We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic motel for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northwest Motor Inn

Northwest Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Northwest Motor Inn to your Saves list
Northwest Motor Inn
1409 South Meridian Street, Puyallup, WA 98371   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Puyallup
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
227 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“A basic motel for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere better: but the two upscale motels were full. One with the crew of Airforce 1 which rather shook us. This was the better of the two also rans. The room was clean if a little smelly. The beds were ok, there was hot water, and there was a fridge and a TV of sorts. The A/C didn't work. The management were friendly enough; the owner had family near where we live in London, UK. But it was cheap and value for money in the circumstances. It is a one night stopover: nothing more

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    2
    14
See reviews for
8
4
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I recently took a trip down to Puyallup for the Gun Show. My in laws live in Sumner so after visiting them the wife and I checked in here. It was literally 2 blocks from the fairground. Place seems pretty new, nice lobby, great rooms. Front desk couple were nice and gave us a great rate on a King Room. I would recommend this for anyone visiting Puyallup for fair related activities or any other events. You won't even need to drive anywhere to get whatever you might need as everything is so close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Not only were the rooms, smelly, dirty, rusty, ugly with thin walls, the manager/owner was rude, mean and threatening. It was late so we tolerated it for 1 night. We had originally booked several nights and once we saw the place we made other plans. The manager berated me for 15 solid minutes for canceling my reservation. He was very loud and threatening. If he was so upset with a 24 hour cancellation, he should change the hotel policy. I do not recommend this motel to anyone, especially a woman.
For many trips, my husband and I travel on a tight budget. We have stayed in cheaper places than this that were great and a few that were worse. This motel gets the prize for the grossest place for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed there a couple of days ago after visiting some friends. The one bed room that I had was clean, smelled nice and was quiet. As it had been hot that day, I used the A/C unit, but I could not get the knobs to do anything. I called the front desk guy, and he explained that they used a temp unit on the wall, and told me how to use it. It worked great. My encounter with the staff was a good one.

I am not sure what some of the other reviewers are about. My stay was excellent, and I would come here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed here on my way to mount rainier. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and i had no trouble sleeping. I will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Aside from the negative reviews written about this inn, my family and I had a good stay here. Polite staff, excellent service, I will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Run, Do Not Walk Away From This Disgusting Place!
This place is absolutely disgusting and the front desk staff was the very *rudest* I've ever encountered in my travels. Immediately upon entering the lobby of this roadside dump the smell was overwhelming - *Hooker Disinfectant* . Desk clerk was extremely **Rude** and **Obnoxious**. Had requested a ground floor room for a dog show but had us booked in for a third floor room. Would not accommodate us in any way - made no apologies - was extremely *rude*.

Room Tip: Do Not Even Consider Staying Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northwest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Motor Inn

Address: 1409 South Meridian Street, Puyallup, WA 98371
Location: United States > Washington > Puyallup
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Puyallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Northwest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwest Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.