We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn with Fabulous hospitality and great views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at McCurdy House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at McCurdy House
405 Taylor Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn with Fabulous hospitality and great views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Our visit to the McCurdy house was one of the best B & B experiences we've had. Our host was warm and inviting and very helpful in making suggestions for enjoying the town. Our room was spectacular with a fabulous view. It was wonderfully decorated and well appointed. We stayed in the upstairs suite with our friends, which was fun and we loved their room too. Kathleen was a wonderful chef and made a delightful breakfast. Her gardens are spectacular and be sure to sit on the front porch and look out over the sound. We highly recommend the McCurdy House and think you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
139
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Our stay at the Inn at the McCrudy House was just what you want a B&B to be: very comfortable & relaxing with a gracious host who pays attention to her guests and also happens to be a great cook. We also appreciated the central location and easy access to everything we wanted to see and do. We walked everywhere or took the local buses. Oh, and I forgot to mention that the house is beautiful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stay at about 12 B&B's a year and this was one of the best. The upstairs room has a beautiful view of Puget Sound! The house has a wonderful historic feel to it and beautiful furniture. We were delighted that our children (ages 10 and 13), were warmly accepted. We could not have asked for a nicer stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Kathleen is a gracious host. She knows how to pamper her guests. She has two rooms upstairs, but did not rent out the second room so we would have the bathroom all to ourselves. The house is very well appointed and in a terrific location - stairs to Port Townsend shopping, dining and waterfront are just across the street. If you're visiting Port Townsend, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We had a great experience in Port Townsend. Our flight arrived late in Seattle, so we arrived at the Inn close to midnight. Kathleen was more than happy to make arrangements to accommodate us. The property was easy to find and very accessible to the enjoyable shops & quality restaurants of Port Townsend. Our room was quaint and spacious, but also up-to-date in its decorations and extremely clean. Kathleen's breakfasts were delicious, but also didn't leave us feeling like going back to bed. Kathleen was extremely helpful with planning activities in the town and the surrounding area. Our stay was a bit brief, so we hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the larger room at the Inn at McCurdy House for four days recently and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The large framed view of the bay, the comfortable, roomy, pretty bedroom, the jacuzzi, the attractive bathroom, the privacy of this suite, all made the Inn a memorable place for us. We used Port Townsend as a staging ground and drove from there to the Olympic mountains to hike and explore. We were always glad to come back and relax. Kathleen was a fine and friendly host. I recommend picking up good take-out food and eating on the front porch ... again, with a view of the bay.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

The Inn is ideally situated at the top of the stairs, making it easy for me to park my car, and walk everywhere - exploring uptown as well as venturing down to the shops, movie theatre, and restaurants. The Inn is beautifully appointed without being fussy, and Kathleen is attentive without being overly so. Breakfast was delicious, and I appreciated Kathleen's flexibility in catering to my wheat and dairy free requests. I had the opportunity to stay in each room, and found both to be exceedingly comfortable. While the upstairs is utterly spectacular, the downstairs has a coziness and accessibility which makes it a delightful choice as well. I'm looking forward to returning with my husband next time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at McCurdy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at McCurdy House

Address: 405 Taylor Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This private retreat on the bluff features the closest proximity to town and panoramic views of the bay, islands and mountains. Our intimate residence prides itself on individual attention with three large rooms which offer luxurious queen beds, handsome antiques, and private baths. You’re certain to feel "at home" on the inviting wrap around porch or the sunny back deck surrounded by fragrant gardens, ponds and waterfalls. A specially prepared full breakfast served in our European-inspired dining room will complete your stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at McCurdy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at McCurdy House to your Saves list