We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 South Hill Park Drive, Puyallup, WA 98373   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Puyallup
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    60
    13
    9
    1
See reviews for
89
73
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, BC Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you are a light sleeper it is best to avoid this place for several reasons. Thin walls - heard our neighbors coughing and snoring. Plumbing - is very noisy in your room and you can also hear other rooms using the shower, etc. Plus, the hotel faces a strip mall parking lot with a 24 hour Denny's restaurant, a church and other businesses. So, there is always people coming and going in the parking lot. The opposite side of the hotel faces the highway with traffic noise.

This hotel has very tiny bathrooms. The smallest we ever encountered in North America. You can't shut the bathroom door without hitting your nose on the shower curtain.

We stayed in a regular room with a king sized bed on the second floor. There was a piece of cereal (Cheerio) on the rug by our tv, it was not ours and did not get vacuumed up during our entire four day stay. Our toilet was leaking, it needed a new flapper and kept waking us up the first night. The ottoman was very dirty and there was a big long dirt mark on the valance over the window.

We complained, they offered to upgrade us to a different room, but we didn't like the locations of the rooms they offered, so we stayed in the room we were in and we were assured that things would be fixed promptly. We went out for the day, arrived back later in the evening. The dirty valance and dirty ottoman were not cleaned. So, we asked the front desk if anything got fixed in our room. We were assured by the front desk that the toilet was fixed and the maids cleaned the ottoman and valance. We informed the front desk that the maids had not cleaned the valance or ottoman they were still very dirty.

The toilet still ran the second night, not as often as the first night, but it still ran. We complained the next day again. We also asked that the 2nd floor hallway carpet be vacuumed because it was getting disgusting, the carpet not been vacuumed in several days, lots of lint, pieces of paper, crumbs, etc. everywhere. I'm really not sure why the second floor hallway vacuuming was let go and not vacuum daily, because the third and first floor hallways were spotless in comparison.

Due to the toilet waking us up the first night we received compensation, but we were surprised that we were billed the full rate for the second night since the toilet was not completely fixed and woke us up again, plus the dirty ottoman and valance were not cleaned either. Upon check out we asked, they gave us a discount for the second night. Personally, I don't think you should have to ask for compensation when the hotel is fully aware that the maintenance issues have been going on for two days straight. That's poor customer service.

Unless you are doing something specific that requires you to be in the Puyallup area, there are better hotel choices in the Bellevue, Tukwila and Renton areas compared to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traci N, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are sincerely sorry that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. Though we did clean your room and attempt to fix your running toilet, I’m sorry it didn’t get completed in a more timely and effective manner. We take pride in having a clean hotel and are very sorry that during your stay the hallway got missed. We are using this as a training opportunity for our team and appreciate your feedback so that we can better serve our guests in the future. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here for the first time in three years and they have really improved the quality of this hotel.We stayed here for 5 days as we were working the sportsman show. Super friendly front desk staff at check in as well as everyone else who works here. Rooms were small but incredibly clean and modern. The new pool area is a huge improvement. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz BCS
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We travel all over the country for 3 months of the year and stay in hotels/motels every night of every grade. Don't let the "Best Western" part throw you. This is far and away as close to 5-star as you can and better than many 5-stars we have stayed at. Big rooms. Super beds. Great service...even computer terminals in each room plus fresh cookies and a bistro in the afternoon. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I return to this hotel as have been very pleased in last 4 stays. This was an extended stay (7 days). They would not negoitiate a discounted rate as a awards member. Charged $30 more on Sat stay although did not arrive that night until 10 pm. Room service consisted only of clean towels and cups for coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traci N, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We understand that it can be frustrating when the rate changes during your stay as it did recently. We will be working with our team to ensure this is clear at check in so there are no surprises and future guests know what to expect. We will also be addressing your concerns regarding the limited housekeeping you received during your recent visit to Puyallup.

We appreciate you being a Best Western Rewards member. As a thank you, you should have received a welcome gift as well as points for your stay.

If you have additional concerns please reach out to us. Thank you again for voicing your concerns we will be addressing the issues you raised with our team.

Traci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed three nights with my dog for local dog shows. My dog was welcomed, considered, fussed over, and offers made of assistance which greatly helped me with my luggage and logistics. Very nice room, too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 620 South Hill Park Drive, Puyallup, WA 98373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Puyallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puyallup
#2 Family Hotel in Puyallup
#4 Business Hotel in Puyallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service hotel in Puyallup is ready to take care of you and your guests. Newly remodeled with the brand new Fireside Bar & Bistro you can now grab a bite or a locally crafted beer after a long day of traveling. The hotel also features iPod docking stations, 42” flat screen TV’s, microwave & refrigerators and DVD players in all guest rooms. The beautiful new indoor pool can open to the sundeck on summer days and the outside seating area is the perfect place to enjoy a glass of Washington wine while catching up with friends. The event space can easily accommodate a wedding, corporate meeting or any other gathering you have in mind. Just let us know what our full service team can do and we’ll take care of the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Park Plaza Hotel Puyallup
Best Western Puyallup
Puyallup Best Western
Puyallup Park Plaza
Park Plaza Puyallup

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.