We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, OK beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crockett's Public House

Crockett's Public House
118 East Stewart Avenue, Puyallup, WA 98372
(253) 466-3075
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 229 Restaurants in Puyallup
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Livermore, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, OK beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had the Memphis BBQ burger which was excellent. I asked the server which of the draft beers were local. She said all of them. I'm pretty sure that Guinness and Stella Artois are not local to Puyallup (or even Washington or the US), so I am not sure how accurate her answer was. I had a Crockett's signature beer which is a cask-conditioned beer. It was served warm. Not sure if that is how it is supposed to be. Service, other than incorrect answer on the provenance of the beer, was good.

Food - great
Beer - eh...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    80
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Tried this place on a short visit to the Seattle area & really enjoyed it. The atmosphere was cool, service was fantastic & food and beer were quite good as well. I would enjoy visiting again for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
“Hoppin' place with good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I went to Crockett’s on a recent Sunday afternoon. Arriving about 2 p.m., the place was packed with everyone from singles enjoying the all-day happy hour (Sundays only!) at the bar to large families including grandparents, parents, and new grandchildren were enjoying the upbeat vibe of Crockett’s.

While the featured appetizer on Triple D was the restaurant’s fire-grilled artichoke, we chose an order of their kettle corn, which is not the sweet variety on offer at virtually every county fair. No, theirs comes sprinkled with either spicy chili and lemon seasoning or cheddar and Parmesan seasoning. It’s a great way to take the edge off if you arrive famished and just can’t wait to eat.

For our entrees, my wife chose the mahi mahi cooked over mesquite coals while I opted for the Public House meatballs.

Her mahi mahi was basted in cilantro lime, served with baja black beans, sarono corn cake, and fresh avocado topped with shreds of deep-fried tortilla. Smoky with a bit of heat in the black beans, it was both delicious and generous. Fully half came home for the next day’s lunch, as it was with my meatballs.

One of the featured items on Triple D, the meatballs are prepared in-house by hand from equal portions of beef, pork, and veal augmented by some finely minced prosciutto. Red chilies, garlic, cayenne, black, and white peppers provide a little heat. They’re garnished with Parmesan cheese, pistachio nuts, and lime zest and served with sourdough garlic cheese toast. Although they only come three to an order, they’re huge and quite filling.

Dessert? Who had room? Although I must confess the Maker’s Mark caramel milk shake was seriously tempting. Maybe next time.

And there will be a next time; the menu at Crockett’s isn’t massive, but it’s big enough and varied enough to keep us coming back whether we’re in the mood for a full dinner or a simple sandwich, burger, or dog.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

if not for the sauce, meatballs had no flavor! gorgonzola fries had garlic, and a white sauce, could not tast the gorgonzola! (had to ask for hot fries!) Nicw atmospher and tantalizing smells, too bad did not live up to flavortown!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unusually Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to Crocketts before and loved it. This time I chose the Sloppy Joes because of the DDD review I had heard about. I didn't get it... compared to the other wonderful things I have eaten the Sloppy Joe was a disappointment. I chose the salad as the side and it was 6 pieces of lettuce and a tomatoe. The Joe was just spicy meat on a bun with no redemming value in taste or appearance. I will stick to my favorites next time! Parking as always was ridiculous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crockett's Public House also viewed

 

Been to Crockett's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crockett's Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.