We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good margaritas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa De Luna Poulsbo

Casa De Luna Poulsbo
18830 Front St. N.E., Poulsbo, WA 98370
360-779-7676
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 80 Restaurants in Poulsbo
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Oregon, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really good margaritas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Tucked back in a little hidey hole. Just stopped in for a margarita and some munchies. Not a bad place to go, I would really have rather had the cute little girl not running in and out of the cook and prep area at around our table.shshe was very sweet just inappropriate.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A hidden prize”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Just finding this authentic Mexican restaurant down an alley in town added to the fun of this restaurant. The owners are from Jalisco and are eager to please. They served a delicious Vegan burrito even tho it wasn't on their menu. Big portions. Cozy interior with booths and tables.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just because you're mexician doesn't mean you should sell poorly cooked mexican food...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I lived 45 minutes from the mexico/california border for 30 years, so my standards may be different than some folks. The greeting was warm and friendly, however the room I was seated in had clearly seen better days. While other shops and eateries in the same buildings down the street cleaned up their space, this one hadn't. On a snowy night, I was looking forward to trying what the locals were raving about. I ordered a chicken fajita platter. Hard to screw up, right? I thought so. First I had complimentary salsa and chips. Neither were anything special, but I was surprised to see celery chunks (too big to scoop) in my salsa. I've been to a lot of mexican eateries and had lots of different styles of salsa... but I can't figure out why on earth you'd put celery in salsa. It doesn't add to the color, flavor, or texture. The salsa was extremely mild, so it wasn't to cool the heat. And the chunks were too big to scoop up anyway.. so my fajita came. It was sizzling and generously portioned. Saddly, the chicken had not been seasoned, and it was pounded so flat that all moisture had been cooked out of it. All the seasoning made it to the oinons and peppers (which were easily the best part). The beans were... interesting... they had added molasses and cinnamon to them. Again, I've never tasted anything like this, and I can't quite understand the logic behind it. It tasted like baked beans that were trying to be dressed up and sold as mexican beans. The service was good though. With tip it cost me about $21 for my drink (hot tea) and the meal (which was way too much food for one person). I won't be back though and if the dining rooms were dirty and in poor repair... I shutter to think what the kitchen must look like...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cinnamon beans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went with about 30 people in a Friday night and they did a pretty good job of getting the food out quickly.y only complaint was the cinnamon in the beans. It made everything else taste like cinnamon.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice surprise at the end of the alley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Casa De Luna is not easy to find, the alley to the restaurant is between two shops in downtown Poulsbo. But once you walk down the alley to the restaurant you enter a true Mexican restaurant. Owner and chef Raul obviously enjoys cooking and he does an excellent job of putting out true Mexican cuisine. His taco soup is full of flavor, but if you're a lightweight when it comes to spices, you might ask him to tone down the spice a bit. His chile relleno is mouth-watering good! The entire family is welcoming and we always enjoy stopping by for a bite. While other reviewers are right about the restaurant being a little run down, the owners and staff do a great job of making you feel welcome. Then, once the food arrives, your first bite tells you that you've come to a good place for some true Mexican food. Raves to Owner Raul!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa De Luna Poulsbo also viewed

 

Been to Casa De Luna Poulsbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa De Luna Poulsbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.