We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Loved it!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puget Sound Express

Puget Sound Express
227 Jackson Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
360-385-5288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Activities in Port Townsend
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Orca whale watching boat tours from Port Townsend on the Olympic Peninsula of Washington, to the San Juan Islands. Guaranteed whale watching. Group tours and education trips available. Our business is family-run, with three generations on the water.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Loved it!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Friendly crew, clean boat, tour guide/boat captian was very knowledgeable of the area, information given was entertaining, we saw Orca Whales, Sea Lions, Seals and beautiful scenery. I recommend ordering the lunch! Great Family Time!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    19
    5
    6
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went on the all day trip that gave 2 hours in Friday Harbor as well as whale watching over Labor Day Weekend. If I had to do it again I would do the 4 hour only whale watching tour. The crew was really nice and friendly. The boat was not really good for whale watching. There was only room for about 5-6 people outside up front to sit and a couple of people sat there the whole time so others couldn't. There were a couple of plastic chairs in the back but if you were there you had to smell the boat exhaust. They also assigned you seats inside and we were stuck in the back so we had the vibrations of the motor the entire trip to endure. Also, again we could smell the exhaust. Outside there was not enough room to move around easily. The blueberry buckle they served was very good and reasonably priced. We only had 2 hours in Friday Harbor which wasn't enough time. After finding a place to eat and eating lunch we only had about 45 minutes left so didn't get much time to explore the stores or the whale museum. We only saw 2 Minke whales and some sea lions and porpoises. I don't blame them for the lack of orcas but it was disappointing. We had a good time but I would not recommend the all day trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Up Close and Personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The 4 hour Whale watching tour was incredible. It took a little more then an hour to get to the Orcas. There where already a number of tour boats on the seen. They where all watching the whales from about a 1/4 mile away. Once we arrived our Captain's experience really showed, He keep maneuvering us into great view points. One of the big male Orcas came right up to and under the boat. We stayed and watch for a good long time. On the way back we looked at sea lions as well. The 1st mate was very knowledgeable. We will return with the kids next summer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The trip was very enjoyable. Skipper and first mate were very knowledgable. The orcas decided to go on a vacation when we went out to sea but we did see dolphins, sea lions and birds...lotsa birds. The weather was beautiful...granted chilly for the season but the water was just so calm. It was more of a relaxing boat trip than nature gawking. Overall, wonderful trip and if they have tours just to wander the water.....we'd go for it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great, family run operation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We enjoyed the Puget Sound Express very much.

Maybe it's not fair, but the only reason I gave it four rather than five stars is that it was presented to me as a "nature voyage," not specifically a whale watching trip. So on our return from Friday Harbor they explained that they had decided to go whale watching in the middle of the large bay rather than take a more scenic route.

I would have preferred the scenic route. But, it's important to note that they did indeed find whales and so delivered a very good experience. No legitimate complaints. These are nice folks delivering a good product.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puget Sound Express also viewed

 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Puget Sound Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puget Sound Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.