We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back in Time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterstreet Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waterstreet Hotel
Save
You added The Waterstreet Hotel to your Saves list
635 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98638   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to stay at this hotel for the history. The staff was great, a couple in front of us were checking in and another staff member who was on his way home for the day turned back and helped us. gave us a list of available rooms and we were allowed to go and choose one we wanted. All the rooms have their own story, very roomy, beds were very comfortable and the sheets clean and very soft. This hotel has so much character and that is what we liked about this. The town alone is great. Very friendly people, helpful. This place has a very unique feel about it. We already have plans to come back for another stay.

Room Tip: No matter what room you pick you will be pleased. They are all very tastefully done in Victorian ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    12
    12
    8
See reviews for
18
40
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forks, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I will start off saying the room was lovely. The staff who cleaned the rooms were really nice and let us see other rooms that were free, which was fun.

The woman at the front desk was a nightmare. I was quoted a certain rate in email communication. I was told a completely different rate after staying one of two nights, she cited that it was because there was a festival going on. BOTH of these rates are totally different from what is posted for the public to see.

The woman at the front was rude. Not only was she rude, she was abusive and threatened us. We offered to pay the original rate she quoted us, and she said she was going to call the police and that we would never stay in a hotel in Port Townsend again. When we asked to talk with a manager, we were told that the manager "was in Mexico."

Please, please, find a different place to stay. No one deserves to be treated so poorly. It was the worst customer service i have ever experienced in my life.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, WA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Since we don't have a TV, we stayed here last March to see the Oscars.......we love flannel sheets, so the proprietor allowed us to bring in our own sheets for house-keeping to make up our bed with them. We did not have our own bath-room in our room, but the one down the hall was fine. We had a nice view of the water out our back window. I would like to go back some day!

Room Tip: second floor, looking out to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Very cool old building, friendly upstairs staff and huge rooms. That being said, I have never been greeted in such a rude and distasteful manner as what I experienced from the woman in the front office. If any of the staff in my own service industry business behaved in the such an unfriendly and unprofessional way towards my customers, they would not have a job any longer, that's for sure. We waited downstairs for 15 minutes to check into the hotel while the front desk lady ignored us, and made repeated politically unacceptable comments right in front of us. It seemed the folks buying a greeting card from her little store in the lobby rated much more attention than someone with a reservation to stay at the hotel. And she had to run my credit card through twice because she overcharged us. We cancelled our second and third night room reservations, basically because I just felt uncomfortable with the attitude, and the poor customer service from the front desk. Will not be going back!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

This is an old 3 story building in the main part of this small town. The lobby is near street level and stair entrance to the rooms is adjacent. Parking is on the street. I managed to park right in front of the hotel. There was no other car parked in front at night! A few of the guests were bikers.

I got a room on the 3rd floor. There is some stair climbing involved. Stairs are small and carpeted. Coming down, you should a bit careful.

I had booked a room with a private bath. They have rooms with shared bath too. The rate was reasonable with 10% AAA discount. I paid a little over $80. The room was clean, bed comfortable. The bath was ok.

The town was dead around 9 pm. So nowhere to eat. I think, most of the places close before 9 pm. So plan to arrive a bit early if you wish to dine outside.

The waterfront and marina are close by. I was here on my way to Forks, WA. The plan was to see Hurricane Ridge and do a whale watching cruise. However, Port Angeles is much closer to Hurricane Ridge. For Whale watching, the choice was between Island Adventures out of Port Angeles (a tour started recently) or Puget Sound Express out of Port Townsend. I ended up choosing Puget Sound Express and hence stayed in Port Townsend at the Waterstreet hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Built in 1889, the Waterstreet Hotel is located on the main drag of town. The Hotel itself occupies the 2nd and 3rd floors of the building. Keep this in mind, as there is no elevator --- its 32 steps to the 2nd floor and another 32 plus to the 3rd. Pack according to the lenght of your stay (watched as family of 5 hauled the entire contents of their vehicle up the stairs to the 3rd floor, both entertaining and painful). However, well worth the climb. The rooms capture that Victorian charm, with each room reflecting the personality of their era. The furnishings are authentic, the rooms with bathrooms are spacious (if not huge compared to more modern facilities) complete with 12 foot ceilings, all encapsulated by old world woodwork and craftsmanship. If you love stepping back in time, this is the place for you. We opted for the single room ("boarding room") on the second floor with a queen bed. This room was smallish compared to the others but it offered waterfront views of Port Townsend and the sea breeze coupled with a comfortable bed made for a good night sleep. Note: this room shares a bathroom/washroom down the haul with another "boarding room" (i.e. 2 bathrooms, 4 boarding rooms). We did not find this to be an issue, just added to the charm and experience. There is a sink in the room to offset the shared facilities. And the best part, $58.50 (with AAA/CAA discount), what a steal! The Waterstreet Hotel is located along the waterfront, within walking distance to cafes, bistros, restaurants and beverage establishments of choice. If you are looking for all the modern comforts of home, the Waterstreet is not for you. If you which to experience some historic old-world charm, give it a try.

Room Tip: Chech out the rooms available to verify they meet your needs. Front desk staff very accommodating in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Great service in this historic downtown hotel. We stayed just one night, bath just across the hall with a sink in our room. Authentic furnishings, clean linens, and morning coffee. Easy access to everything in Port Townsend, which is a treasure. Don't miss the farmers market in Uptown.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterstreet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterstreet Hotel

Address: 635 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98638
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterstreet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.