We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned to Pullman” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilltop Inn to your Saves list
Hilltop Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   928 NW Olsen Street, Pullman, WA 99163 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Call for Best Rate!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pullman
Richland, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Returned to Pullman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came to Pullman to see the Messiah performance, which was wonderful. The hotel was very clean and the room was great. Appreciated all the memorabilia on the walls. Our group were the only customers the bar man had, and yet he was more than willing to stay as long as we wanted to stay.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The staff at the Hilltop Inn was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the performance. We work hard to provide each guest with the best Hometown Hospitality. We look forward to your visit again, Happy Holidays to you and yours. Barb W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay over dad's weekend. We've traditionally stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Pullman and will no longer. Hilltop Inn had a great room, excellent bar and restaurant, a local feel and nice staff. The view of the University and the sunrise on Saturday morning was beautiful. Breakfast was better than HI with more hot food. Beds were comfortable and the hotel was quiet. The only downside was the lack of hot water in the shower. Could have been all the dads getting clean. :) Overall it was very good. The reviews had us concerned but the place was much nicer than described.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
All of our staff here at the Hilltop Inn wants to thank you for you AWESOME words on our behalf. We have a wonderful hometown team that enjoys meeting and working with guests such as you. Your pleasure is our pleasure. We look forward to your next visit. Barb W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We stayed here for a baseball tournament. It was a decent, clean hotel. The restaurant and bar were great. We had a lot of fun in Pullman that weekend and were happy we stayed at this location. Also---- Great group rates!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel we appreciate your comments. Our staff works hard to provide our guests with the best service and Hometown Hospitality. We hope to see you again next year for another great summer of baseball. Thank You Barb W. Hilltop General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 via mobile

The high point: they had rooms when no one else did. We went on a super busy football weekend, and were the only hotel I could find without a 2 night minimum. The low point: when the people directly above us got up at 5 am and I could hear their every move. Besides that, it was a pretty basic hotel in a fairly decent location. If you call Pullman transit on football days, they will explain how to get picked up right outside the hotel for a free trip to the stadium. The staff was friendly, and the bar was good (for a quick pre-game drink) and the breakfast was fine. Nothing too spectacular. But not quiet.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Thank You for your feedback on your stay. Football season is a very busy and bustling time for the Hilltop and Pullman, we are happy that we were able to accommodate you for your stay. The staff at the Hilltop would like to apologize for your experience and would like to welcome you back in the future travels to Pullman. Thank You Barb W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family in the area. While the exterior and breakfast area have been recently remodeled, the lobby, hallways, elevator and guest rooms need a lot of help. The hallways and elevator were dirty and old. The "full" breakfast was really bad. Fruit was old and hot items were absolutely terrible. OK if you just want some cereal or instant oatmeal. The rooms were OK, but again old and in need of investment. The room was clean and the bedding was old but comfortable. Strangely, the rooms had NOTHING on the walls and it felt like we were in a dorm room. The room TV was OK, but small for the room. Both the Holiday Inn and Quality Inn are better choices, but this place will do in a pinch or if you just need a bed and a shower.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, General Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
We want to thank you for your interesting review. It is obvious to us that people have labeled us remodeled. You mentioned we look old. We are so disappointed because everything is new including the bedding in the rooms. I especially noted your comment about "nothing on the walls". We are in the process of hanging our new Pullman pictures as we speak. Since we are locally owned and operated we have spent hours to everything for comfort for our guests. I you are ever in Pullman again please stop by and I will treat you to a tea or lemonade on our new patio overlooking Pullman. Thank You Barb W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed in a spacious 2-queen room for one night during a busy WSU weekend. Hotel foyer is inviting, with complimentary ice water, coffee and tea very welcome after a long drive. Staff is pleasant, very helpful. Housekeeping was a little behind this particular day, but desk clerk diligently found a ready room for me. Furnishings in my room were a bit spartan and nondescript. Fridge and microwave are handy, plunked in the room itself rather than housed in a cabinet. Everything clean and usable. In-room coffee service was of OK quality.

Restaurant is bright, airy, beautiful view of the surrounding hills. Nice to have 2 large flat screens to watch the news/sports during breakfast. Self-service complimentary buffet offered the usual array of cold cereals, instant oatmeal packets, juice, drip coffee, good supply of fresh fruit, standard hot items. Alas, the scrambled eggs were of the depressingly pervasive powdered, possibly pre-cooked variety, all too commonly found on the road these days, but the breakfast ham was good.

Did not try the other amenities at the hotel, I've heard the restaurant is good but did not have the opportunity this trip. Will likely give this inn another try, the next time I'm in town for a WSU visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a great view from a clean and comfortable room. The location is quiet and as the name suggests, on top of a hill. It is very close to restaurants and the like.
The staff was friendly and professional.
The breakfast offered was standard and sufficient.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 928 NW Olsen Street, Pullman, WA 99163 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Pullman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pullman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop- Lodging, Cuisine & Spirits is your "home away from home." Locally owned and operated for over 40 years, we pride ourselves on our Hometown Hospitality. We have 115 rooms with a King or Double Queen, Indoor Pool, Restaurant & Lounge, and a wonderful staff. Or enjoy a Themed Spa Suite overlooking Pullman and the home of the Cougars- Washington State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Pullman
Hilltop Hotel Magnuson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.