We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good economical stay with free breakfast and wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn & Suites Hotel - Poulsbo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Inn & Suites Hotel - Poulsbo to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Hotel - Poulsbo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   19801 7th Avenue NE, Poulsbo, WA 98370 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Poulsbo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulsbo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
seattle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good economical stay with free breakfast and wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Went over to Kitsap area for some work. Stayed here for a few days.

Great location, centrally located to everything, including work, stores, gas station, and restaurant. Rooms for comfy, clean, and seems have been updated recently. Like the flat screen TVs. Free WiFi was great also. As a frequent hotel guests for work and vacation, from 3-5 starts hotels. Didn't expect too much for a three start hotel in this small town.

Check in was quick. Staff was very friendly and helpful to provide information getting around town for things, and gave some good advance on catching the ferry back to Seattle.

Best of all - breakfast was free and good. Warm biscuits/pastries with juice, yogurt, and milk. Perfect for me. Saved me money and a run to starbucks and macdonalds.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    40
    10
    8
    9
See reviews for
31
43
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My family of five stayed here over Thanksgiving, and we were very pleased. Front desk staff were friendly, and the property was well maintained. Rooms include microwave and good-sized refrigerator. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the comfy lobby. There's an exercise room and an outdoor hot tub. Breakfast was similar to what you find at, say, a Hampton Inn: muffins, juice, yogurt, bananas, plus scrambled eggs and hot biscuits and gravy. The hotel is near the shops, galleries, Skandinavian bakeries and restaurants on Front Street, and about a ten-minute drive to the north end of Bainbridge Island. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I had the pleasure of spending a weekend here with my girlfriend, and we were impressed by the excellent customer service. The rooms were nice and clean, and bed was pretty comfortable. The girl at the front desk was extremely friendly, and made the check-in process quick and easy. This hotel is great value for the amount you're paying. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjdtba
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years, primarily when it was a Holiday Inn Express....In each of these experiences, the hotel would have rated pretty well, with clean rooms, excellent space for parking and walking dogs, etc.....all for a reasonable price. (Not the Ritz, but, a good, place to stay for the money). THIS time was much different, so whether it was an anomoly, or whether the place is deteriorating under the relatively new GUEST house chain ownership remains to be seen.

At any rate, I reserved the room and indicated I wanted a pet room on the ground floor, near the back door......No problems there......When we walked into the room, I noted a horrible smell somewhere between a stopped up sewer drain and a moldy/musty basement.....I called the front desk to tell the woman and asked her if she had any idea what the smell was and if they could do something....She was very nice, but came with a can of Febreze, saying that YES< the room really smelled and that perhaps the carpets had been cleaned and were wet too long without drying....She said there were no more rooms available, but we agreed that opening the window would help.....

Suffice to say, when I got into bed, I noticed the REAL problem.....The ceiling had been patched (over bulges) and repainted in several spots and the wall paper was bulging away from the walls in the corner....WATER DAMAGE/LEAKING and that stench was undoubtedly Mold/fungus growing in the walls/ceiling. As the night wore on, the smell seemed to get worse....It was quite honestly, the worst room I've stayed in in some time....When I told them at the front desk that it had been a bad night due to the mildewy stink, and that they needed to have the room inspected and perhaps do a mold abatement program, he just stared at me and said he'd tell the manager...It was clear he already knew there was a problem and blew me off....Since an actual mold problem poses a health hazard, I reported it to the county health Department and they indicated they would inspect the room ASAP. Both of us in that room had itchy eyes and felt congested all day today.....

The Room number was 137.....Avoid it at all costs and if there are similar problems in adjacent rooms, report it......I will not be staying at this facility again......Too bad, as it used to be a nice spot.....

Room Tip: Avoid those rooms near the front North corner of the hotel..(137 and 136 area)..There is clearly a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicahKim, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Hotel - Poulsbo, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Hello, thank you for the feedback, we appreciate any review of the hotel, whether its good or bad. The hotel has certain pet rooms assigned as there are guests who are allergic to pets. #137 is one of our few pet rooms which gets used the most since it's nearby an entrance/exit door. Over time, the carpet has worn out from all the pets being in the room and caused some odor. Since the review, we have replaced the carpet/pad in all pet rooms and no longer has any odor from them. There is no sign of mold/mildew in any of the rooms and we take quick appropriate actions with any evidence of it. I'm sorry for the bad stay and we assure you that we don't lack any service/quality due to a franchise change. In fact, we have done numerous recent upgrades including, fresh carpet in all common areas plus several of the guest rooms, marble tiles, flat screen TV's, pillowtop mattresses, etc. Please refer to our photo gallery on our website, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We arrived without a reservation on a Saturday about 4pm. We were a bit exasperated due to a botched reservation at the other Poulsbo motel. The front desk clerk here was sweet, kind, friendly and very helpful with directions, information, and recommendations. She only had King Suites left which worked great for us. The bed was extremely comfortable, beautiful and the room was very clean. It had a jacuzzi tub next to the bed which didn't appeal to us, but the space, fridge and micro, and bathroom were very clean. I felt the workers work hard here to provide you with a nice stay. The included breakfast was a nice spread with hot and cold choices. We defintely were able to fill ourselves on tasty omletes, sausage, muffins, fresh fruit and so forth. Aside from the bed which was extremely comfortable and fresh, the room is dated but again well kept. The walls were also a bit thin as we could somewhat hear the neighbors deep snores, but still I slept quite well and comfortably.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

The power went out at 6:45p.m. (not the hotels fault) and stayed off for the entire night, and part of the next day. We had no heat, no hot water, no electricity, and it was way below freezing. In the morning, after shivering all night, we discovered ice on the window sill, inside the room. (That is how cold it was inside!). The hotel charged us the whole rate anyway. We had no way to take a shower, and had to gather up our things in the dark. Later they called and offered us 25% off the $100 dollar rate. Would you stay in a hotel with no hot water/showers/electricity or heat for $75.00? Didn't think so. I will NEVER stay in a Holiday Inn Express or otherwise again. This was the poorest customer service I've ever had at any hotel. Oh yeah, we didn't get the promised breakfast either!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicahKim, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Hotel - Poulsbo, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Hello, thank you for your comments about the hotel. I'm sorry you had to endure the cold night as the hotel lost power as we do not have a backup generator. Even without power, all guests decided to stay at the hotel rather than driving in the tretrous road conditions. With the road being extremely dangerous, the hotel had 2 fireplaces and food to serve all guests. The hotel has given credit to all guests who stayed at the hotel. Please call the hotel and ask to speak to the G.M. if you have not gotten a credit, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We were in the Poulsbo area for a wedding and chose this hotel because it was the only one with rooms available. We paid $148 for a room with one double bed. Unfortunately, the bed was so soft, we spent the whole night trying to stay out of the sunken middle. In addition, the upholstered chair needed a good cleaning and the bathroom had what appeared to be mildew between the tiles. The breakfast was adequate but not on par with other hotels in that price range. When I shared these thoughts with front desk staff, and asked them how they could charge such a price, they told me that "people were willing to pay it" as evidenced by the fact that they were frequently full. I suggest you look elsewhere before spending your hard earned dollars on this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Hotel - Poulsbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Hotel - Poulsbo

Address: 19801 7th Avenue NE, Poulsbo, WA 98370 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Poulsbo)
Location: United States > Washington > Poulsbo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulsbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Hotel - Poulsbo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in scenic downtown Poulsbo conveniently located from all dining, entertainment, and the marina. Minutes from Naval Base Kitsap/Bangor/Keyport, and the Pudget Sound Naval Shipyard. Within 10 minutes from Kingston, Silverdale, and Bainbridge Island. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast served daily! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Hotel - Poulsbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn And Suites Poulsbo
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Poulsbo Hotel Poulsbo
Holiday Inn Poulsbo
Poulsbo Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse Inn & Suites Hotel - Poulsbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.