We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Back In Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Quinault Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Quinault Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Quinault Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 South Shore Road, P.O. Box 7, Quinault, WA 98575   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$79 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
GreenLeadersGold level
Visalia, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Going Back In Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We love the feeling of returning to another era when life was slower and unhurried. The National Park Lodges provide that feeling. Lake Quinault Lodge provided that and more. We enjoyed playing games and reading by the fire. We love meeting people from all over the world. The room was very nice. We chose to stay in the main lodge so we would get the full effect. The one modern amenity is they do have WiFi. Great food, excellent helpful staff. Highly recommend this lodge

Room Tip: We chose to stay in the main lodge had a King room with lake view. If you want more modern then chos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    376
    114
    85
    41
See reviews for
284
659
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ferndale, wa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Lake Quinalt Lodge on our recent trip to the Olympic Peninsula. After speaking with several people about the lodge on our way there and hearing mediocre reviews, especially about the restaurant, I had to ask myself, is this the same place? The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We had a fireplace room. It is their largest room at the lodge with great views of the lake thru the trees. It is away from the main lodge so it is very quiet. There is a great system of trails right across the street so you can hike one to ten miles on very well maintained trails. After hearing how mediocre the food was at the restaurant we were looking forward to evaluating it ourselves. The main lodge is fantastic. Very warm with lots of historical photos that immerse you in the history of the lodge. The restaurant ( The Roosevelt Room) named for President Roosevelt who dined there in 1937 and shortly after signed a bill designating the Olympic Peninsula a National Park. The restaurant is very welcoming and inviting. Darren, our server, gave us excellent service both of the nights we dined there. The pricing is a little high, but no more than what you will pay in any good restaurant and the food is far from mediocre. The tempura fried calamari with arugala and red pepper aioli was amazing. Salmon with mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables was delicious. Everything was well prepared and perfectly seasoned. Don't bother looking for other restaurants in the area this is the best. You can enjoy great food and absorb all of the history that surrounds you at the same time. And do not eat at the Mercantile across the street.

Room Tip: Choose a fireplace room on the upper level. Great views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's difficult to praise this place enough. The old main lodge building has so much character and charm about it. The views from the restaurant are exquisite with the food matching the view. Our lake view building room had a lovely little balcony from which we could admire the lake and surrounding mountains. The next day we had no need to use the car at all as we could fill in the whole day with walks from the lodge into the gorgeous surrounding hills. We have taken several trips to America and if every future trip has one lodge like this, I will be satified.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just so people know, if you book a senior rate, you must cancel more than 72 hours in advance to get your partial refund. If you are a "young" person you are allowed to cancel up to 24 hours in advance. Sorry that this lodging penalizes seniors. Don't know any other lodging situation where there is a difference in cancellation policies if you are a senior--especially a penalizing policy. Needless to say, I have no other review as we did not stay there....and because of this policy we will think twice about booking any advance reservation there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I picked this destination for our anniversary and we could not have been happier. Not only did the weather cooperate (no rain in the rain forest) but the hotel delivered on all fronts--scenery, service, food, ambiance. A perfectly relaxing retreat!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the fireplace rooms with lake view, connected to the lodge by a causeway.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel very conscientious about sustainable practices.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not sure which was better, my room, the grounds, or the hiking trails. All three made for a great 1 night escape. I was on the ground floor of the lake view building. Nice view. Trails just outside the patio. Nice indoor pool. Beautiful lobby area in the lodge. Many choices for room types, but not a single bad one. Even the pet-friendly building is a nice one. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All rooms/buildings are good choices. The lodge being the most authentic, but I loved my lake view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived at the lodge on a sunny afternoon in September and immediately ran out onto the back lawn, where the view had me exclaiming, "oh my God, oh my God," over and over again! It was just as beautiful in the rain the next day. The Lakeside rooms were perfectly comfy and offered a small balcony overlooking the lake. All staff members were exceedingly helpful and friendly--5-star resort caliber service. So many jaw-droppingly amazing hikes right outside our door, plus swimming pool, pool table, lawn games, etc. Two days was not enough--we could have happily stayed a week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Quinault Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Quinault Lodge

Address: 345 South Shore Road, P.O. Box 7, Quinault, WA 98575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Quinault Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are some places so blissfully disconnected from the modern world that they seem to stand suspended in time. Lake Quinault Lodge is one such place - a grand and rustic lodge built in 1926 that welcomes guests with warmth, hospitality and a sincere feeling of home-away-from-home comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Quinault Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Quinault Hotel Quinault
Lake Lodge Quinault

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Quinault Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.