We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One year later” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sogno di Vino

Sogno di Vino
18830 Front St, Poulsbo, WA 98370
+1 360-697-8466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 80 Restaurants in Poulsbo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
“One year later”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Since my first review a year ago we have been back at least a dozen times and have been favorably impressed with food, service and atmosphere.
We are solid fans of their weeknight special for two at $55. It includes a large salad to share, a bottle of decent wine, choice of several main courses (2), and fresh focaccia. Their Caesar salad is outstanding, our favorite in this area. Portions are generous so we haven't tried desserts.

We are always greeted and served well and always enjoy our meals there. They even remember our favorite table and wine. Pizza from a traditional Italian brick oven is one of the best pizza in the area, and may be one of the main courses on the special dinner for two.
Consistency makes this a dependable destination in downtown Poulsbo. I am puzzled by a few negative reviews as we have been here often and never had anything but good experiences.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Sogno di Vino, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. As a good customer of ours we feel you deserve that little extra bit of attention for visiting us so often. As for some negative reviews, there isn't a restaurant that pleases everyone every time. We feel it's important to answer every customer. We don't understand why more restaurant owners don't reply to every review. Look forward to seeing you soon. Rob and Angela Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sasebo, Japan
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Tuscany in Poulsbo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you thought Poulsbo was just a Scandinavian town, you'd be surprised to know that there is a little bit of Tuscany on Front Street. Sogno Di Vino (Dream of Wine) has a wonderful ambience that truly captures that relaxed Italian café feel.

They have a retail wine shop and wine cellar that offers twenty different wines by the glass. You can also purchase wines from the Pacific Northwest, Italy and California.

I stopped in recently for lunch and ordered the Penne alla Genovese with a cup of Roasted Zucchini Soup. The pasta was made up of chicken, artichokes, sundried tomatoes & pesto in a cream sauce and was very delicious. In addition to the roasted zucchini, the soup contained fennel, pancetta and a roasted red pepper puree. The portions were generous and included sliced French bread with olive oil.

Our server was very congenial and went about serving us with great efficiency and charm. I will definitely be coming back to try out more of their menu items.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Sogno di Vino, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you and hope you can make it back in the late spring, sit out on the patio, enjoy the fire pit tables and see the Magnolia tree in full bloom.
Thank you again...........Rob and Angela Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This place is a gamble”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went there last night (2/7/14) and it was a terrible experience. We'd made reservations a week ago for 7 people. Got there on time. The place was packed. They sat us up stairs in the outside patio area where they normally seat people in the summer. They had put up canvas walls to help protect from the weather. But it was freezing cold. We all ate with our coats on. Plus, being out of sight, our service suffered. We got our salads at the same time we got our dinner....and they were the wrong salads. Our dinners were dry, like they'd been under a heat lamp for a long time. Never did get any bread with our dinners. So, the setting was lousy, the service was terrible, and the food was just tolerable. It appears that the owner is more concerned about his profit margin than providing good customer service. I've eaten there many times over the past several years, though not for a few month now. Things have really changed. I won't go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Sogno di Vino, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
I left a voice message on Saturday at noon in hopes of communicating. As a business owner our biggest priority is always the customer first and foremost. The customer is the reason we put our heart and souls not to mention all of life savings into our business.

First of all I apologize that we fell short of making you happy and giving you the best experience possible. As I stated in my voice message, we had set your reservation table of 7 guests in our downstairs dining room, unfortunately 20 minutes prior to your arrival we had a family with a young girl of about 8-10 years old in a wheelchair. In order to accommodate the wheelchair we had to change the location for your reservation.

This was an extremely busy weekend for Poulsbo as I'm sure all of the business owners were very grateful for, special winter rendezvous for boaters, father-daughter dance etc. Your table was set up in our private dining room, we use this room year round for rehearsal dinners, holiday parties etc. It is heated and we also have firepit tables for warmth and ambiance. Unfortunately there has been a freakish cold snap and the room was not as cozy as usual and I apologize greatly for this as we want you to be comfortable.

The Sogno staff is made up of some of the best we have ever had and we are quite proud of each and every one of them, because of the overwhelming crowd of this weekend I believe there were incidents of not being able to give the devoted attention that we are known for. I apologize again that we failed to make your experience our usual standard of service, ambiance and great food.

I had offered in my voice message to give you a gift certificate and thanked you for your past loyalty and that I wanted to do whatever I could to make you happy. Hopefully you will be understanding that this was not a "profit/greed" making decision, it was trying to accommodate a wheelchair quite simply, we really do strive to make each and every guest that walks through our door happy, it is the reason we are in this business so I hope you will accept our apology.

Rob and Angela Scott, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Favorite Place to Eat in Poulsbo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Menu = good variety, Quality = Fresh and served hot, Service = attentive but appropriate, not overwhelming, Ambiance = quaint, in winter the fireplace is on and is comfortable and adds to charm, Outdoor dining = patio overlooking front street, in nice weather and they will light the fire. Price = average, Location = excellent, right in downtown, Parking = convenient, just across road, plenty of parking. Love their wood fired pizzas and salads. We frequent Sogno because we can rely on an excellent meal served hot for a reasonable price. Shared a salad, each of us (2) had an entrée, 1 beer, 1 wine about $60 with 20% tip. Haven't tried happy hour but would love to try it. Whenever we want Italian or pizza we head to Sogno, it is our favorite place to eat in Poulsbo.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Sogno di Vino, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Heather, It's always great to hear from a local. We really like the way you itemized ( Service=) the experience. Never have seen that format and loved it. Come by for Happy hour on a Friday or Saturday and stay for live entertainment. Again we thank you!
Rob and Angela Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Little Pricey, But Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

That last review was pretty picky for being from Aberdeen. The eateries there aren't what you would call real high-end. Nothing like this place.

We expected high prices when we decided to have dinner here tonight. We only eat "fancy" every 2-3 months, so we were good.

As soon as we walked in, I was glad we chose this place. The smell of the fresh coffee was excellent. No sign of the typical restaurant over-done attempt.

My wife had the Wood-Roasted Rosemary Chicken and I had the Tuscan Steak. For dessert, it was the crème brûlée trio for her, and the bread pudding for me. No wine, cuz we live about 35 miles away.

Both were excellent!! Service was great!! Not once did we have to ask for refills, or flag our waitress down for any reason. She was right on top of things.

We will without doubt be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Sogno di Vino, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for dining with us. That was a great review. We do have some great values that may address the pricey issues. We have a date night menu of great value Sunday through Thursday. Happy hour is from 4-6 everyday with lower prices. We also have, half off Pizza Wednesdays if your interested. Come back and see us and again Thank You!
Rob and Angela Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sogno di Vino also viewed

 

Been to Sogno di Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sogno di Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.