We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful, relaxing, enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commander's Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Commander's Beach House
Save
You added The Commander's Beach House to your Saves list
400 Hudson Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Simply wonderful, relaxing, enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed at the CBH a few times with friends and my partner within the last 10 years or so. Every time throughout the years we enjoyed the stay very much. Caring hosts, beautiful rooms, wonderful view.
If you are looking for a place to relax, enjoy great breakfast, good wine and have all the rest you need, this is the place to go.
Birgit G.

(The site forces me to pick what sort of trip it was but only let me choose one. It was last time as a couple, beforehand a few times with friends, I just didn't have the chance to write the review as of yet. First visit must have been around 12 years ago, last visit was last year - the quality and the high standard kept the same)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view to the water - the other rooms are also nice but the sound and view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
146
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay and it was just as relaxing as the other two. Gail and Jim provide such a warm, comfortable home away from home with fabulous breakfasts, wine, coffee and snacks whenever you want them, great conversation and local recommendations. Plus, the rooms are really inviting and cozy, and the location can't be beat. Truly a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Commander's house for another enjoyable rest in a beautiful setting. The sounds of gulls and other shore birds, along with the waves hitting the beach, lull you to sleep as you sink into your lounge chair. If you're looking for a place to unwind, while enjoying the views of the Cascades & Puget Sound, this is it. Commander Jim and Admiral Gail make you feel right at home, as do all their staff. Breakfasts are freshly prepared and tasty, with just the right portions to start your day. Be mindful that this isn't a slick resort, but rather a warm and inviting B&B where you can get away from the maddening crowds. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private bath, others do not. Book early if you want to assure a room facing the Pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our second stay at The Commander's Beach House...Great view....Quiet, and comfy accommodations.

Enjoyed the comforting sound of the Buoy bell just off shore...The Lighthouse Suite is roomy, and as you might guess, has a view of the lighthouse....'

The passing ships, The large flowered yard and the sound of the waves.

And did we mention the wonderful breakfast AND the friendly Inn keepers, Jim and Gail.

It's the whole package.....We recommend highly.

Bill Rice

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Commander's Beach House is the only waterfront B&B in Port Townsend with a 180 degree view of the Cascades and Puget Sound. I have been returning to this wonderful B&B frequently for approximately 7 years. The owners, Jim and Gail are gracious and extremely helpful and friendly. The full breakfast is among the best I have had at a B&B..many serve only a "continental" breakfast. I could go on...but reading the many other positive reviews will support my opinion and validate a top rating.
I have successfully used Trip Advisor for travel from Nantucket on the East Coast and Santa Barbara to Port Townsend ion the West Coast. The Commander's Beach House remains my favorite in all respects.
I did note one recent less-than-positive review...but as most frequent users of Trip Advisor, my strategy has always been to ignore an occasional outlier review. That strategy has always succeeded and would in this case as well.
Charles F

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We reserved two rooms at the Commanders Beach House 2 months in advance and were excited to have two days exploring the Olympic rain forest. On arrival we discovered that the beautiful beach house was adjacent to an RV park set on a dirt parking lot. The owners Jim and Gayle we cordial and helped us settle in, even making a reservation for that nights dinner at Fins (food was average and overpriced) The view from the back porch was beautiful, the smell of cresote was very strong. The breakfasts were average at best, no juice and sporadic coffee. We did enjoy how close the B&B was to downtown, but the area was unsightly, not the B&B's fault. We had a shared bathroom, done the hall. This is one amenity that anyone considering the Beach House should consider, it was very small with no counter space. Having stayed at numerous B&B's over the years, Commanders Beach House would be on the "B" list, not one we would return to, but enjoyed the Olympic Peninsula very much. Hurricane Ridge is a "must see" for everyone!

Room Tip: do not get the Sunflower room. It has no view and shares a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sEATTLE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

You will receive wonderful care and a wonderful breakfast during your stay in a well maintained and Historical house. The location is perfect with a commanding view of the entrance to Puget Sound. The Beach House is located within walking distance of the center of the Port Townsend historical district.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commander's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander's Beach House

Address: 400 Hudson Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander's Beach House is the only bed and breakfast that is located right on the water in downtown Port Townsend. You can walk on the beach to Fort Worden or easily stroll three blocks along the water front to all of the downtown shops and restaurants. Three of our rooms face the water and have private baths. Our fourth room faces the garden and has a shared bath located inside of the room. You can enjoy views of Admiralty Inlet, Mt. Baker, Whidbey Island, all of the boats and ships that go into Seattle, as well as vintage wooden schooners and yawls. Eagles, herons, otters and seals are frequently seen by our guests. A full sit down gourmet breakfast is served at individual tables or on our veranda, weather permitting. Come fall asleep lulled by the sounds of the sea and "relax and solve nothing"! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commander's Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.