We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fountain Cafe

The Fountain Cafe
920 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5722
360-385-1364
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Bellevue, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have been coming to The Fountain Cafe for years and it continues to be our favorite place. Really great fresh food and not too pricey. We can walk there from A Bungalow, so don't have to deal with parking. Go early though, as there are only a few tables!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    60
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always a Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very small and hard to find café that offers unique Italian food in an intimate setting. Known well by all of the locals. Worth searching for it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Must Be Excellent!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

It is important to say that as a first time visitor to this town known for its beauty, color, and fun, it was a harsh slap to walk into a restaurant and:
1) not be acknowledged
2) when making our way to the only available (empty, unset, and unmarked) table, a server whizzed past us curtly and indirectly noting that she was saving that table for someone else. She didn't even stop her stride past us, halting only when she arrived to talk to two other patrons at another table.
The restaurant was quiet and full. No music, no ambience, no shield from the blatant display of rudeness. My boyfriend and I were isolated in rejection at the door.
Being from New York, the competitive world capital of the most, the best, and some of the more aggressive establishments in the F&B industry - this shocked the hell out of me.
Poor representation of a celebrated cafe; surely the food must be excellent that service and manners are unnecessary.
She cld have just said "sorry we're full at the moment, try us in 20 mins". My restaurant owner friends in NYC will jaw-drop at this one.
Wish I could review their celebrated food.
Oh well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stopped in for a late lunch when we were in Port Townsend. We had sandwiches and soup, every thing was absolutely delicious. Pretty little cafe, one block behind (away from the water) the main street.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“One of our Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

When in PT we always eat at the Fountain. It is wonderful. Very small and limited seating, but some of the best food in the Northwest. Service is quick and friendly. Best to go for off hours as it is crowded and the wait can be long. As I recall, no reservations also. Located 1/2 block uphill from the fountain, it is on a backstreet, but that does not stop its popularity. Salmon with orange is wonderful. Specials are creative and delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountain Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.