bill. We will instruct the deliverer of same to wait until later to deliver the bill to the Yurts since they are not as sound proof as a brick and mortar room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

For us too ... first off the setting is spectacular. We stayed in a cliff house and the views were fabulous. The rooms were clean and private. And the restaurant, although pricey, was delicious. We did the 5-course wine pairing -- was a great way to taste the food with the wine and not feel over full. The wait staff at the restaurant were friendly, courteous and attentive with good recommendations. The negatives ... I echo the review below ... THE FRONT DESK PEOPLE NEED TRAINING IN CUSTOMER SERVICE. We pulled into the lobby and happened to be the only people there. We waited while the person at the desk proceeded to carry on a phone conversation, never once looking up or saying "I'll be with you in a moment," for over 5 minutes. When he finally got off the phone he said "hello" and then walked into the back room, while we waited probably another 5 minutes. We had originally reserved a yurt but being Tuesday night and the Inn not looking over crowded, we asked if we could upgrade to a cliff house. Again, his response was curt and that there were only 2 cliff houses available. The one we got was nice, as they all looked to have good views, but it was obvious that there were others that might have been a little nicer -- nothing more than the 2 were offered. For the price you would expect to have a working television as well. When we called to ask about the t.v. the front desk said "yes the television have been out for about a week and someone is hopefully going to fix them." No apology or offer for a discount. Even the next day when we checked out the front desk staff was nothing but curt. I guess if you are going to spend that kindof money on a place it would be nice to be treated as if you mattered. Would I recommend Cave B to my friends, absolutely! For the beautiful scenery, restaurant and wine (it is delish!) but I would warn them to not expect much from the office staff.

Room Tip: The spa is closed Tuesday and Wednesday -- would be nice if they offered locals a discount like they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

First off, this property is beautiful and the views of the gorge are spectacular. We arrived at 4:15 pm and our reservation was not in their card system but they found us on the computer. The check-in personnel were aloof, and unfriendly. Room was very clean, comfortable and a delight to stay in. We did call the desk x 2 as we had questions and neither time did they answer the phone. We were in a pet friendly room but none of the supplies stated on their website were in the room for our dog. We never signed a pet disclosure which supposely was a requirement. Dinner at the restaurant was wonderful but very expensive. $ 45 for a Halibet entree. We visited the winery for a quick tasting before dinner and the person initially pouring our wine didn't talk about the wine we were being poured, she was more attentive to a group of men who came in after us. The female business manager of the winery took over for her and what a difference she made in our experience. She was knowledgeable and interesting to talk to. Everything else was perfect-the grounds were well maintained and the pool was spotless. One last thing is that the yard maintenance man was weed eating our patio area before we checked out which was disturbing to the quiet tranquility of the morning.

Room Tip: The CliffSide is the best choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Cave B. We are very happy that on balance, you enjoyed your stay and accommodations.

We strive to provide the best customer service possible and appreciate hearing what we did well , and what we may not have done as well as one would have liked. Your input will help us provide the next guest with an even better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Did I mention what a great view there is? We stayed in a yurt and really enjoyed it. Others in our group stayed in the cliff houses and also were happy with their choice. Although the yurt doesn't have tv, there is wifi and an iPod dock. It was clean, spacious, and from our yurt there was a view across the vines to the Columbia Gorge. What an amazing setting for a wedding! The downside: there is only one (very pricy) restaurant. As it's somewhat isolated, this can be a bother. We were able to bring supplies back from the supermarket in Quincy (there was a small fridge), but would have liked another option at the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cave B Estate Winery & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave B Estate Winery & Resort

Address: 344 Silica Road NW, Quincy, WA 98848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cave B Estate Winery & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave B Estate Winery & Resort offers breathtaking views of our own estate vineyards, the Columbia River and the state's most dramatic gorge location. Cave B Resort offers 55 guestrooms, including 15 stand-alone Cliffehouses, 12 Cavern Rooms, three Inn Suites, and 25 Desert Yurts, as well as Tendrils Restaurant, The Spa at Cave B, award-winning Cave B Estate Winery, and a dramatic cliffside outdoor swimming pool. Come for a weekend, a true Washington State vacation, for a romantic getaway, or for a concert next door at the Gorge Amphitheater. Experience outdoor adventure, one of the few estate wineries in Washington State, and a landscape like no other at one of the Northwest's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Cave B Estate Winery & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave b Hotel Quincy
Cave b Inn And Spa
Cave b Quincy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.