We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice preparation, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silverwater Cafe

Silverwater Cafe
237 Taylor St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5766
360-385-6448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 86 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Price range: $0 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: David and Alison have owned the Silverwater Cafe since its opening in 1989. They have built the restaurant on the idea that bringing people together to enjoy good food, good wine and great friends is one of the most important things in life; and the desire to be a thriving addition to this lovely community of Port Townsend that we call home.We believe in quality and strive to continually perfect our craft. We at the Silverwater Cafe invite you in for a moment of casual elegance where you can feel at home with your kids, family and friends.
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Nice preparation, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I went here with my sister. Our seafood tasted fresh and was perfectly prepared, cooked through but not dry. There are limited numbers of tables, so come early or make reservations. The street level window tables looked nice, but on this evening we were seated in the upstairs loft. We found the second floor to be very warm, even though it was open to the restaurant. We were here in June, and I'm not sure whether the restaurant has air conditioning in the summer, but it wasn't on for our visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    88
    34
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Haven
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My sister and I had a fabulous dinner while on vacation here. We both had the Cilantro Ginger Lime Prawns which was served over wilted spinach. The shrimp were cooked perfectly and the sauce was delicous. Our server, who was attentive without being intrusive, talked us into getting dessert. We shared the chocolate molten cake which was very rich and paired perfectly with freshly-brewed coffee. Our table was upstairs with a great view of the entire restaurant. This place is on my wish-list for our next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Really Nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food we had was lovely, I had the halibut special served with mashed garlic potatoes and asparagus, it was delicious. Both hubby and daughter 1 had steak and the other daughter had chicken salad served with Blue cheese dressing. The steak was succulent and tasty & daughter 2 said her meal, The salad was the best one she has had so far on the holiday.Chips or French fries as they are called here are a huge portion so share!! For desert we had the white chocolate & raspberry cheesecake to share as well as ice cream which came from The Elevated Ice cream company in town. The place was busy and had a good vibe. Would return & indeed may be tempted to do so on our last evening. Costs were similar to other establishments. Well worth a visit!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very satisfying dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A friend who used to live in the area recommended this restaurant -- and now I understand why. The food was really very good (even if not truly outstanding), the service was quick and pleasant, the price was right and the restaurant was right in the heart of this charming small city. I'd be happy to go again if our travels were to bring us back to Port Townsend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've been to this restaurant numerous times. The menu satisfies everyone, and the food is consistently excellent! The bar upstairs serves food as well and is a very cool place to hang out with friends. In my experience, Silverwater is the best restaurant in Port Townsend, and even if you have to wait for a table in the Summer, it's well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silverwater Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Silverwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverwater Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.