We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil classic National Park Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Quinault Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Quinault Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Quinault Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 South Shore Road, P.O. Box 7, Quinault, WA 98575   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$79 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
GreenLeadersGold level
Wellington, Shropshire
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Tranquil classic National Park Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014. We had one of the fireplace rooms (just off the main lodge). Our room was excellent, very large, and had a balcony overlooking the lake and a gas fire. It was still pretty cool in June so having the fire on whilst drinking hot chocolate watching the lake was very peaceful. The lodge is very well placed, just off the main road at Lake Quinault. We ate in the main dining room on one evening & both mornings, food very nice, and no problem getting a table. The main hall with its log fire is very atmospheric. There a number of trails directly from the lodge, all deserted and quiet (where does everyone go?). Also its about a 40 min drive to Ruby Beach which is also worth doing, we spent another 40 mins just sitting on a log watching the tide come in.
Great place to stay

Room Tip: The fireplace room was more expensive but I'd read other reviews and decided that this one was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    376
    114
    85
    41
See reviews for
284
658
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the newly remodeled fireplace rooms and found it to be relaxing and just what we needed after several days of hiking and rustic cabins. I would not stay here as a home base to see most of Olympic as it requires multiple home bases to see thoroughly, but is a worthwhile final stop. The fireplaces are gas and operate on a timer. Bathrooms had heated flooring which was a first for any hotel we have stayed in. The grounds are beautiful and offer an easy hiking loop that leaves from the property. We spent mornings row boating on the glassy lake. Beds are very comfortable and housekeeping does a great job keeping up the rooms. This was a couples trip, but families happily played lawn games ans seemed to have a great time. They have a very clean swimming pool and a game room that was okay. We will definitely be back one day with the kids.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great place for families. We chose a Lakeside room and still enjoyed spending time by the fireplace in the lodge. Our boys were able to play on the huge lawn, in the game room and in the pool. We canoed on the lake and watched an Osprey swoop down to catch a fish. The Kestner Homestead trail was a favorite of the many hikes we did in the area.
The market across the street has a deli.
Crescent Lake Lodge was also a wonderful place to stay for the same reasons.

Room Tip: If you want a TV choose a Lakeside Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first stay at Lake Quinault Lodge. We stayed only one night but wish we had arranged to stay longer. The lodge is wonderful. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. I stayed with my 12 and 15 year old boys and they absolutely loved playing the lawn games and if time had allowed would have paddle boarded. When we return to Olympic, we will definitely plan to stay at the lodge again. I am very picky about where I stay and I loved staying here. I like the charm of older buildings and this is a very well run and well kept establishment. A must stay, as far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Quinault Lodge, and will most definitely visit again. This time around, my wife and 14 year old daughter visited on a general tour of the Olympic peninsula. The staff here went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The rustic main lodge room looks as though it has not changed since Roosevelt was at the hotel in the 30s. The ambiance of sitting in front of the fire place talking with some of the other guests gave me the impression of what it must have been like to visit before TV or Internet times.

Rooms were tidy, clean and large. The fireplace room was very cosy. We had a downstairs room, and had evening wine on the patio before going to bed - the patio is also perfect for coffee in the morning. The common grounds were great, and there are plenty of activities for adults and kids alike. There was a mini bonfire at 9pm, and the Lodge sells "smore" kits for the kids to roast marshmallows.

The views from the back deck and lawn towards the lake spectacular. Sitting with a cold beer or glass of wine and admiring the views can't be beat. Breakfast and dinner were great, we recommend making sure you reserve your place well ahead of time, and ask specifically for a table in the enclosed patio room which makes for great evening views across the lake at dinner.

The hiking trails nearby are reasonable, even for inexperienced or "lazy" hikers like me. There are some walk up camp sites adjacent to the hotel, but the campers were quiet and there was no "riff-raff" that we came across.

I recommend the Quinault Lodge as "base-zero" for exploring the Olympic National Park and Peninsula. Ruby Beach and Lake Crescent are near enough that they can be great day trips, with the bonus of being able to return to Quinault to enjoy the views and comforts of this lodge.

Room Tip: Fireplace rooms on ground floor (109/108) are great - 109 has a private garden, perfect for some win...
See more room tips
Green Features: Like everything in the Pacific Northwest, Green is the word here too but nothing the Lodge does, will inconvenience anyone at all.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in a lakeview room at the Lodge and the trees were so thick outside our room that we started calling our room "the tree house". What a beautiful, calm setting! I loved reading on the small balcony and listening to the sounds of the lake. I spent time in the Catskill Mountains of New York as a girl and this lodge brought back wonderful memories of those summers: families playing together, evening campfires, kids flying kites. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food in the dining room was generally very good (the breakfast pancakes are the best ever!), but the service the first evening was a bit rushed. That did not happen again. We enjoyed the guided boat trip on the lake and walking the trails. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful Washington trip.

Room Tip: The lakeview rooms are much newer than those in the main lodge and may be more comfortable to most g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wow. The scenery of this place is incredible. Picturesque is an understatement. Family atmosphere so no tvs or phones. There is wifi though. The restaurant is good but very pricey. The rooms in the lodge are quaint. The indoor pool was so warm and fun. Nice game room with ping pong and board games. Roaring fire in the lodge adds to the rustic experience. Take a picnic and a bottle of wine and have a picnic on the lawn. Take the time to do the rainforest hike. It is incredible and only a mile or less away.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Quinault Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Quinault Lodge

Address: 345 South Shore Road, P.O. Box 7, Quinault, WA 98575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Quinault Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are some places so blissfully disconnected from the modern world that they seem to stand suspended in time. Lake Quinault Lodge is one such place - a grand and rustic lodge built in 1926 that welcomes guests with warmth, hospitality and a sincere feeling of home-away-from-home comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Quinault Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Quinault Hotel Quinault
Lake Lodge Quinault

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Quinault Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.