We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere and food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchemy Bistro and Wine Bar

Alchemy Bistro and Wine Bar
842 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5774 (Formerly Galatea Cafe and Tapas Bar)
360-385-5225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French, Spanish, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had a lovely meal and enjoyed the ambiance in restaurant. Good selection of wines and food and friendly service. Would definitely go again the next time we are in Port Townsend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    61
    14
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cuisine Supreme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Delicious food and nice wait staff. Our table enjoyed the paella with salmon and prawns. Don't miss out on dessert as well.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had our expectations set high when we made our reservations at Alchemy based on its high rating and rave reviews from many diners. Sadly our experience was not good. The only reason why we are rating this "poor" instead of "terrible" is that the server recognized that we were not pleased with the service and some of the food and apologized and made an adjustment our bill. So credit them with trying to make the best of a bad situation. But when you order a bottle of wine and about 25 minutes later they are still searching for it in their inventory and holding up our dinners in the process -- something has gone terribly wrong. After finishing our salads, which were in our opinion just an average salad, we sat and waited and waited with our water glasses and wine glasses empty. Our dinners were finally served and the server announced that the wine we requested off their wine list could not be found, and asked if we wanted another. By that time we had no time to enjoy our wine while waiting for our dinner to be served and we declined. My dining partner's eggplant parmesan had slabs of parmesan on top that weren't even the slightest bit melted, the entire entree including pasta was barely even warm. To be fair, the salmon I had was quite good. But by the time our dinners were served we were already so disenchanted with the experience that we just wanted to eat and be gone.

Did we mention that the diners seated next to us had a dog and its owner was feeding it scraps from the table? A person with a legitimate service dog would not do this. We are dog lovers but are not happy when restaurants allow other diners to bring their dogs inside under the guise of being a "service dog." We'd advise Alchemy to check the Americans with Disabilities Act for its definition of a "service dog" and not allow diners to bring in their pets simply because the owner has purchased a vest for the dog with the words "working dog" or similar things inscribed upon it.

Based upon other ratings and reviews, we have to believe that Alchemy is generally much better than our experience would suggest. But it was not a good experience for us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The menu is diverse without being weird. Our dinners were excellent and the server was very willing to accommodate substitutions. A nice wine list and staff was knowledgeable and assisted us in selecting a very enjoyable wine with our dinners.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Charming Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a very charming restaurant and wine bar. We were there on a Monday and there was a wonderful guitarist playing medleys of gypsy jazz and it certainly gave a lot of atmosphere to the restaurant. We enjoyed our dinner at the Alchemy Bistro. Portions are large. We easily could have split the entree. We felt bad because we were traveling and it had to go to waste. Our salads were excellent, roasted beets and a house. My daughter had the salmon which was wonderful. I had the mushroom ravioli and found the oil in the dish a bit overpowering and wished I had ordered the salmon. Too full for dessert but they looked wonderful as they went by. Being a wine bar as well as a restaurant, the wine list is extensive with many very fine wines. Our server was wonderful and very charming. It was a great choice in Port Townsend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Bistro and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy Bistro and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchemy Bistro and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.