We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterstreet Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Waterstreet Hotel
Save Saved
You added The Waterstreet Hotel to your Saves list
635 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98638   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you like CLEAN, you've got it, if you like unique
you've got it, if you like ellegance you've got it. If we ever go back to Port Townsend, WA we would definitly stay here again-and the lady at the desk is awesome. From Mike and Gloria from Reno

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    12
    12
    7
See reviews for
18
38
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Waterstreet Hotel is charming, spotlessly clean, and has the friendliest staff! It was a treat to stay in such a historic place filled with pictures, furniture, and memorabilia from its 100+ year history. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

i have stayed at the waterstreet on 3 separate occasions. the rooms are very clean and decorated in the 'old style' you would expect from a heritage building. i prefer to book rooms without a washroom...cost less... and the share washrooms are always very clean. note there are about 30 stairs to get to the 1st floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statham, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I were just planning on a day trip to Port Townsend when we discovered this fantastic hotel. We went into the store front "just to see" how much the rooms cost, and Mary, the hotel/store proprietor, invited us to take a look upstairs at any of the open rooms and see if we were interested in staying there. All of the rooms were cozy and comfortable-looking, but we were sold on the enormous suite on the third floor. Its high ceilings, enormous windows, clawfoot tub, king-sized bed, and full kitchen made us feel right at home. It also has a deck that runs the entire length of the building where we took in the view of the sound. After we had a full evening drinking and dining along along Water Street, we came back to our room and had the best night's sleep of our entire vacation. I would have loved to have stayed there for longer and could easily imagine the suite accommodating a small family. The place has been restored but not overly so; it still maintains the feel of a Victorian hotel. Plus, it was pretty affordable. We paid around $165 for the night and I know that the smaller rooms go for a lot less. I highly recommend this place for anyone who prefers an authentic Victorian hotel experience over the conveniences of a sterile chain hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite on the third floor, which I believe is one of the largest if not the largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a quaint charming authentic "back in time " hotel. The antiques, the large windows with pulled back curtains and 1800's bedspread, were part of the atmosphere. We were welcomed by a kind women who recommended a yummy cafe for breakfast. We will return to this fun place.

Room Tip: #6 was sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed here like a million times; have stayed at all the other hotels in Port Townsend, but always prefer this one. For one thing, the price for a Victorian hotel right on the main drag, Water St, you can't beat. The other is Mary, who runs the front desk and her cute Native American shop, which is a great place to get unique gifts. She is a doll, and a plethora of information, and will try to accommodate you and give discounts and do whatever to make your stay happy. For those who are tourists and don't understand old hotels, they have stairs, there is usually one person, maybe 2, running the place, so don't think there is a bell boy you can ring to carry up your Loius Vitton luggage and fetch fresh Perrier; it's run by ONE person that does everything, and running stairs and fetching while manning a front desk is not possible. I am tired of reviews from people that don't get that.

The other thing is, as a Victorian hotel, it is OLD, it has antiques! Billy Bob Thornton once said he had a fear, a real phobia of things that are old, that and buttoning his top button and a ton of other quirks. If you don't like old stuff, I suggest you stay at a Howard Johnson's in Anaheim and do NOT come to Port Townsend! As a Victorian seaport, everything is old and quirky, so don 't think there is a sleek resort to hide from it; we like it that way!

If you DO like old stuff, this is the best, most charming and cheap location you can get. I have stayed in virtually every room, we prefer the ones with the bathroom down the hall [gasp!] because it saves money, but there are rooms that can accommodate whole families, so ask and call ahead. The other thing is, as a tourist town, it gets busy, rooms get booked. There have been loads of times I didn't call Mary and make a reservation and she was booked, I didn't get mad, she lovingly called elsewhere. ALL the hotels in downtown have [gasp!] stairs! That's how they used to build them, above shop fronts, when people were fit and even ladies in corsets and men in top hats could manage to walk up them with their luggage a 100 years ago. People getting out of shape and spoiled has made that such a shocker, but I have stayed there long term and relished the chance to get in shape with the stairs, even take in a jog afterwards.

There are shops and restaurants just outside the door. The iconic pub where Officer and Gentlemen is gone, but the space where they did the fight scene is right outside the door. I used to stay above the bar, in room 9, I think it is, the one with the 2 beds that is great if you have kids, and got a discount back in the day because of the noise of the bar. Now there is a lovely, posh gift shop, that is very quiet downstairs.

So, if you want a REAL Victorian hotel, with really nice staff and a really great location for a GREAT price, then come, call ahead, arrange the kind of room you want! If I read one more review in this town about hotels and I read the word 'old', 'lug', 'stairs' I am going to scream! This is NOT Disneyland folks! This town was built as the next San Francisco, that's why there are mansions and great architecture. The railroad never came, so it has been an artists haven and entrepreneurs dream, plus it is on the water with amazing views. So if that's what you want to see and experience, then this hotel has the best price, service and location for getaway.

Room Tip: I believe it is room 9, the one with 2 beds, that everyone wants. It is very large and great value f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is really pretty and has a lot of historical charm.
However, while the employees are friendly, they are not as accommodating as some other hotels I have been to. I was traveling with a work partner and to save money we decided to share a room. The room with two beds was booked so we had to take a room with a bed and a futon. We were told that we could use a trifold on the futon to make it more comfortable. Upon arrival the desk clerk was completely unaware of this discussion and later that night left the bed things they were to provide in a pile outside our hotel room door. The futon was in pretty bad shape. (even sitting in it you could feel the metal bars), so my partner chose to put the tri-fold on the floor. The room was decently priced... but not cheap enough to have one guest sleeping on the floor.
In the end I realized that since this is not your typical hotel with cookie cutter rooms that we should have called earlier to book the only room with 2 beds. We got to peek at some of the other (more costly) rooms, which seemed pretty nice. I would definitely recommend them to families that are looking for a place to stay on vacation.
Overall, it was a unique and fun experience staying at the Waterstreet, but it may not be for everybody. As long as you are willing to be a little patient and understanding, it is in a really neat location next to lots of food, shopping and the beach!

Room Tip: None of these rooms are exactly the same. You can go on the Waterstreet website and view the rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterstreet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterstreet Hotel

Address: 635 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98638
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterstreet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.