We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at McCurdy House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at McCurdy House
405 Taylor Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As all the other reviewers have stated, Kathleen was very nice and accommodating for my wife and I on our honeymoon. She made great suggestions around town and gave us maps, brochures, etc to make sure we made the most of our time. She also called the local tourism bureau for us a few times when we had questions. She was accommodating of our food allergies for breakfast and made wonderful french toast and fruit. We stayed in the carriage house which is a great value and secluded from the house. The view from the front room and deck is amazing....we got pizza and took it back to the Inn to eat on the front porch. Finally, the location is perfect! Right next to the downtown stairs and near Uptown as well.

Room Tip: Choose the carriage house for the lowest rate and the most privacy. No view though, other than the b...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycled my extra paper materials and reused my brochures for other travellers
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
139
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited from Seattle for a short weekend getaway. Kathy was fantastic. When we arrived she spent a while making sure that we knew the fun things going on at Port Townsend that weekend. She gave us an overview of the galleries that were having an evening event, and told us about the restaurants where we should have lunch and dinner. Unfortunately, we didn't heed her advice and tried out a restaurant that wasn't on her recommended list. And that was a bad idea. After dinner, we headed back to the Inn at McCurdy House to enjoy a bottle of wine. Kathy had left out wine glasses for us, since she knew we were off to the wine shop. We sat on the lovely back patio looking at her gorgeous garden and enjoyed wine and conversation. The room was very comfortable and nicely appointed. And in the morning Kathy made a fantastic breakfast of quiche, sausages, and fruit all at our request. We had fantastic visit to Inn at McCurdy House and can't wait for our next opportunity to visit. Thank you Kathy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House room out back, which we really enjoyed because we basically had acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My overnight stay at the Inn at McCurdy House was a wonderful experience. The room itself was very clean, warm and restful. The main sitting room wrapped its arms around you as you took in the wonderful view of the harbour or sat by the fireplace and read you favorite novel.
Kathleen goes out of her way to make your stay memorable. She makes you feel right at home, is a wonderful historian and presents a breakfast fit for royalty. Either by driving or walking uptown and downtown Port Townsend are within easy access with their quaint shops and unique restaurants. Without hesitation I would recommend the Inn at McCurdy House for an unforgettable stay in Port Townsend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I are newly-weds, and wanted a weekend getaway. This B&B was a perfect and romantic getaway for us to enjoy! Quick and easy access to both downtown and uptown neighborhoods in PT, beautiful view (even when we came on a stormy weekend), wonderful accommodations. Kathleen was very sweet, inviting, and always willing to help us in any way. The house is very classy and has a lot of history, if you're into that sort of thing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay View room on the first floor. The room is huge, and you still get a nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Inn at McCurdy House was the first time I had ever stayed at a B&B. Kathleen made this an easy experience since she is a very accommodating and wonderful host. Kathleen made a delicious breakfast. The house has a large lounge area that makes you want to curl up on the sofa and read a book or gaze out the window. The views from the lounge and the verandah are spectacular. I had a wonderful night sleep and the bed was very comfortable. I would recommend that if you do go to Port Townsend that you stay at the Inn at McCurdy House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

With sweeping views of Port Townsend, this B&B is ideally located in this quite wonderful seaside town.
Kathleen was a wonderful host who takes great pride in providing first-class service - and meals - for guests.
Aside from the spacious lounge area, the historic home also has a wide verandah which is ideal in the late afternoons if you want to indulge in a few drinks and snack while watching the ships and ferries from you lofty eyrie.
Our room was at the rear of the house and, if there was one small quibble, it was a distinctive odor from outside. Another small gripe is that there was no TV - perhaps we just assumed there would be when we booked.
Nevertheless, the Inn at McCurdy was a delightful spot and deserves the accolodes it receives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMcCurdyHouse, Owner at Inn at McCurdy House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
FYI: The exterior odor mentioned in this review must refer to the Paper Mill in our town. Fortunately our neighborhood does NOT suffer this except when the winds occasionally shift in our direction. Rarely, but just often enough for us to all appreciate the normally clean and fresh environment one normally expects of this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Christmas while visiting family who live in PT. It was wonderful - the house is in a great location with a beautiful view and Kathleen was the sweetest and most accommodating host we could have had. She made us delicious and filling homemade breakfasts every day (including Christmas day!). Both our room and the front room were beautifully decorated, and we were able to have family over to visit in the parlor. Kathleen provided us with a history of Port Townsend complete with a cute color coded map with the best dining locations. She had everything figured out! It was great and we hope to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage Room and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at McCurdy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at McCurdy House

Address: 405 Taylor Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This private retreat on the bluff features the closest proximity to town and panoramic views of the bay, islands and mountains. Our intimate residence prides itself on individual attention with three large rooms which offer luxurious queen beds, handsome antiques, and private baths. You’re certain to feel "at home" on the inviting wrap around porch or the sunny back deck surrounded by fragrant gardens, ponds and waterfalls. A specially prepared full breakfast served in our European-inspired dining room will complete your stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at McCurdy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at McCurdy House to your Saves list