We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Public House Grill & Ales

Public House Grill & Ales
1038 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98382
(360) 385-9708
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 87 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I ate here a few weekends ago. We chose this place because it was conveniently located on the main road, without a wait at lunch time on a Sunday.I had the shroomwich and he had the Jamaican jerk fish sandwich. The restaurant was not busy, and a party of 10 had already been served, but it took about 25 minutes to receive our order. Our meals were fine, but unremarkable, and we felt they were overpriced. It's an ok option, I'm not eager to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    63
    27
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good meal, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Was waiting (behind only one other party) for over 10 minutes to be seated. Many tables open, but the folks setting up tables were painfully slow to watch. Once we got seated waited again for a waitress, got menus and then finally ordered. The food took quite a while to come. The fish and chips and ciopino were both quite good.
However, doubt we'll try this again. If things are this slow at 4, they've got to be just awful during a dinner hour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great po-boy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food was good, menu is full. Popular and busy in season, no waiting when I was there. Very good fish and chips, and only place I found oyster po-boy. Nice menu

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over-priced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a cup and a bowl of chowder and soup, a 6"chicken sub, and a chicken burger which came with fries...no drinks and the bill was $41.00.. The soup should have been part of the entree,usually you would get a choice of soup or salad in other places. The food
was good but the kitchen was slow,slow..We got the soup right away but waited forever for the sandwiches .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend WA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What happened to the sparkle?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I returned to this restaurant to once again try a dish I had loved in the past - the oyster poor boy sandwich. Perhaps memory failed - but more likely it was the kitchen. The lovely sandwich I remembered - with the fresh, soft,steaming hot oysters tucked inside a light, crisp breading- had now become mostly breading coating dry, emaciated and tasteless oysters. A small amount of hot sauce was spread on the bun which was the only thing that elevated it from being simply breaded oysters on bread. The romaine in the Caesar salad side was good and plentiful, although wilted from being overwhelmed by an excess of a dressing that tasted more like mayonnaise than a real Caesar. This restaurant was either having a bad night - or has stopped making the effort to serve really good food. It is amazing to me - that here in the NW with its plentitude of oysters, it has become so difficult to find them fresh and well prepared!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public House Grill & Ales also viewed

Port Townsend, WA
Port Townsend, WA
 
Port Townsend, WA
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to Public House Grill & Ales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Public House Grill & Ales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.